We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Hotel was in a great location. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was good. Staff gave us great tips on places to eat. We took our son who lives in Calif and he had a great time also. We ate at the Raintree. They had a shuttle that picked you up and brought you back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

On behalf of the entire staff at the Holiday Inn, I would like to thank you kindly for giving us such great praise. I am pleased that the staff did their best to make your stay comfortable. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the Raintree restaurant, which we highly recommend. Thank you again for your valuable time and please visit us again when you are in the St Augustine area.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Nice hotel, but about a mile from the historic district. Expect a good walk if you are going there. The hotel should offer a free shuttle to the district for the patrons. That would be a good touch. The breakfast that was included was very good and the waitresses were excellent. Rooms was clean and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

I appreciate you giving your viewpoint regarding our location in relation to the heart of the historic district. I apologize for any inconvenience on our part in that conern also. I will be more than happy to let our breakfast staff know that you were pleased with their service. Thank you for everything and you are always welcome if you are coming back to St Augustine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here after leaving another hotel that disappointed us. The Holiday Inn turned out to be a great choice. The rooms are very clean, the showers are wonderfully soothing with plenty of hot water, and our bed was great. Best night stay of our whole vacation. The staff is very warm and welcoming. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you for letting us know that the switch you made was welcome. I am sorry that your first choice of accommodations in St Augustine was not up to your expectations, but I am pleased that you choice us as your final choice. I will let everyone know that they gave you a good experience. Thank you again for your time and take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. I was in town to run a half marathon and I will stay at this location again next year! The location was convenient to the historic district of St. Augustine so we were able to just walk. The hotel was also easy to access from the road so we could get out and explore the area.

Room Tip: Room 215 is right next to the elevator...I would steer clear of that room if you can to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to give us you praise. I will happily pass along to the staff that everyone treated you well. Also, I am please to hear that the location was convenient for the walk to the Historic District. Thank you very much for time and kind words. Please come and visit us again when you return to St. Augustine.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here for a 36hr trip to St Augustine with the kids. We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the historical district with rooms at a reasonable price.

The staff was friendly and we were welcomed with water and oreos for each one of us. The hotel was sold out so we had to take rooms for smokers for a night (we were desperate...we arrived at 2am!) and switched later that morning. During our stay, our rooms were clean and well-appointed considering it is not a 'chic' hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. It had free Wi-Fi and business center; however, breakfast was not included in our visit.

The hotel is next to the Days Inn. The reference is important because you might pass it as it is hidden behind a business. It is walking distance (0.6 miles according to my GPS) to the information center that is next to the Castillo. You can walk during the day but I would not recommend walking at night. One feels very safe in the area surrounding the information center but the other streets are poorly lite.

You’ll have a wide selection of restaurants and cafes in the area. Since the term 'close' is relative, I’d say that places like Dunkin Donuts, Wendy’s, McDonald’s, and Subway are walking distance (0.2miles) from the hotel.

We travelled with kids (9&14) and this itinerary worked great for us: Old Florida Museum in the morning (highly recommended, especially with Buzz as your guide!), the Castillo and historical district in the afternoon (don't miss the firing of the cannons at 2:30p), and rest at the hotel before taking the Ghost & Gravestones tour in the evening (Julie (guide), Mike, and Kevin were G-R-E-A-T!!!) I will post reviews of these attractions with more details.

Keep in mind that it is hard to find a spot to park your car in the historical district. The covered parking at the information center charges $10 for the whole day but once you exit, you will have to pay the fee again to reenter on the same day.

We had a great time and the hotel location helped make it -though short- a stress free visit. I will definitely consider staying here again if we return to St Augustine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmmr33326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you kindly for your great survey. I am pleased that you and kids enjoyed yourselves. I will have to recommend the Ghost and Gravestones tour to more people now. Also, I wil pass along to the staff that everyone was friendly to you during your stay. Thank you again for everything and please visit us again for your 37th trip!

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. It is a short walk to the historic area -- about a 20 minute walk or a very short cab ride.
The rooms are nice with lots of space. Breakfast is crowded and average at best.

Room Tip: Take the walk to the old town - its a nice walk along a fairly busy street. But worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay. I will happily pass along to the staff that their friendliness was well met. I am also glad you found the historic district as short walk. Finally, I see that we have room to improve our breakfast and that is no probem. Working towards a higher standard is always a good idea. Thank you again and take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Checked in nicely and promptly. The room they gave me was #201 a king bed jacuzzi suite. This hotel is older, and although not a dump, it is showing its age. I will cut to the main complaint, filthy rooms. The first thing I notice is the humid air in the room and the soured, spoiled smell in the bathroom. There was rust on the inside window blinds, indicative of humidity control issues inside. The grout in the bathroom was pure black, having never been cleaned it seemed. Mold in the grout/tiles in the corner of the tub setup. The ceiling above the shower had mold growing in multiple places and the there were simply mold colonies all over the ceiling.
The bed was comfortable and the A/C worked well. The stay, beyond the smell and sickening mold spore and humidity problem, was ok. Quiet, good nights rest.
The next day I saw the maid service carts and they do NOT use mops to clean the bathrooms. ALL the carts only uses those padded Swifter mops. This explains how black and dirty the bathroom floors are. And even though the carts all had vacuums, on all 3 floors I walked the next morning (until after check out) I never heard or saw anyone using the vacuums.
This hotel should not be more than a 2 star hotel and should not charge what they do. The area of town behind it is not the kind of place you would feel 100% safe walking at night. I felt so icky the next day knowing I breathed in all that mold all night and my clothes had mold spores all over it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiguelT727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. I will work diligently with housekeeping to have these problems rectified at right away. Thank you and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
841 reviews
1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic

Address: 1302 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £89 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing