We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pirate Haus Inn
Ranked #20 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pirate Haus Inn was accommodating to my schedule and very welcoming. I received excellent recommendations on both bars and auto repair shops and was very pleased with its central location. I felt very safe and well looked after and would absolutely make a return trip--a very fun place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

LOVE the Pirate Haus Inn. Felt safe like a second home and the staff is amazing. I'd move in if I could. Wish I would've woke up for the pancakes because it smelled great! This is a hostel, NOT a hotel. & for a hostel... No complaints at all. I can't waaait to be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamS678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great location!!! The staff were friendly! The rooms were clean and comfortable. It is an old building and you can hear people walking around in the hallway, but the website is very upfront on what to expect. There are no TVs in the rooms, which was fine for me because you do not spend much time in the room except to sleep. I parked my car and walked everywhere! I didn't have to drive once! They even wrote my name in my pancake for breakfast! It was a great value and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UGADawg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capnconrad, Owner at The Pirate Haus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have never been able to stay downtown st. Augustine because it's so expensive....untill we found the pirate haus, we have 3 young boys and all they asked on the way home was when are we going back! The staff was wonderful with the kids,helpful with where to eat close by and very friendly our entire stay. My husband and I booked a 3 night stay in September for our anniversary and we cant wait.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellislove5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capnconrad, Owner at The Pirate Haus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your stay, you guys are my target market, and I'm glad to know that I'm reaching you. We are the lowest priced lodging in the Historic Downtown and we try to make things affordable for families with kids because we all know raising a child is expensive and we strive to provide a safe and fun environment for kids. We look forward to your visit in September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have been going to the Pirate Haus since I was little with my parents and recently a few Spring breaks with some friends. This last week, we stayed one night in the jungle room. Upon arrival, we were given a map and some "advice" not to go to certain places. We dropped off our bags and headed out for lunch. When we came back, we noticed that we did not have towels, so we went back to the front desk to ask for some. Nobody was there. No big deal, we thought. We tend to go with the flow. But we were not able to shower that night, although, I woke up the next morning and had to wash my hair (due to the lack of AC in the room we were sweating like pigs). Luckily our shower had a detachable head, so I washed my hair over the tub. Luckily we brought an extra picnic sheet and I used that to dry my hair. We did pay ahead of time for the late check out by 2:00pm. But because of our terrible nights sleep in room 6, from the street noise, we decided to just check out early and head home to relax. We asked the gentleman at the front desk if we could just get the $20 fee back since we checked out before 10:00am. He said no problem, that the money would be refunded back to the debit card. We did not see the refund after a few hours, so we called back to see what was going on. We were told that we stole towels so we would not get the money back. As stated before, WE NEVER GOT TOWELS. And of course housekeeping was not about to tell the boss that they made a mistake. We emailed the owner, Conrad, and explained our situation, and never got a response. We have called back multiple times to the Inn and our calls have not been answered or returned for two days, now. As a local and a previously reoccurring guest, I am very disappointed with this last visit. I will not be staying here again, nor will I encourage anyone else.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EmmaMcCorkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capnconrad, Owner at The Pirate Haus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Sorry about your experience. As stated in the in-room manual, if you need anything contact the front desk. If nobody is there, contact the owner at 904-xxx-xxxx. My number is listed so I can take care of things like that.
When you checked out, you said nothing, just that you didn't need the late check out. So I told you I would refund it to you mother's credit card, even though our folios clearly state "7-day notice required for refunds". The housekeeper said 'And they stole the towels'. So I held off on the refund until I could check into it, but I was gone the next day and it wasn't unitl Sunday when I went through 3 hours of video to see that the towels were never put in the room.
When I confronted the housekeeper, he quit. I don't need anyone who lies to cover their mistakes working for me. Then I had to deal with your mother threatening to blackmail me unless I refunded the $20, which I had already refunded, but it takes the credit card company a few days to process. I almost didn't want to refund it because I don't react well to threats of blackmail. Please take the time to read the policies on the folio which you signed when you checked in. I made an exception to our refund policy, and your review is my repayment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My friends and I were on a road trip and this is by far the best hostel we stayed at. What makes a hostel great is its atmosphere and the Pirate Haus definitely had an warm, friendly, welcoming, and relaxing atmosphere. The staff were so friendly and silly, joking around with us while making pancakes. They were also very genuine people with truly interesting stories to tell us.
Beyond that, the decorations were great, the beds were comfortable, and the pancakes were delicious. The outdoor terrace was my favorite place - perfect for drinking a beer with some new friends and enjoying the Florida air!

Room Tip: Stay in the dorm! That way you will have the chance to meet other travelers and make new friends :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sk423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Pirate Haus is challenging to locate by car without a GPS. However, it is in an excellent location for visiting St. Augustine. The Pirate Haus pirate motif is wonderful. The personnel are very outgoing and friendly and most of all helpful. The breakfast pancakes are custom and not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms have a unique decor. Pick one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10Traveler279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.8 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#40 of 78 in St. Augustine
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pirate Haus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pirate Haus Inn

Address: 32 Treasury St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3651
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £46 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pirate Haus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the best value lodging in the heart of the downtown historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Pirate Haus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pirate Haus Hotel Saint Augustine
The Pirate Haus Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing