We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Learning without knowing :)”
Review of Old Florida Museum

Old Florida Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #76 of 186 things to do in St. Augustine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A hands-on way to experience daily living activities from pre-European times to 1926.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kids Learning without knowing :)”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've been to St Augustine many times and never know of this "attraction." Luckily I chaperoned a 4th grade field trip and we were able to "play" In the Spanish settlement and Indian Settlement. How cool that the students we are able to role play during the educational part and then get to "work/play" as the Indians and Spanish did. BEST PART FOR PARENT GREAT GIFT SHOP..reasonable pricing and you can bring home the same items the kids played with in the museum to keep the learning going!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaHelfrich, Public Relations Manager at Old Florida Museum, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and visit to Fort Menendez at Old Florida Museum. We are glad you had an amazing time here as our guests and hope you plan a return visit soon in the future. We pride ourselves on being an all hands on interactive history experience and are delighted to see that we are reaching our goals as intended. We hope your enjoyed the rest of your visit to our historical city and are sure Saint Augustine gave a lasting impression to you and your family. Please come back and visit the Nations Oldest City and Fort Menendez again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Angela Helfrich
Public Tour Coordinator
Fort Menendez at Old Florida Museum
259 San Marco Avenue
Saint Augustine, FL 32084
(904)824-8874
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is history taught the right way”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

"Have you ever been to a museum where you can't touch anything? Well this isn't that kind of museum!" The kids loved this type of introduction. Indian village, planting crops, face painting, pounding shells and dressing like Spanish explorers are just a few of the things we got to do. Very fun and educational.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaHelfrich, Public Relations Manager at Old Florida Museum, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review submission on Trip Advisor for Fort Menendez at the Old Florida Museum. We are delighted that your visit with us merited such a great response. We pride ourselves on being an all hands on interactive history museum and it is such a pleasure to see that our goals are being reached. In our experience the best way to learn is by doing, thus the all hands on aspect. What a treat to be told by our guests that we are doing a good job of teaching the children of today about the life style of yesterday and they are retaining what they've learned. We hope you will visit us again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Angela Helfrich
Public Tour Coordinator
Fort Menendez at Old Florida Museum
259 San Marco Avenue
Saint Augustine, FL. 32084
(904)824-8874
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
“Educational”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great time it took about 2 hours our guide "Maria" was very informed learned a lot about early life in St Augustine. Definitely worth seeing.

Helpful?
Thank shedden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to learn about Florida”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was a most excellent tour. We were a group of adults and greeted with the same enthusiasm that I read about for kids. Because of this, it was the best tour we've experienced. We learned about early Floridian life, making candles and such. I recommend this to anyone who is willing to interact with the tour guide. Great, great time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivercitychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Don 't Miss for Kids”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Friend or foe! A ship! Candle-making! Corn grinding. Washable Indian face paint and tattoos.
These are just some of the intriguing things we experienced at this museum, while learning about Timucuan Indians and early Spanish settlers. It is geared to elementary- age children. Upon entering, each visitor in a group is assigned a role, such as cook, builder, scribe or warrior. Just perfect for kids ages 3 to 12. Spanish coins are awarded for jobs well done. These can then be used in the gift shop. Tours last about an hour, but children will be happy to stay longer and role-play. One of the best Educational Museums for young children that I have ever been to. Have fun. Hope you like it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank knitcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Florida Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Florida Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing