We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quaint Inn in Historic District”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The St George Inn is a lovely Inn conveniently located in the heart of the Old Historic District. It encompasses 3 buildings that surround the square. You are able to walk to most restaurants and attractions. This is a family owned establishment and the staff is warm and welcoming and extremely helpful. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was large and comfy. Great restaurants within walking distance including the Floridian and Catch 27. I highly recommend that you check out the Inn on your next trip to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoA0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a great place to stay in the Historic District! The staff is great- very friendly and helpful with loading and unloading the car. Our room was the Santa Maria- overlooking the fort, city gates, and cemetery. We had a long, private balcony with rocking chairs. We came here for a couple of days to celebrate my husband's birthday, and were so glad we did. The room were very nice with a small refrigerator. Our room was very quiet, and comfortable. The parking was close by, and only $5 per day. Breakfast was European style- meats, cheese, toast, croisants, bagels, peanut butter, coffee, juice, sweet breads, yoghurt. We sat outside to eat and watched the squirrels play- what a nice way to start the day. The Inn offers beach towels and ponchos for inclement weather which is nice. We were in walking distance of everything in the Historic District. Do drive down to Crescent Beach for lunch at the South Beach Grill, and then to see Ft. Matanzas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlumenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our family visited St. Augustine for the first time in March 2014. Based on Tripadvisor reviews, the inn's location in the historic district, and our desire to park the car and experience the city on foot, we chose to stay at the St. George Inn. We could not be happier with our choice. The web site explained the different types of rooms available and we reserved online. Their site also explained how and where to park to check in and unload our luggage. This can be a little tricky, so definitely read this info and follow their advice (we arrived while a sight-seeing red train was clogging up the street but it didn't cause too much trouble). The staff was very responsive and helpful and was right there with us when we drove up and parked in the recommended area. They checked us in, helped us with our luggage and took us all the way to our room. The rooms are located upstairs above stores with balconies all around. The location by the city gates and Castillo de San Marcos is very charming and historic. It's a bustling area mid-day but the evenings and early mornings were quiet and peaceful. The courtyard and shops on the street level were very convenient. Choices at breakfast were plentiful and filling (coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit, bagels and toast, meat and cheese) and it was nice to eat in the courtyard by the fountain. Our room was very clean. It felt a little spartan as the room was quite large with lots of empty space but, we were not there to relax in our room so the room was fine for what we needed. We enjoyed having a fridge and Starbucks coffee. We walked everywhere and this location was perfect for us. We look forward to returning and would stay at the St. George Inn again. It was in an awesome location, provided a nice room with a view, a good breakfast with lots of variety and a friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MidwestMumbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our first time in St Augustine and didn't want to drive to things. The St George Inn is perfect-you can walk to everything. Our room,#14, was on second floor. Quaint and comfortable rocking chairs on balcony which overlooked pedestrian St George St. Room was clean, very comfortable and plenty of room. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast provided everything you needed-yogurt, bagels,several different types of flavored cakes/bread, ham, salami, cheese, toasts, delicious tangerines, croissants and I am sure more that i have forgotten. After every hotel stay, my husband and I talk about the pros and cons and if we would stay there again. The first thing we both said was YES.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we reviewed the trip advisor recommendations for the hotels in saint Augustine prior to staying and decided on the Saint George due to its proximity to the old town.

It is really deceiving from the outside so don't be put off, the hotel actually consists of 3 separate building located within a public access courtyard where there are shops on the ground floor and rooms above. When you walk through from the main entrance you are met with a unique courtyard with its own fountain and a real sense of occasion.

The rooms were a great size (we had a double with to queens but also seen a double which was a similar size they also look to have been recently refurbished, staff were friendly and very helpful, next time we'll be staying here again. it is a bit pricy but I think the uniqueness justify it :)

Room Tip: our court yard room view was fantastic with rocking chairs on the veranda I would recommend this ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsjohn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice but being in the historic district across from the fort was marvelous. We sat on our balcony and visited with our neighbors with a bottle of wine. Interesting foot traffic below us to watch. Continental breakfast was reminiscent of Italy with meats and cheese. Help was very nice. Only complaint is finding the lobby and the offload in the median of Orange, but I called them and they "talked us in". We'll be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nolelaw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's in the heart of the historical area, which means it is walking distance to daytime attractions and dinner as well. It also means the buildings are old, the space is limited, and the activity (and noise) of an urban area is right outside. If you want privacy with new furnishings or a nice lobby and sit down breakfast this is not the place to go. If you want to enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony as you look down on the locals, tourists, and a little bit of history, St George Inn is a great choice. We found the staff helpful and cheery, the room well furnished, the balcony view unbeatable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MBGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £156 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine
St. George Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing