We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Perfect location in Old Town with everything in walking distance. The staff and housekeeping were always helpful and friendly. Everything was as advertised. Room was very clean and comfortable and we loved sitting on the balcony every night. We are already planning our return trip.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have balconies with rocking chairs. There are few other amenities, no pool or area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at St. George Inn for two nights and would highly recommend it. The staff was very responsive. When we drove up to unload our luggage, a couple of the staff appeared at our car before we were able to open a car door. They helped get our luggage up to the third floor room. They have elevators which was nice too. Our room was in the main building, it was clean and also quiet at night. the only disappointment was that there wasn't much of a view of the courtyard from the dormer windows due to the trees. The bathroom had been renovated and very spacious. the breakfast was excellent - delicious apple bread, chocolate bread, Activa yogurt, fruit, bagels and cream cheese, meats and cheese, coffee, tea, etc. We liked being able to sit outside on the courtyard to eat our breakfast, lots of shade. Probably the best part is it's location at the end of St George street, a pedestrian walkway with gift shops, cafes, historical spots and more. You can walk to all major sites - the castle, Lightner museum, Flagler College and more. We recommend St George Inn highly.

See our review of our Segway tour from St Augustine Bike Rentals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fig_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We only stayed one night in this little inn which is perfectly located next to the old city gates on the edge of St. Augustine's main tourist area. After a bit of jockeying to figure out the parking and unloading of suitcases, we settled into a third-story room that had a wonderful view of the waterfront and the fort. There was no elevator but the front desk had the baggage brought up, and down the stairs when we left. The room was modernized and was a little more spacious than most hotel rooms. The bathroom was rather small but also updated. The room was clean but felt rustic. This is not a luxury inn but we did not expect such. The breakfast was well-done and I enjoyed talking to the staff while I was on the way out to do the tourist thing. I want to say that this was a great property but we really had a difficult time sleeping that night. We were alternately too cold, or too damp under the covers. We speculate that the mattress was covered with plastic and with the high humidity in the air we felt clammy and awful all night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LRGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The St. George Inn is a small collection of about 40 hotel rooms located above the shops and cafes at the eastern edge of St. Augustine's main tourist lane, St. George Street. The rooms are all modern, spacious and comfortable, with automatic fire sprinklers, DirecTV HDTVs, free Wi-Fi, coffeemaker and mini-fridge.

Besides the very comfortable room, we were surprised and delighted how quiet this part of town is during the overnight hours. After 10pm, St. George Street winds down, and we were treated to almost total silence for a restful night, even with the windows open in our room. Wonderful!

You literally can't be any closer to St. Augustine's many attractions. There is a huge municipal parking garage one block away, the ancient fort Castillo de San Marco across the street, and six blocks of shops, pubs and restaurants along St. George Street to the west. Leave your room, walk down the stairs, and all of St. George Street is at your feet.

This is a little gem in the midst of St. Augustine's most-popular tourist area. Reasonable mid-week rates and excellent accommodations await you if you stay at St. George Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs from the street, so be able to climb a flight or two. Makes for a quiet eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeInFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent two nights in late April at The Saint George Inn. My wife just loved the room and location. There was some kind of festival going on when we arrived that made parking a little confusing, so Paul the manager had our car parked in the city garage for us. Never needed the car until they brought it back to us when we left. I was having some foot problems and that really helped. The drop off spot is in the striped area in the street in front of the office; its pretty simple. See the picture. They brought in our luggage and put it in the office while we registered. Irving the owner and his staff could not have been nicer. All the rooms are on the second floor above the shops of the five or six buildings comprising the inn. The courtyard formed by the several buildings was a perfect place to take our breakfast that is laid out in the office each morning. Delightful. The trolley stops within sight of the inn. Use It. All in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 which had a balcony facing Orange Street. You could see the Castillo and bay fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We arrived on a Monday afternoon at 3, we had already read how to do the drop off for the luggage and check in, which was to park on the yellow lines outside of the hotel registration. Immediately someone was outside to check us in and take our bags, they also offered to drop the car off for us at the parking garage but I preferred to take it myself.The hotel covers the cost of the garage so you do not have to pay for the parking. Once you come back from the parking garage, which is exactly one block from the hotel, you find that your bags are already in your room and one of the hotel employees give you a map and takes you to your room. I loved how the rooms are spread around over all the shops. All rooms except the ones on the third floor lead directly to a balcony, the ones on the third floor lead to a hallway and then you can walk out to the balcony which is on the second floor. The balcony has tables and some rocking chairs. The weather was beautiful and chilly, so I wanted to leave the windows open to get some fresh air but I discovered that the windows did not have screens so I was unable to leave them open for fear of squirrels and other critters getting into the room. This was my only complaint about the St. George Inn, I love fresh air and the cool weather and could not enjoy it from our room. I loved how the room was set up, it felt like a country inn without having to share space with other guests.The room was a little pricey but it helps if you go in the off season as well as during the week, it was totally worth it being so close to everything. The included continental breakfast was simple but filling and included cold cuts, cheeses, muffins, bagels, coffee and orange juice, a great start to the day before walking everywhere. We left our car in the garage for the entire trip and walked to all attractions. The farthest from St. George in was the Alligator Farm/beaches, and the Winery, I would suggest for these you take your own car or go ahead and get the trolley. We got the trolley in case we got too tired and still mostly only walked. Hotel staff was very knowledgeable and helped us decide on where to dine as well as how to get to attractions quickest. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: If you want a specific view I would ask for it when making the reservation, otherwise you get whatev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obsidian_sidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We loved our one-night stay at the St. George Inn. Stay here, park your car, and walk to everything. Our spacious two-story room included everything we needed for a comfortable stay -- plus a beautiful view of the Castillo de San Marcos across the street. Be prepared for some street noise and the sound of live music, depending on your room's location. In-room Starbucks coffee was a wonderful touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £156 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine
St. George Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing