We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in the heart of historic district”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in the heart of historic district”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was the first stop of our honeymoon, and one of the nicer rooms we stayed in on the trip. It was in the middle of everything in St. Augustine's historic area, you walk out of the elevator and you are on the pedestrian only street. Mattress was comfortable, room was cleaner than you can imagine, and customer service is outstanding. The only issue I have is parking, you have to park in a garage a block away. But you can unload baggage curbside and staff carries it to your room while you park. We were on the top floor, which means we didn't have a balcony, but we had cathedral ceilings that made the room feel a lot bigger than it was. Well worth the money spent here.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the graveyard, there are other options, depending on preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregoneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    189
    51
    13
    4
See reviews for
217
497
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have stayed here two times in the last 2 weeks.I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Our first stay was in the Santa Maria room and we had views of the Castillo De San Marco Fort and the Old City Gate. The room had a shared balcony,but our room was at the end of the balcony with no other rooms,so we had the balcony to ourselves. Ask for Room 22. The balcony also overlooked Orange street. Going out the door and down 2 flights of stairs took us almost straight to St. George Street which has all the shops and restaurants.It literally took 30 seconds to get to the street.

Stay number two had us in the Castillo Suite.This room had a spiral staircase which took you to a fantastic bedroom upstairs with a King size bed. The bathroom was also nicely done. "CAUTION">>>> The only problem with this room is the only bathroom is upstairs,so take that into consideration if you will be having a lot of people with you.
This room literally put you on St George street as soon as you left your room and went through the locked gate (yes,I said locked gate.I loved this part) and down the stairs.

A couple of informative notes:

(1)There is no parking at the St. George Inn.You have to park in the parking deck.I would say the walk from the parking deck to the Inn is around a block. St George Inn charges you $5 for every day you are there and they give you a parking deck key.You can leave and return as many times as you want.Otherwise it would have costs $10 every time you left and come back. Make sure to scan your key when you enter and you leave.If you don't scan it when you leave,it won't allow you back in.

(2) There is yellow lines in front of the Inn where you park and put on your flashers.They will come out and help you with your bags.

I absolutely loved this place and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin7274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are here every two months. This is our absolutely favorite place to stay. Owners and Staff are wonderful, rooms extra clean. Going back in October, and then in December for a week, for our wedding. Not a better place to stay in Historic St Augustine area.

Room Tip: Just select the view you want. All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right on St George St...which is a good, and not so good thing, depending on your perspective. It is a clean and well maintained hotel. It is quite unique, the lobby is separate from the rooms. We stayed in a Santa Maria, a king with a balcony. Our balcony was looking down right on St George St. During the day it is great! People watching is perfect. At night, if you want to retire early, don't plan on it. The bars around the room have live music, which is perfect for enjoying while sitting on your balcony. But not so good if you are trying to sleep.

The other half of our party stayed in a Nina. It was quiet, and a very nice room. But no balcony to enjoy. Their room was on the third floor with no elevator to access their room. When booking, if you need an elevator, make sure and request a room with that accessibility. In the main building, there was an elevator.

The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate. It had a pedestal sink, which is not very convenient for women and all their necessities. There is a small multi shelf piece hung near the sink, which helped.

Would I stay here again? With family traveling together? Yes. If it were just my husband and I, I would probably choose the Casa Monica Hotel. More upscale, but still centrally located.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PammyC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and the staff was wonderful and accomodating from check in to check out. The location was great, right in the heart of everything you want to get to in St. Augustine. I was surprised of how large the property actually was compared to the B & Bs in the area. The complimentary breakfast was alright, but there are other places surrounding to go for a morning meal. The room was surprisingly large and very comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbnsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at St. George Inn 6/28-30 and LOVED it! We are a family of 5 and chose the Castillo Ste., we had room #42., it was perfect! We had 2 balconies, the front faced the fort and the back faced the old school house. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We met the family "next door" and it was the owner's brother and they were very nice as well - great company! The location was ideal for our family, we never needed our car. The restaurants in the area are great. The first night we ate at a little burger place next door - Cruisers (I believe), we ate at a Mexican restaurant across the street - Acapulco (?) which was very good and then we ate at Harry's Seafood a block or so away which was also very good. We did Sheriff's Ghost Tour while there which was fun for our kids. Saturday nights can be a bit loud, there is a bar next door with live music but it never bothered us (there are other rooms that aren't as close as we were that I'm sure are quieter). Sunday nights, everything closed by 9 so it was very quiet. All in all, this was a great short vacation, our 9 year old says it's one of her favorite places. If you're looking for a nice place to stay definitely check out St. George Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHKelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

While planning our family trip, we called St. George Inn first. We were very happy with the customer service we received and it made us excited to visit. While there, the whole staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and the view from our window was beautiful. Great location with so much in walking distance. My family plans to return and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
4.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Property: St. George Inn
Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine
St. George Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing