We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An older property, but well kept and and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 St. Augustine
Ranked #70 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's the more budget friendly Super 8 in St. Augustine, away from the beaches and near I-95. It suits the purpose of a clean and comfy room, minus a fridge and microwave.
It has a pool which appeared lively with guests, but I didn't venture into it.
It allows pets, and yapping was heard right down the hall from my room, but it didn't keep me awake.
Parking seems a little crowded, especially with a semi-trailer taking up many parking spots. It looks like it's used for storage.
Breakfast had the do-it-yourself waffles which are great, but the tasty lil cinnamon rolls were missing. Maybe they were out?
Front desk staff was always pleasant and easy to deal with.
No problems here, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrayWolf716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon c, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We do appreciate the time taken to write this review .We are currently making updates to our rooms and do hope to see you again when we complete these updates.As for the cinnamon rolls there was a late delivery and we will make sure that doesn't happen again,for that please accept our apologies.Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I checked in around 3am to find the doors locked. The night guy appeared from his car in the parking lot. I can only assume he was napping. A little unprofessional but no big deal I guess. I'm glad I'm not the one paying him.

I prepaid through super8. The night clerk asked me for my credit card for an "imprint" since I paid online. I asked why and he stated it was company policy. I refused that immediately. He began to argue a bit, and said, "what if you break the TV?". I said that the Super8 company I paid through has more than enough of my info to track me down if I manage to break your $50 TV from 1987. He has absolutely NO business taking an imprint of my card unless he intends to use it for nefarious purposes. Sorry there, broseph.. I was born at night but not last night! No other places I have stayed ever asked for my card. My ID yes, but not my card.

Now onto the room itself. It was not bad. Could use some updating, but it was way better than a lot of other places. The beds were a little on the springy side and could stand to be replaced. The shower was decent. The coffee maker was not useable due to cleanliness. Fortunately there is a Dunkin right down the street. No one ever came to remake the room or take the trash in the 3 nights I stayed. It didn't bother me just because I would rather keep strangers out of my little bubble, but it could be a concern for most others.

Breakfast consisted of cereal, pastries, and a make-it-yourself waffle iron. Of course there were the standard beverages. Check out was a breeze and the day clerk was not at all as shady as the night guy. Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again just because I know I can do way better at this price point.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon c, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and writing this review.We did have a late delivery of cinnamon rolls,for that we apologize. We do hope to see us again,thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gordon c, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was an unplanned, 'quicky' trip to St. Augustine. We had no reservations and had to find a place conveniently located to a hospital. We were beat, this was close and they had a room available. The room smelled like mildew and sorely needed updating. Bathroom sink dripped. Second night there, at 9:15PM, the front desk called to tell us we had to evacuate to another building because a water main had broken and there was danger of a sinkhole. We had been on the 1st floor and we were told the only room available to move to was on the 2nd floor. No elevator and we had a ton of stuff to move. I called the front desk back and asked if anyone could help us. Someone came immediately and lugged EVERYTHING for us. We were so grateful! When we were checking out a few days later, we asked for help again and two people showed up and helped us pack everything in our car.
Sooo.....bottom line is that although the accommodations were less than desirable, the staff was fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon c, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We have looked at this review and we have come to the conclusion that this is not our hotel.We have not had any water main broke in recent history.However thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This motel was older and run down but it had all the basics, even a pool. Carpet in the room was humid and my allergies bothered me during the night. Did not sleep well. Free WiFi but information on use was not clearly visible, I needed to seek more instructions. Took advantage of the pool since it was hot and humid but chairs were limited around the pool. The highway was near the hotel and this added a bit more noise nearby as well as some dogs other guests had in their room. This is the first hotel with pets that we stayed at.Breakfast was included and was basic with little seating available.Bathroom needs to be updated and carpets removed. It was close enough to St Augustine which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon c, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

We do apologize that your stay with us was no super.We thank you for your review and have made note of all the issues you encountered and have begun to correct what is in our capacity to correct.The issue of pets is always an ongoing situation that we try to make as comfortable for both parties involved.We are currently in process of installing new carpets and have made more seating available in the breakfast area.Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was 300 miles away and I forgot something under my pillow I called the manger and he went up to my room and got my stuff this is a very nice place to stay and very very honest people I would stay there again

Thank You
Larry Bailey
Palm Bay,Fl

Room Tip: It,s a great place to stay and the workers are very honest people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon c, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Wilbur T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn ST. Augustine West
Days Inn ST. Augustine West
#68 of 78 in St. Augustine
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#42 of 78 in St. Augustine
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
#47 of 78 in St. Augustine
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95
Hampton Inn St. Augustine - I-95
#44 of 78 in St. Augustine
561 reviews
9.8 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Augustine I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St. Augustine

Address: 2550 State Road 16, I-95 Exit 95 at State Rd. 16 on West Side, St. Augustine, FL 32092-0702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: £39 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St. Augustine 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel St Augustine - State Rd. Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Super Eight
Saint Augustine Super 8
Super 8 Saint Augustine
Super Eight Saint Augustine
Super 8 St. Augustine Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing