We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Augustine Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Augustine Star Motel
Ranked #78 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for four nights to visit the beautiful St. Augustine. It is directly off the Interstate and since living two houses away from the interstate noise was not an issue. The room was clean but had an odor(not cigarettes) and we were offered a microwave and a mini fridge for a small price for our stay. Towels were few and inbetween for a family of three but when we asked the front desk, they provided. No tissues unlike other hotels but everything else was provided. Laundry facilities on site were very poor due to broken machines. We stayed in the back of it and had no safety issues and parking was ample. Pool was very clean and refreshing after a hot day in the sun. If you are looking for luxury, this isnt the place to go, but if you don't plan on staying in your room and just need a bed to sleep in, it was worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    11
    15
    42
See reviews for
23
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel is located next to a interstate, which is very loud at night. Rust in the shower, no microwave, no refrigerator makes me wonder how this hotel could ever rate two stars. It is old and smells moldy. Strange people hanging around the pool area. Even for this low price one can find a cleaner and safer room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here one night after a long day of driving. Our room had two double beds with worn, but clean bedding. The room's microwave, refrigerator, TV, internet, and air-conditioning all worked fine. Check in was very quick with a friendly front desk person. Pool and grounds area was clean. Coffee and light breakfast items were available starting at 6AM. Our rate with AARP discount was just over $40 including tax. We ware satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorgirl6754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The desk clerk gave us attitude and would not change us from a stinky smoking room without an argument. The towels were so old they were transparent. It was noisy. Awful place. Pitiful breakfast. There are loads of hotels in this area. Avoid this one.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. There are loads in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This was easily the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. The 1st room had dirty tub with hair and soap scum, dirty bathroom floor, mold on ceiling and semi-made beds. Clerk seemed unsurprised when I notified her, and assigned us another room before I could even request it. The 2nd room had dirty tub (dirt and soap scum, plus bits of something that fell out of the shower curtain), dirty bathroom floor (including a gooey substance near the front of the toilet), and a nasty smell from the area of the bathroom. The evening clerk seemed unsurprised when I asked for cleaning supplies, but almost all of them were locked away. We ended up cleaning our own bathroom on hands and knees with a rag and a bottle of bleach because they had no staff to do it at 5:30PM. After this and airing out for 1/2 hour, the smell was gone and did not come back.

The tops of the baseboards, the bathroom wall behind the door, the inside of the bathroom door, the common areas (except for the lobby), the balconies and the stairwells all showed signs that nobody had cleaned them in a long time. The pool was a bit green and its floor was covered with dirt, and the pool deck was dirty. (This was not really swimming weather, but it had been 1-2 weeks earlier.)

I mentioned the filthy rooms to the morning clerk, who said that she had "heard about the problem" and would "take it up with housekeeping". Dates on similar reviews here suggest that this is a longstanding problem that they have done little or nothing to correct.

Stay away. I know I will.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

GROSS!!!!!! Do not stay here! Found BED BUGS and aPair of DIRTY PANTIES under the mattress! Also left over food in the drawer. Carpet was supposed to be teal color but it was BLACK! Housekeeper came up to see what the complaint was and she grabbed the panties and THREW THEM OVER RAIL TOWARDS THE POOL! I demanded my money back! The health dept needs to check this place out. Believe me if they do it would be shut down!

Room Tip: beware! dont stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jz3suns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I were on a budget. We wanted to have a fun new years trip without breaking the bank. Reviews on this hotel were up and down so we took a chance. Do not stay here! First of all, the sign does not say Knights Inn, so it's very hard to find! We passed it 3 times before realizing it was our hotel. The room was not clean, nor was the bathroom. Behind the door you could see dirt, screws, and rust, that has gathered and not been swept in who knows how long. The caulking around the tub was moldy, along with the soap dish. Not to mention mold was growing on the wood clothes hangers. The "breakfast" they serve is mini bagels served in a dirty container and pre-packaged Sarah Lee pastries. The juice was never ready because it was "frozen". Trust me, spend the $20 more dollars a night and get a decent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Augustine I-95
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine I-95
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine I-95
#46 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Star Motel

Property: St. Augustine Star Motel
Address: 2365 State Road 16, St. Augustine, FL 32084-0819 (Formerly Knights Inn Saint Augustine I-95)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Augustine Star Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Augustine Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Saint Augustine i-95 Hotel Saint Augustine
Econo Lodge Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Econo Lodge
St. Augustine Star Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing