We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with negatives” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Camachee Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Camachee Harbor
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
648 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great location with negatives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn on September 7, 2013.
First I would like to say that the location is very good because it is close yet away from the frantic tourists in the downtown area. Parking downtown is however very difficult to find and the city garage charges $10 per stay.

We had room #11 and it was with a nice view of the harbor. It has a nice step down to the sofa living area so it was nice to separate the grandkids for sleeping since there are 2 tv's.

The website says "a complimentary breakfast is available" however that is not totally true. They only give 2 coupons for the grill next door and you are limited to only maybe 2-3 things on the back of the coupon. Anything else is a 10percent discount. Very dissatisfied with that.

The lodging does have a pool however it is way down at the end of the Marina and it closes at 7pm. That was very disappointing to the kids. By the time we got back from dinner it was closed and so it was not used by 2 of our grandkids.

Our room appeared to be clean however there was a sheet left on the sofa bed when we opened it and I can assume it was from the last guest. We had clean sheets in the drawers to put on it so we did not say anything to the hotel. We did pull all sheets off before we left so that this mistake would not happen to the next guests.

The bathroom was clean and we had great water pressure.
Our king bed was super compy.

I left my cell phone charger and the staff was very prompt in calling me and they are mailing it back to me at my expense.

Well over a week has gone by and I had to call the Inn because I never got my cell phone charger. Hayley said she still have not mailed it out....bummer!

Room Tip: Room #11 was nicely decorated. You won't be disappointed but be sure to read the negatives and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camachee, Manager at Inn at Camachee Harbor, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We are sorry that you experienced anything that disappointed you during your stay. Regarding the complimentary breakfast, guests are given "breakfast vouchers" when they check in, and told to present them at Fish Tales for their breakfast. On the back of every voucher is a list of the exact items that are available for the free breakfast - there are four options from their regular breakfast menu, all of which come with toast/bacon or sausage, and a drink. Fish Tales would have also been able to assist you with choosing one of the complimentary breakfasts if the vouchers had been presented when ordering.

Because we are a small establishment, the marina does not have suffient bright lighting, and/or a pool guard to be on duty during evening hours to ensure the safety of guests using the pool. Most guests only want to use the pool during daylight hours, and this has never been a complaint in the past, but we regret that this was an inconvenience to you.

Regarding the sheet left on the sleeper sofa, on occasion housekeeping will put an extra sheet on the sofa mattress if they are washing the mattress pad. That may be why there were also additional clean sheets in the drawer as well.

We apologize for the time it took to return your cell phone charger to you. Mailing back items left in rooms is a courtesy that we are happy to provide (we only charge the exact cost of postage, with no additional fee whatsoever), as most other establishments will not do this - but we do not keep a large stock of mailing boxes at our small inn, so in this case, we had to wait for the mailing boxes that had been ordered to come in. Your charger was mailed the same afternoon that we received the boxes.

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    82
    32
    16
    9
See reviews for
66
155
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is on a marina with a nice view of the boats from your balcony. The beds needed to be replaced in our room. They have WIFI, a mini frig and a microwave in the room. The bathroom is small. Besides the bed, the only complaint was the breakfast arrangements. The hotel advertises a free breakfast for two with a discount for more than two in a room. They were supposed to tell me at the front desk that there are only a few items one can get for free. After we ordered breakfast and the bill was rang up, I discovered this issue. They need to plainly print this fact in their advertisements.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank researchtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camachee, Manager at Inn at Camachee Harbor, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We are so sorry that you were confused about the breakfast. Guests are given "breakfast vouchers" when they check in, and the options for the free breakfast are on the back of each voucher. We do not advertise that any menu items may be ordered for free, but the free options include four options taken directly from their regular breakfast menu, and come with a complimentary drink, and this is explained on the back side of the voucher.

We are also sorry that you were displeased with your bed. It is difficult for our owners to find mattresses that all guests will find comfortable, as some prefer a firmer feel, while others like it to be softer.

We hope you enjoyed your time in St. Augustine otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent 2 nights here last weekend with friends and rented rooms 20-22. We had room 20 which is on the second floor with a rap around deck. Nice view of the marina and all the surrounding buildings. Of the 3 rooms 22 has been updated with wood floors and a canopy bed. The other 2 rooms were beach type furnishings that were very clean but could use some updating. (the rooms are privately owned so some of them have been updated) They all had a microwave, large flat screen TV and fridge. Conveniently located for sightseeing to St Augustine, beaches, Publix (right over the bridge in Vilano Beach) and excellent restaurant. Booking, check in and out very good. It has a pool but we didn't get a chance to use it. Has a nice concrete path that goes all around the marina and you can also walk across the bridge for exercise. Ate dinner 2 nights at the Kingfish Grill short walk from the hotel. Very good food, service and view. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if in the area.
They offer complimentary free breakfast at Fish Tales right in front of the hotel. Selection was OK and better than what you get at the big chain hotels. Also has good selection of wine beer and other items.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the second level they have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a room overlooking the harbor. What a great view! Unfortunately the room smelled of mold. The smell was pretty bad. My husband said it was as if the carpet had gotten wet, but was never dried properly. Other than that the room was comfortable. The shower (no tub) was very narrow. I thought I heard my husband rip out the doors when he was maneuvering in there. The breakfasts at Fish Tales were decent; definitely better than the breakfasts at most hotels. Sheets weren't changed in the four days, three nights we were there. The bed was pretty much made and the bathroom was given a quick once over each day. It's a quiet hotel, but you can hear doors closing and other noises outside. I guess we just expected more for the money.

Room Tip: Our friends' room didn't smell, so I think it is fair to say that not all rooms are moldy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neecee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camachee, Manager at Inn at Camachee Harbor, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you experienced an unpleasant smell in your room while you were here. We will be looking into whatever may have caused that. We have never had an issue with mold or mildew at our inn, but it may have been something else.

Most hotels do not change the bed sheets during a guest stay, unless they are staying a week or longer. We do apologize if this caused you to feel uncomfortable in any way - we do have signs in the room's bathroom explaining that we, and many other hotels, do this to reduce waste of water and detergents/chemicals. Again, if this was in inconvenience, we are very sorry.

Thank you for your review, and we hope that you enjoyed your time in St. Augustine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place was an incredible find. We were making our way to Orlando and made stops in Savannah, St Augustine, and Daytona Beach - so this was our second hotel in 3 days. We had a room on the harbor that had a sofa/pull out bed - which was great for our boys (13 and 11) they had plenty of room. Initially, I thought the king bed and living area would be together, but they were separated by a small hallway and bathroom, which gave us the separation everyone needed. There is a beach, and Publix (great cold cut sandwiches) over the bridge. The staff was friendly and the breakfasts from Fish Tales were great too. Hopefully we will stay here again.. great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, prompt service great location close to down town and the view was amazing on the harbor, the fish tails voucher for breakfast was great as it is right next door and has a large variety of wines and micro beers in stock. The room was a split level with the balcony 5 feet from the dock area a wonderful view of the marina. One mile from down down right on A1A. We were on a 10 day motorcycle trip and this was the best place we stayed all trip the room has all the feel of home and free wifi and the staff were all great money well spent overall a great place to stay

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camachee, Manager at Inn at Camachee Harbor, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you had such a great time while you were here during your exciting, extended motorcycle trip. We will look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here this past weekend and had a beautiful room with an incredible view of the harbor. The staff could not have been more accommodating from allowing us to check in very early, ease and family friendly check in and the room had everything you could need. We spent most of our time there walking around the marina looking at all of the interesting boats and just sitting on the balcony enjoying some wine and cheese. The free hot breakfast was a nice surprise! We will definitely be back whenever we can get away again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#13 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.9 mi away
Island Shores Inn
Island Shores Inn
#26 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Sands Beach Inn
Ocean Sands Beach Inn
#4 of 5 in Vilano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Camachee Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Camachee Harbor

Property: Inn at Camachee Harbor
Address: 201 Yacht Club Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084-0492
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Camachee Harbor 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Camachee Harbor offers spectacular sunset and sunrise views from all 19 of our room's private balconies. Come and relax while enjoying Intracoastal, marina or garden views from our spacious and beautifully decorated units. We are conveniently located one mile north of historic downtown and half a mile from Florida's beautiful beaches. Come visit us to experience North Florida's laid back lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Camachee Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Camachee Harbor Hotel Saint Augustine
Hotel At Camachee Harbor
At Camachee Harbor Hotel
Inn At Camachee Harbor St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing