We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The spot to go hands down, clean professional, & great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kookaburra

The Kookaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Description: Aussie themed Coffee/Pie shop. Serving excellent Bold!Bean espresso and coffee, frozen frappes, specialty teas, and delicious Aussie meat pies and treats.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The spot to go hands down, clean professional, & great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have traveled to many corners of the world and this place is as good or better than the best places I have ever been. The staff is always polite, clean & professional. The products they produce are on point and you don't wait long at all. It is right down town so if you are there you should stop in and see the place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    55
    35
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best coffee this side of Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I admit it, I'm a coffee snob, especially espresso drinks. . I live in Seattle and even there i only frequent Vivace or Vita; Intelligentsia in Chicago; Joe or Coffee Culture in NYC, or Stumptown in Portland. I roast my own beans. Finding a boutique coffee bar with amazing coffee and baristas who "get it right" is a real treat. The Size, location, ambiance, pastries are all "nice to haves" - but pulling exquisite shots of nectar and steaming and pouring perfectly infused milk for a latte or cap- is the hallmark of a great coffee experience. These guys do it well. I was very surprised to find this quality in what is not considered a coffee town.

Trip Advisor should change the heading to Coffee and Espresso Bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
“review by coffee lovers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Wife and I are coffee lovers extreme. Have beans fedexed to our house. Kookaburra is definitely our favorite in st. Augustine. Staff was great and friendly. Coffee was excellent including drip, press, chemex, and my wifes foufou drinks. If you want cheap/fast out of a large urn go elsewhere. There are a couple of other good places (city coffee on th ponce de leon is very good), but this is our favorite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerMike1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Went for Coffee, Stayed for Pies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped in Kookaburra for coffee today and decided to try their Aussie Meat Pies. Never having had one before I wasn't sure what to expect. It was very good. Better than any pastie in England. The girls recommended eating it with ketchup, Heinz of course, and it made a difference. They are meant to be eaten by hand but mine fell apart so I needed a fork. This is a tiny place with 2 tables and wall counter seats. The servers were very friendly and enjoyed what they were doing. It was very busy with most people ordering the coffee drinks. They missed the best part, the Aussie pies.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little coffee shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great coffee and Mexican hot chocolate. Friendly and helpful service. Good location. Easy spot to pop in while walking around St Augustine and get warmed up during our winter visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kookaburra also viewed

 

Been to The Kookaburra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing