We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee in St. Augustine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kookaburra

The Kookaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Description: Aussie themed Coffee/Pie shop. Serving excellent Bold!Bean espresso and coffee, frozen frappes, specialty teas, and delicious Aussie meat pies and treats.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best coffee in St. Augustine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Kookaburra has really the best coffee in a town that has good coffee. They also have an interesting offering of breakfast munchies (Aussie meat pies are like an egg and muffin with a cool accent). The Mochuccino and Cappuccino are great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DKFL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    55
    35
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Iced Coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I'm an iced coffee addict, and stopped in here one morning to get my fix. Ordered an iced coffee w/ cream and sugar, which can be really good or really disappointing, depending where you go. I am happy to say that this place made one of the BEST iced coffees I've ever had. SO GOOD! My husband ordered the Aussie Iced Coffee, which was a little on the sweet side and also delicious. If I lived in St. Augustine, I'd be a regular at The Kookaburra. FYI, it's more of a to-go place, as there isn't a ton of seating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyflgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The spot to go hands down, clean professional, & great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have traveled to many corners of the world and this place is as good or better than the best places I have ever been. The staff is always polite, clean & professional. The products they produce are on point and you don't wait long at all. It is right down town so if you are there you should stop in and see the place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best coffee this side of Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I admit it, I'm a coffee snob, especially espresso drinks. . I live in Seattle and even there i only frequent Vivace or Vita; Intelligentsia in Chicago; Joe or Coffee Culture in NYC, or Stumptown in Portland. I roast my own beans. Finding a boutique coffee bar with amazing coffee and baristas who "get it right" is a real treat. The Size, location, ambiance, pastries are all "nice to haves" - but pulling exquisite shots of nectar and steaming and pouring perfectly infused milk for a latte or cap- is the hallmark of a great coffee experience. These guys do it well. I was very surprised to find this quality in what is not considered a coffee town.

Trip Advisor should change the heading to Coffee and Espresso Bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
“review by coffee lovers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Wife and I are coffee lovers extreme. Have beans fedexed to our house. Kookaburra is definitely our favorite in st. Augustine. Staff was great and friendly. Coffee was excellent including drip, press, chemex, and my wifes foufou drinks. If you want cheap/fast out of a large urn go elsewhere. There are a couple of other good places (city coffee on th ponce de leon is very good), but this is our favorite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerMike1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kookaburra also viewed

 

Been to The Kookaburra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing