We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, average service, high gratuity added to bill”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Athena Restaurant

Athena Restaurant
Ranked #98 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, average service, high gratuity added to bill”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The food was good with fair pricing. The service was average not bad not great. But they added 20% gratuity to the bill for a "large" party. This is the only place I have been where 5 people is considered a large party.

Helpful?
Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    157
    76
    30
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Solid Greek Food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A newly redecorated restaurant with a superlative wait staff served us an excellent Greek salad. Following that we enjoyed a baked moussaka and a very good chicken gyro. The Greek coffee that followed was strong and tasty as we shared a strawberry cheese cake.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islanderuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport Uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Has the owner ever been to Greece and had a Greek salad?,2 small tomatoes,2 olives,no onion,lots of lettuce,not like any salad I've ever had in Greece.My wife had moussaka which was good. Service average,never enquired if we were enjoying our food. Room for improvement

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ate here by recommendation and glad we tried it!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate at this location by way of recommendation from someone who lived in St. Augustine. The restaurant was clean, the staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful as we were trying to figure out what main meal we wanted. Considering the location, the prices were reasonable. The appetizer, saganaki (flaming goat cheese), was quite an experience and very tasty...which I was very surprised that I enjoyed it as I have never been a fan of goat cheese! The meal I had was the moussaka, which was very filling and flavorful. For dessert, I tried the baklava cheesecake which was good. Next time I am in the area and in the mood for Greek food, I would definitely return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge City, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time for REAL Greek dining”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't wait to try the fresh hummus and home made pita's. It was all amazing. My husband had a club wrap. Delicious and fresh.

Helpful?
Thank Miagrace24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athena Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Athena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing