We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Potro

El Potro
Ranked #170 of 572 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Causal Mexican Dining
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was great, my boyfriend and I went this evening and we love authentic cuisine such as Casa Maria and La Cocina and this was fantastic! The El Potro special is worth every dollar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    69
    24
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Small restaurant at the edge of town. Since it was across the street from our hotel and we were tired and hungry it was our first choice. Glad we went. My carnitas tacos were excellent. Tasty chips and salsa. Service was very, very slow but the food made up for it. Don't be put off by the decor. As customers were coming in it appeared to be a place locals go. That's always a good sign.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“pretty average tex mex style food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

if you like the tex mex style food this place is fine - nothing special just well prepared food, reasonable priced good service and typical mexican atmosphere - and away from the busy downtown

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dwbtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good local Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great recommendation from a local. Really good food at a great price. Very off the beaten path and not the usual tourist trap.

Helpful?
Thank Pbecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local & in love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I decided to try El Potro after my sister-in-law ranted & raved about how good they were. Boy was she right! The staff is A+, the food is fresh & the flavors are phenomenal. They do a very nice job catering to their vegetarian crowd too - which is definitely a plus for me. AND! Not to mention their 2-for-1 margaritas. YUM!

I live just around the corner & I will continue to frequent this wonderful establishment. Thanks guys :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alslovexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Potro also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to El Potro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing