We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, good food”
Review of Kingfish Grill

Kingfish Grill
Ranked #44 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located right at the docks of Camachee Island Marina, THE KINGFISH GRILL offers spectacular waterfront views with both inside and outside dining. Enjoy the freshest seafood and casual cuisine served in a relaxed setting. We have something for everyone...."Bring the Family"! The HARBORVIEW BANQUET ROOM above Kingfish Grill is a beautiful second story event room with seating from 30 to 125. Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, and Social Gatherings, THE HARBORVIEW ROOM is spectacular space. Let us take care of all your needs so you can sit back, relax and enjoy your own party.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely view, good food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stopped in for dinner on a Saturday evening. Our drinks and hot bread were brought out promptly. Both my husband and I chose the prefixe menu option - appetizer, entree, dessert. He had the crab cakes with datil pepper relish for starter, horseradish encrusted mahi for entree and I had the Caesar salad to start with pan seared flounder for entree. We shared starters - the crab cakes were very good, with lots of crab not full of filler, the romaine was crispy in the salad with a perfect light coat of dressing. But the buttery flounder was the star of the evening! I only shared a bite of it with hubs. Finished the meal with creme brûlée, and since we rarely have dessert it was a nice treat. Ended the evening with a nice stroll past the large yacht at the dock. We were entertained throughout our meal by the boats moving in and out of the marina. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Will have to try something else on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sw33t_tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfishOwner, Manager at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
That special menu is a great value and special treat. I am glad you enjoyed all of it. My favorite is the creme brulee also. I hope your next visit is soon. Please introduce yourself so that we can say hello. We really appreciate your sharing the Kingfish experience on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    228
    98
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great staff!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We eat here about once a month because their fried shrimp are the best in St. Augustine. Last week, while putting several shrimp in the take home box, I accidentally knocked it on the floor. I figured it was my clumsiness and picked up the shrimp, put them back on the plate, and prepared to leave. The server stopped me and said the chef was frying some replacement shrimp. I said it was not necessary, that it was my fault they ended up on the floor. She said he insisted. She came right back with the shrimp. As we were going out the door, the chef appeared to wish us a nice evening. I thanked him and told him how nice he was, that he did not have to cook more shrimp. He said it was the right thing to do to make up for it being noisy. Well, it was happy hour time on a Friday, the only time ever it's been noisy. Wonderful people serving wonderful food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfishOwner, Manager at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
And wonderful guests! We read your Trip Advisor posting at several server meetings as a textbook case of taking care of our guests. We want all our guests to share in the experience that you have related. Thank you for coming in to Kingfish Grill, and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice , Pleasant dining”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

From entering to leaving the dining experience was excellent. Smiling young hostess seated us immediately, waiter took drink order and served it in about 5 minutes, took our food order and it was served in approx minutes. Peeled shrimp appetizer, captains platter and ribs were the entrees. All were very good. Pleasant atmosphere, a nice place to dine out .. Reasonable prices.





Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfishOwner, Manager at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
5 minutes seems a little long for drink service by our normal standards here. We will try to tighten that up for your next visit. Your review was very nice to here. Please introduce yourself on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great deck for an outdoor lunch”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here with a group and everyone was happy with their meal - which ranged from salads, fish tacos, fish sandwic, and fried shrimp. Only negative comments were on small amount of crab in otherwise very good crab soup mad the fried fish on the tacos were little nuggets that seemed processed and likely froze - but grilled fish tacos were great. Service was very efficient and friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfishOwner, Manager at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Glad to hear that everyone was happy with their food. Blackening the fish on the tacos also adds a big dimension to the tacos. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Probably one of the worst meals we have ever had in this area! The prixe fix meal was very bad. The fish was not fresh, the pie was like a piece of cardboard but the salad - not bad! The service was terrible. The waitress left us for long periods of time without asking us whether we liked the meal or if she could get us anything. The view was fine but not spectacular. We will not be going back here at all and we would not recommend anyone going either!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danute K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfishOwner, Manager at Kingfish Grill, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I am sorry that you didn't care for your meal, except for the salad. We do pride our kitchen in getting and serving fresh, local fish daily. I would have loved the opportunity to fix the situation as it occurred and did follow up on your visit with your hotel. We still extend the offer to correct the situation when you visit St. Augustine again. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfish Grill also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Kingfish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing