We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bagels - open for 25 years!”
Review of Schmagel's Bagels

Schmagel's Bagels
Ranked #222 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Located in the heart of the beautiful St. Augustine historical district, “the Schmagel’s Bagel experience“ is one not to be missed. Enjoy the best breakfast or lunch in town while dining in or outside under the shady tree or covered patio taking in the local scenery. Locally owned and operated, a St. Augustine tradition enjoyed by tourists, locals, Flagler students and faculty for over 20 years. Schmagel’s features 13 varieties of New York Style bagels all baked on premises and 11 varieties of cream cheese also made onsite. “Best breakfast in town– Bar none!
Sebastian, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great bagels - open for 25 years!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Super bagels. This small bagel/sandwich shop has been open for over 25 years. I graduated from Flagler College and remember when they opened! I was excited they were still open the other day when we were downtown. It is located downtown across from Scarlett O'Hara's. Open until 3pm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenjolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo C, Owner at Schmagel's Bagels, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review, hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    50
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never disapointed”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great place to eat go every time i hit St Augustine Service is good family owned and operated.I will keep going back again and again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_lapointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo C, Owner at Schmagel's Bagels, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review, hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“They know how to make bagels”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Baking/cooking is my husbands hobby - and he LIKED these bagels. Open early with good coffee and the real deal bagels - this is the spot for that bagel breakfast. The bakery offers a wide variety of bagels and spreads, including breakfast sandwiches. Top quality with pleasant service - we'll be here on our next trip. Best souvenir t-shirt in town in colors galore

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo C, Owner at Schmagel's Bagels, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review, hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I never had a bacon, egg and cheese bagel. It was so good. Yummy!!

This place is very quaint, small on the inside but well worth the bagel. there is seating outside but it was cold out. The booths on the inside are not big people friendly, that's the only reason why I put 4 instead of 5.

I would definitely go back but eould sit outside or take it to go if you dont want to sit in the booths.

Helpful?
Thank Valarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo C, Owner at Schmagel's Bagels, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review, hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Who knew you could get a good bagel in North Florida?”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I never expected a good bagel north of Palm Beach or south of New York. Who knew? Anyhow, cute little place, nice people, really good bagels. I had the Nova, Chive and Cream cheese to days in a row. The coffee is only so-so. (The second visit we grabbed take-out coffee at the Kookaburra and brought it with us for breakfast at Schmagel's).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DKFL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domingo C, Owner at Schmagel's Bagels, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for coming in to Schmagel's and enjoying our bagels, our bagels are made in the New York style, boiled first then baked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schmagel's Bagels also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Schmagel's Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing