We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Augustine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Silver Sands Saint Augustine
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I spent a week in the newly renovated Kemps Cottage - - it was perfect. The pristine beach is a quick walk over the dune line and the many activities of old Saint Augustine are just up the road. Everything from appliances to furniture to tile was new and first rate. We had guests visit virtually every day and all commented on the "Beach Cottage" charm of the cottage. We'll be back!

Room Tip: You can't miss on any of the suites or cottages. It's only a question of size and number of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank BeachBob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Selfishly, I wish I could rate it poorly just to keep people away from it. It was a great stay. Good quality appliances. You won't find a better deal than this, especially considering you can cook all your meals in their full kitchen. They made an effort to have supplies on hand, including body boards for the kids( all sizes!). The only downside is the bugs but being from Florida, i know you cant stop nature. I'm used to them.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Czephr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A very friendly and peaceful place to stay. Small number of units makes one feel at home and able to meet and be friends with everyone staying there. Beach was great, internet access was great. There were many things there that we took with us such as umbrellas, beach towels, beach chairs, etc and even toothbrushes as a special touch. Next time we will take fewer things. Beds were very comfortable. Great place for an individual retreat or for a family. Nice grilling areas and very clean. Very nice management personnel. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed our time at Silver Sands. The accommodations were ideal for 2. The beach was wonderful, only wish we could have stayed longer. Hope our good fortune will be to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goneracingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for three nights & enjoyed our newly renovated Monarch Suite! Clean, cozy accommodations with all essentials, to include beach bag, beach towels, & beach chairs! Manager Betty is nice, welcoming, & available to help with everything! Loved every minute & plan to return!

Room Tip: Still has two of five suites/cottages as dog friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TMoney722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is an awesome place, peaceful, quiet and close to everything you want to do. Recommend to all friends and family. Just steps to the Atlantic Ocean and a short drive to Historical St Augustine, Marineland and shopping at the Outlet Mall.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Pelican Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Those who have not visited the Silver Sands St Augustine in a while are in for a pleasant surprise on your return. Major renovations have completely redefined the property. Old dark and dated rooms are now clean, bright and spacious suites. Convection cooking surfaces, microwaves and large refrigerators are in each room with BBQ grills on site, so with some advance planning light meals could be prepared and enjoyed in suite. Large flat screen TV’s in each suite provide entertainment via Netflix and cable services. WiFi is available for the connected traveler as well. Management provides many personal touches designed to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
A two level patio provides ample space and seating for outdoor dining or just sitting and enjoying the balmy sea breeze. The beach is so close you can hear the waves anytime you are outside. A short walk through the dunes brings you to the beach. Keep an eye out for Bernice the cranky tortoise guardian of the dunes. My stay over the Memorial Day weekend saw ample space on the beach except at high tide when the water forced beach goers to share a narrow strip of sand. A dusk walk on the beach was rewarded with a surprise view to a satellite launch out of Cape Canaveral. Keep an eye on the launch schedule, http://www.spacecoastlaunches.com/#schedule to see if you will be able to witness a truly remarkable event during your stay.
All the charm of St Augustine is a few minutes away by car and offers entertainment and dining options should you feel like leaving the Silver Sands. A quick internet search will provide a schedule of coming events. My particular favorite is the Greek Festival. For a quiet out of the way and stress free family destination, I can think of no better place than Silver Sands St Augustine. Management makes everyone feel welcome and goes well above and beyond to make each stay your best stay. I look forward to my next getaway at Silver Sands.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
3.2 mi away
Beachers Lodge
Beachers Lodge
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
441 reviews
12.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
9.0 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
890 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,109 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Sands Saint Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Sands Saint Augustine

Address: 8448 A1a S, St. Augustine, FL 32080-8403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £68 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Sands St. Augustine is a quiet, ocean front retreat on a large, natural, beachfront property with the pristine beaches of Crescent Beach, St Augustine, as the front yard. Enjoy beautiful, white sand beaches while swimming, surfing or just relaxing in a quiet, natural setting. With only 2 cottages and 3 suites on the entire property, it is like having your personal, tropical escape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Silver Sands Saint Augustine St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing