We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

I have read all the reviews and am stumped by all the negative reviews. I have nothing bad to say about this location. It is located in an old part of town--very quaint. Our room was clean with all the amenities that Carlson offers. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The front desk clerk prepared an itinerary for us as we were short on time for touring. The breakfast attendant was very nice and was very attentive to all the guests needs. Their cookies were the best of the 4 Country Inns we stayed in on this trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deedubu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

The location is very convenient to the historic downtown area but don't expect to be able to walk there from the hotel. Upon check in I had some questions regarding the location of and nearest parking to the restaurant my husband and I had dinner reservations for. The front desk attendant handed me a map with awful directions to the visitor parking lot which we later found out was over 2 miles to the restaurant, which made for a very long, cold walk. More aggravating was the fact that there was a parking area close to the restaurant. Our room was dated, dingy, smelled like mold, and the carpets were very worn. I paid extra for a room with a king size bed that had only four standard sized pillows. The sheets were stained and the comforter was very worn. The shower literally took over 5 minutes for the hot water to kick in, and our shower was backing up the entire time. Not to mention that after our first night our toilet started having flushing issues. It was difficult to get the keys to work at the outside access points. The walls are paper thin as we could hear our neighbor snoring all night long. The only reason I'm not giving the hotel an overall 2 is because in the room next to us there were a group of intoxicated, and obnoxious ladies who carried on past midnight cackling, and yelling with their tv blaring. My husband notified the front desk and they handled the situation promptly. Which was great until 2 hours later when they began again. My advice for management would be to update the rooms with some new carpeting, new linens, invest in proper pillows a king sized bed should have king sized pillows, improve sound barriers in rooms, and make sure the bathroom facilities in the room are functioning properly before guests check in. Overall, if you are on a budget this is an ok stay, however for me and my husband we will be spending a few extra dollars elsewhere on our next visit to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This Country Inn & Suites is conveniently located just a mile or so north of the downtown area. The room was spacious, clean, and attractive and the staff was courteous, attentive, and friendly. Debi at the front desk and Otto in the breakfast area were very cordial. The complimentary breakfasts had a great selection of hot and cold meals in an extremely clean eating area. The only negatives were a very weak intermittent WiFi and poor security because of we found that our room door was left ajar by the housekeeping staff. This Inn offers very good value, nice amenities, well-lit parking, and a convenient location. We'd certainly stay there again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JohninRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed in one bedroom suite. The rooms are old, dark and not very clean. Furniture was chipped, bedspread was worn. Not a good example of Country Inns and Suite. Location was ok after the first night I wanted to,check our and move to Hampton Suites or Comfort Suite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Date 2/14/13

Country Inns & Suites
231 San Marco Ave
St Augustine, FL.32084

To Whom It May Concern,

I am sorry that you have concerns about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.

Our goal is to make the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel the choice for our guests while away from home. I will be sharing your comments with the hotel staff during our upcoming meeting as a learning tool to help us improve our performance and provide exceptional service to our guests. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best service possible, and feedback from our guests helps us to achieve that goal.

I want to thank you for taking the time to contact us because your input is valuable to us. We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Silvie Mcdowell
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our two-day getaway. We wanted to see everything we could in St. Augustine without being too far away and having to travel a great distance. The hotel is in the perfect location. At the edge of downtown where you can catch a trolley, shuttle or even walk to some of the attractions. The staff was very helpful in helping us arrange transportation and very knowledgeable about the sites, tours and food in the area . The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and very reasonably priced. We will definitely make our reservations there when we go back this summer.

Room Tip: I would not book a room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennrae916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and very spacious. Especially appreciated since we had two large suitcases we were living out of. Breakfast was good. Staff was excellent. Spent two nights with a tour group. Heard nothing but favorable comments from our other travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raytvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel was much better than the other reviews led us to believe. The rooms were up to the usual CI&S standard - clean, spacious and in good decorative order. Breakfast was also good with hot food and a range of cereals etc. We had to wait for a table since the hotel was busy but it was only a few minutes. They could have done with more than one man to service the breakfast room - he seemed to be run off his feet. The location was reasonable but too far to walk to the historic district without wasting part of our time in St Augustine with a boring 25 minute walk. Downtown parking is moderately expensive. Some hotel reviews in St Augustine complain about nearby railway noise - this hotel does not suffer from this, it was very quiet overnight. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Co...
#61 of 78 in St. Augustine
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: £61 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing