We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic St. Augustine get a way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We loved staying at the St. Augustine Country Inn and Suites. It was located close to the main historic area but not right in the middle of it. There is a tour train that will pick you up at the door so you do not have to pay or find parking in the historic district. Service was great. Very friendly. Staff was knowledgeable of tourist spots and information, even had coupons and contact information for several attractions. Kids loved the fresh chocolate chip cookies available in the lobby too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chastity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Visited St Augustine for two days and stayed at this hotel. We had booked it online so had not seen it. It is about 1 mile outside of St Augustine main town, but there is not much surrounding it in the way of restaurants. The Mexican opposite was very good, good food, good servive and good value. The hotel was very clean, the Reception staff very helpful and the breakfast which came as part of the room rate was more than adequate - although the man working in there coud be a bit OTT. Fresh cookies and coffee available all day in Reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I will recommend this hotel, due to the proximity of downtown, and also it was very clean, and the service was excellent.The breakfast was hot and fresh every morning. the waffles were great, and they also had fresh cookies at the reception desk.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pedro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Found this place in the Florida Hotel Coupon book at the rest stop.
We usually stay at the Comfort Suite chain but they were too expensive that day at $100 for a Sunday nite.
We stayed at Country Inn for $59 and it was a great alternative and only a couple blocks north of the Comfort Suites and a few minutes from St. George St.

Clean rooms and a great staff. A generous continental breakfast of fruit, eggs, sausage, Belgian waffles, etc and well maintained by an efficient attendant.

Room Tip: We had 2 queens w/ a refrig & microwave. The entire property in non-smaoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed two nights whilst visiting St Augustine from South Florida with Family. Our room on the second floor overlooked the parking lot was clean, quite and well maintained. Josiah (at the reception) was very friendly and helpful and helped us when our key cards got demagnetized. Otti the breakfast man was AMAZING, very hard working and a great sense of humor. All in all had a lovely stay and if ever in the area would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the Jaccuzi Whirlpool, it's nice after a long day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhunkyVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed two nights whilst visiting St Augustine from Orlando. Our room on the ground floor overlooking the pool was clean and well maintained. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and helped us book the trolley bus tour which picked us up from the hotel. Otti the breakfast man was lovely and a credit to the hotel, very hard working and Hungarian like my father. All in all had a lovely stay and if ever in the area would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I booked this hotel via Hotels.com and the rate was $138.49 before taxes which for the Labor Day weekend didn't seem too bad. It's not actually downtown but North of downtown. The check in was good, but the room smelled of some kind of freshener when we entered and was COLD with the A/C set at 70. The carpet seemed intially to be damp, but it may have just been that it was so COLD. The room was OK, bedding was good, and it was nice that an extra cotton blanket was provided as the comforter/duvet was way too heavy. The problem for me was in the bathfoom. The sink had a major crack in it, and the tub needs to be completely replaced as it tips outward and no matter how we positioned the fabric shower curtain, it leaked water out onto the floor - a lot - at the front end, and at the back. And, the refinishing has pealed in places, there's a nickel sized chip in the enamel, and the front end under the overflow outlet was very rusty. It was clean, but just not right.

Room Tip: The hotel may be in the process of being upgraded, give it some time before you book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
#59 of 79 in St. Augustine
54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
5.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#28 of 79 in St. Augustine
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: £66 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing