We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, good location, good service”

Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille
Ranked #31 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille is known for Good Food and Good Times and All the Flavor of New Orleans. You will experience a "Taste of New Orleans" from the time you walk in the door until the time you leave. Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille has the finest authentic New Orleans-style seafood, grilled steaks, chicken, pasta and more.
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good food, good location, good service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went there on a monday night at 7 pm, no reservation, so we had a 30 minute wait time. I asked about the deck sitting upstairs but it was closed due to weather (rainy day).
At first walk-in I noticed there were 3 people standing by the hostess stand, talking among themselves, we waited for about 10 seconds before being greeted, not a huge deal but it is definitely note the norm, I came back in a second time later on to go to the restroom and the same thing happened. We were given a pager by the hostess, we went outside for some photos. 30 minutes later the pager went off, we were seated upstairs by the glass door that leads to the deck. Im sure if that was on purpose or coincidental but we had a nice view from the inside of the restaurant.
The waitress came quickly and greeted us, and took our order. The food was really good, and came out in an appropriate amount of time.
The Jambalaya is huge, it can easily be shared by two people. The waitress was very kind and efficient at her job. The food is priced adequately.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidccs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,451
    1,116
    394
    151
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friends visiting from Miami”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Took some friends from Miami to Harry's in St Augustine to introduce them to one of our favorite spots to eat.

Said to say the service was bad, the meals were smaller portions and the upstairs air conditioning was not cool enough for our table of four.

We've be going to Harry's for 17 years now and this was the worst overall experience we've had, which was bad as we've raved about Harrys to our friends and convinced them to go there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little over rated”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Seen the place had nice reviews. And we like Creole cooking we decided to go there for dinner. Our waitress was very slow did not even bring our bread out for about 30 minutes slow in getting refills drink etc. I ordered the redfish with red beans and rice my fish was so dry I could not eat it. sent that back the second time it was a little better but very thin portion the red beans and rice were in my opinion very poorly done. My wife had the crabcakes . in her opinion were some of the worst she's ever had very very dry. I had the voodoo shrimp appetizer that was not too bad the chicken fingers and a hamburger which the kids had were ok and one of our friends had the shrimp and grits that they enjoyed. We love the restaurant itself beautiful building just not too high on the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
297 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“We always eat at Harry's when we are in St. Augustine.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Whenever we stay in St. Augustine we eat at Harry's and are never disappointed. The food and the service were good as always this time. I am giving it only 4 stars this time because of where we were seated and because they changed the bread they serve. Don't sit in small area to the left of the hostess stand . We were seated in the last booth right next to the restrooms. The main restrooms are on the second floor but there is a small men's and lady's room in this area. As we were checking out the menus we realized there was a line forming right next to our table with people waiting to go to the restrooms. When we finally decided on what to order we asked to be moved. It is a strange set up. We were moved up a few tables which was a little better but I would rather not sit in that area the next time we dine there. Also, we always loved the bread they served with great garlic butter. This time it was definitely different & not as good. When we asked our server about it she said she just started and didn't know if it was different. Maybe they just ran out of bread and were serving this kind in a pinch but I hope they go back to the other bread they served. All in all our food was very good as was the service. We will definitely go back when we go to St. Augustine again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MommamurphyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The BEST fried green tomatoes!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Love the fried green tomatoes over other restaurants because they are served with a slightly spicy sauce and feta cheese. Salads and steaks are delicious and the outdoor garden area is beautiful! ONLY drawback for me is that they do not offer a baked potato.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 800leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing