We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“61 year old newlyweds loved the "Peace and Plenty!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“61 year old newlyweds loved the "Peace and Plenty!"”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

As an older newlywed couple, we wanted a place to stay that offered comfort, privacy and a
close proximity to the culture of St. Augustine. "Peace and Plenty" offered all that and more.
Our room was lovely and very clean. Breakfasts were terrific and the hospitality of the innkeeper was great. We enjoyed our entire experience at "Peace and Plenty."

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjplumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    88
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
46
514
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We spent the night at the Peace & Plenty for our anniversary. We chose this B&B based on other reviews, the room availability, and the location. Although it is mentioned on the website, we were very surprised that our suite (Serenity 2) had 3 rooms plus a large private bathroom. The jacuzzi tub was large, however, the shower was small, but that is to be expected in a restored home.

The rooms were tastefully decorated and beyond comfortable. The bed was perfect.

We enjoyed a delicious Belgium waffle breakfast in the morning and appreciated the tables for two. While we enjoy getting to know other travellers, it was nice to sit by ourselves for our anniversary. We've stayed in other inns and shared a large table, but the privacy this time was appreciated.

The street was very quiet and besides the water from the outdoor fountain, we couldn't hear a thing outside our room at night.

Glenna was accommodating and helpful upon check-in and even gave us a business card to show at dinner at the Columbia Restaurant for a free sangria or flan. Upon returning from dinner, we enjoyed the dessert and refreshments available in the parlor.

We would (and already have) recommend this bed and breakfast to family and friends. We had such a relaxing and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30ishtravelerjlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My wife and I decided to spend our 16th anniversary in St. Augustine and chose the Peace and Plenty Inn for our stay. We made a WONDERFUL choice, this place was great! Mia was our stand in hostess for our stay and she was amazing! AS soon as we arrived she handed our maps and told us great places to grab a bite to eat for the evening. After dinner at A1A (we had a new server so service was extremely slow) we walk through St. George Street to get a idea of what to get into the next day. Upon arriving back Mia had laid out a wonderful assortment of light pastries and brownies that were still warm. The complimentary wine, beer, and soft drinks really hit the spot. We stayed in the Tranquility suite which included a private porch facing Cedar Street, enabling us to watch the carriages parade in front of the house with their couples. The next day Mia gave of ideas on where to go and made dinner reservations that night for us, she was the best!

The breakfast each morning were delicious and filling. Both of us were so full from our breakfast each day that we had to eat a late lunch because of us being so full. We both hated to leave and go back to the real world. The Peace and Plenty Inn is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Perfect stay at this little gem of a B&B.

The room was stunning and had direct access to the gorgeous garden at the back of the house. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was huge and simply beautiful, with a powerful shower, jacuzzi batth and original stained-glass window! Everything was in keeping with the age and history of the property and felt very luxurious.

My only gripe is there was hardly any room to walk about the room, the bed was enormous and seemed to have been 'crammed' into the room. For only 1 night though, this wasn't really a problem for us.

The fridge in the sitting room was full of complimentary drinks, including beer & speciality beer, red & white wine and soft drinks. Then, only moments after taking our pick and sitting down, the owner Glenda arrived with port, sherry and a selection of mouth-watering cakes and chocolates! It was very special and welcoming.

I was a little disappointed with breakfast the next morning but that may be because I'm from the UK and it may be a US speciality - it was sausages, cream, icing sugar, a savory-tasting pancake and fruit - all on the same plate... It tasted odd and unfortunately 3 out of 4 of our party agreed it was bizarre and quite inedible. The B&B has a different hot item every morning however, so I guess it was just our bad luck... It was lovely though to take our coffee and juice and sit on the verandah outside, you could practically feel the history of the place.

The garden has a huge fountain more suited to a royal residence, with a lovely tented area for smokers with comfortable chairs and tables. Sitting there late in the evening listening to the bull-frogs' mating call was wonderful (and very noisy!).

There is a lot of information scattered about in relation to the history of the house and St Augustine itself, which made very interesting reading and Glenda was only too happy to explain further. Glenda was also only too happy to make recommendations for restaurants (A1A Aleworks was excellent). Glenda respected her guests' privacy and didn't hang about getting over-friendly and nosy like some B&B owners we have found.

The Peace & Plenty Inn was the best value for money stay that we had during our road-trip down the East Coast and we found ourselves being very disappointed we were only staying for 1 night. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Wonderful place to stay with more than enough rooms which are tastefully decorated. Dedicated and thoughtful staff and enjoyable breakfasts. Coffee and tea are almost always available. The evening sherry and port are put out along with sweets.

Centrally located within walking distance of most of the St Augustine sites. We will return for another stay with Glenda, (proprietor). She was more than happy to make dinner and tour reservations for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobendorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Let me start off by saying, WOW! This place was absolutely amazing. My boyfriend and I were celebrating our 6 month mark in our relationship and because of our hectic scheduling could only find time to stay one night somewhere near home. We had never been to a bed and breakfast before and this Inn left a high bench mark to exceed if even possible. Very peaceful atmosphere. We stayed in the Rhapsody suite and it was absolutely beautiful and private, which I liked. The food was superb! And the customer service was exceptional. This was the best value because what you receive is the most priceless memories you'll ever experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexxysnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

This was our first experience with a bed & breakfast, and we werent disappointed! What a lovely setting....Glenna is warm & helpful. The breakfasts were delicious...my husband is a very picky eater, & the one thing i was hoping we wouldnt be served was quiche....but that was our first breakfast there - and he cleaned his entire plate & then told her how tasty it was!! This place definately offers privacy, just what we wanted for our 10th anniversary get away! Jacuzzi tub was relaxing, and the bed was very comfy. The location is great too...far enough away from the "main drag" that you dont hear much outside noise..but still close enough to walk everywhere! we didnt move our car the entire time we were there until it was time to (unfortunately!) leave. We would absolutely return & recommend this place to friends! The only downfall i can see would be the shower stall...it was extremely little itty bitty, and my husband is claustrophobic, and i must admit i am a bit of a germaphobe & dont like to touch shower walls, including my own! In the grand scheme of things though, this is a MINOR complaint....like i said we will reuturn! You should check it out, too!! Oh, i must say, you NEED to visit Habana Village restaurant, the flan is absolutely to die for!!!! Harrys seems to be a popular restaurant, but we were not at all impressed by it & found the food to be way overpriced for the quality. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amlmckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Property: Peace and Plenty Inn
Address: 87 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in the very heart of the historic district and steps away from three of the most important landmarks in St. Augustine FL: the Alcazar Hotel, circa 1880 (now the Lightner Museum), the Ponce de Leon Hotel, circa 1888 (now Flagler College), and the Hotel Cordova, circa 1887 (now the Casa Monica Hotel). A two block stroll will take you to the Ancient City's center and Plaza de la Constitution. Retreat into our quiet neighborhood or walk downtown and bask in the city's vibrant nightlife. Guests enjoy the best of both worlds without sacrificing ease of access for quiet repose. Our lovely walled garden is the ultimate in romance. It features fountains and a cozy pergola with propane fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing