We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean near the beach - never disappoints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regency Inn & Suites
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean near the beach - never disappoints!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at the Regency. I'm rating 5 stars but please remember this is budget property -- it's not the Ritz, but they get the job done.
The rooms have all new interiors - carpet, mattresses, bedding and it's impeccably clean. Front desk and in fact all the staff are always friendly and the price is almost always right :)

You will find a min-fridge and a microwave in your room, a coffee pot, and a nice flat screen tv. Wireless internet. They DO NOT allow pets, otherwise, this place would be my top choice at the beach.

This last visit the only thing they lost points for was coffee:(...Apparently the 'big pot' downstairs was broken, and they had put out 2 mini pots, with terribly weak coffee in them. The pot in our room was a full size, and I misjudged the amount of water and made my own pot of light brown yuck. Had to go out for coffee. The breakfast is minimal as well - but that's not why I stay here.

In the beach area where you are likely to pay a premium for location, even NOT on the beach, my priorities are CLEAN rooms and fair pricing. This hotel has always been spotless and smell free. New towels, nothing shabby or run down. Bright white caulking in the bathrooms, new fixtures, etc. Always a nice relaxing stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    146
    74
    26
    24
See reviews for
130
142
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Myers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I would highly recommend Regency. It is nothing fancy or upscale but it was very clean, The employees from the Manager, the Asst. Manager and on down to the cleaning women were more than helpful and went out of their way to take care of our needs. We will stay at the Regency Inn whenever we are in St. Augustine. I highly recommend that you stay there also. It is right across from the Beach, next to a convenience store and some Restaurants.We typically stay at moderate priced lodgings which this one is, but their customer care is beyond moderate

Glenn from Ft. Myers, FL

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This 2-story older motel is not really "just across the street from the beach." You can walk a block to a pay fishing pier with rock embankment, but the beach was blocked off and we had to drive down A1A to public beach access with bathrooms and outdoor showers. The owners have put in flat screen TVs, but cut corners on everything else: Breakfast is cheerios and doughnuts, hot water is temperature regulated, our plastic toilet seat was broken, the noisy exhaust fan bearing was going out, and amenities weren't replaced. Internet and phone service was spotty. However, the queen beds and towels were clean and the microwave/frig was handy. Barely a 2-star motel for $75 in winter. Next time, we'll try the west end.

Room Tip: For good restaurants try the Purple Olive and Zaharia's.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank takeahike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keystone Heights, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I wanted a quick weekend away for not much money. We settled on this motel because it was within budget and in a good location. We were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.

It looks like everything has been refurbished recently, inside and out. There was fresh paint, although there was no "new paint" smell. There was new carpet in our room and a flat screen TV. The room was very clean and the linens were in good condition. There was no musty smell like you get sometimes in older motels, especially near the beach.

The front desk staff was super friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast was nice. We only had coffee, but there was also cereal, toast, pastries, milk and juice.

The location was great. We just had to walk across the not-too-busy A1A to get to the public area, with restroom, pier entrance and beach access. There is also a kid's water play area that is popular. The motel is right behind a 24 hour convenience store. There is a wall between the properties, so we didn't feel that safety was an issue.

The only issue we had was the noise from the restaurant next door. They had what sounded like live music 'til late in the night on Saturday. Once we got in the room, though, and turned the air on, we weren't bothered by it.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsantillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just as advertised, it`s 2 stars. If that`s what you are used too, it`s probably ok, it was clean and cheap. The Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Would I personally stay there again? No. We left after one night and checked into the World Golf Village Renaissance. We paid twice as much, so we got twice as much.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here from August 13 until the 16th for our honeymoon. It was perfect. The bed were yes a little hard but that is due to them being new. I asked for no housekeeping during our stay and that was honored. The staff was very nice and american. You can tell they are updating everything, and making it look real nice. The pool was clean and refreshing after a hot day in the town. The bathroom is a little small, but it has what we need. All in all it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTFulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The motel wasn't one of the newer ones but it was clean and located just a few miles from everything we wanted to see and do. The beach was across the street with vollyball courts, picnic area, kids play area and the Peir. The beach was just beautiful, wish we would have had more time there. A convenient store next door. Shuttle pickup available.

Room Tip: We choose this motel because it had a room with three beds for a reasonable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.6 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#49 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Property: Regency Inn & Suites
Address: 331 A1A Beach Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080 (Formerly the Wellesley Inn And Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Inn And Suites
Regency Saint Augustine
Regency Hotel Saint Augustine
Regency Inn & Suites St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing