We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Inn & Suites
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting St Augustine. It is right across the street from the beach which is a major plus! The room was clean, had a fridge and microwave and the bed was comfortable. We had breakfast there everyday which was just a simple continental breakfast. It is not a 5 star hotel, however if you want nice, clean, inexpensive, and across the street from the beach, this is the place to be! We will stay again on a return trip to the area!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travlingirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    145
    73
    26
    24
See reviews for
130
140
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a motel located in the perfect place. Worth one ball just for that. The rooms are spacious, well maintained and functional. This is a place to stay when the beach is the reason that you are staying. I am conflicted when reviewing a place like this as it's function is not to be the reason for your visit, but a base from which to get to why you are here. For that it should get five balls. However, one kust review the totality and if moved anywhere else this would be an average place.

The morning breakfast is well stocked, clean and bright, has many options, but does not replace a hearty breakfast by any means. There is an elevator so being on the second floor is not an issue. Over all, if the area is the thing and not the stay, by all means stay here. If you want pampering, indoor exposure go elsewhere. We will be staying here again when we return. It is perfect for us.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chip1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I first want to say that, the location is great. It's right across the street from the beach (which is nice enough).
I look at some 4&5 star reviews and am concerned that people reviewing have never traveled before. It is NOT a Hyatt, Trump, Marriott or a Holiday in Express even.. I will say that, if you book through a third party, you can get a great deal.
The Pros:
-Inexpensive stay
-Location/proximity to beach and restaurants (Not a reflection of the hotel itself, mind you)
-Fairly clean establishment

The Cons:
-Very dated rooms
-Hot tub "upgrade" is not worth 5 cents. It's a forest green corner unit surrounded by mirrors. It makes you feel like you're in a by-the-hour motel
-The AC units are quite loud

The Verdict:
I chose this place specifically for price and location. I did NOT expect anything much of it, it was clean, the breakfast was fine.. That's about it. It is a 2-2.5 star hotel, and that's ok. I wanted it for a place to sleep, not hang around in. I would not likely go there again, but, it's not the worst place either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Never been to St. Augustine, Fl. before, and did not know what to expect. The Regency Inn is located near the ocean, across from the pier. (A short walk to the ocean) The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The rates equally reasonable. The serve a continental breakfast everyday. They also have a indoor pool. Which is great if you have kids that need to burn off that extra energy at the end of the day. Access is easy, and there is a lot within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you purchase a trolly ticket to visit the attractions in the historic area of St. Augustine, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tribefan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

As others have said the bed is no pillow top. Its a hard mattress and the pillows are adequate. Its a typical motel style stay. Its clean and bug free. Do you really need more? You have to cross the street and a parking lot to get to the beach... maybe 1000 ft? If people complain about this... its fine.

My wife and I are traveling south and wanted to check out st. Augustine's center. We arrived late. Check in was easy and friendly. The woman at the desk was very nice and easy going. It was 8pm. We did not make a reservation and it was a Wednesday. There was a free concert going on across the street.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a cheap and clean place looking for a place for 1 or 2 nights. Definitely get a hotel coupon book at a rest stop. $49 dollars can't beat that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradlyj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Deutschland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Just an average motel at beautiful St. Augustine Beach, close to St. Agustine Amphitheatre. Rooms were clean and with lots of space. The motel offers also an indoor pool which I didn´t use, it was just an overnight stay while visiting Bob Dylan at the Amphitheatre. All in all a good place to stay for a reasonable price, very close to the beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbieDylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

If you are not looking for luxury this is a perfect place. Close to the beach, clean, breakfast included. The hotel looks renovated, but still with old stuff in the bedrooms. The tub is so small that a person a little bit big (as my husband) have problem to take a shower. But the price is really good. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.6 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Property: Regency Inn & Suites
Address: 331 A1A Beach Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080 (Formerly the Wellesley Inn And Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Inn And Suites
Regency Saint Augustine
Regency Hotel Saint Augustine
Regency Inn & Suites St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing