We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency Inn & Suites
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Marion Oaks, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great value. Room was clean and well maintained. Air Conditioner could have worked better, and they didn't have much of a breakfast in the morning. But overall, great hotel for the price. Would definitely stay here again. Plus there is beach access and a pier within walking distance across the street,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    149
    74
    27
    25
See reviews for
134
143
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel room smelled moldy and was humid. The shampoo provided was half used. There were stains on the bathroom wall (blood?), comforters, bath tub, and on the pillow (blood?). The toilet had disgusting yellow-brown stains and some black growth on the inside of the bowl below the rim. Hands down, this was the most disgusting hotel room I have ever stayed at and I've been in a lot of economical hotels. My experience was so bad that I felt compelled to write this review to warn other customers. I picked out this hotel because of the reviews, and I cut my stay short and left early because I felt so disgusting and dirty in the room.

Location is right across the street from the beach, which is excellent. Historic downtown is within a 10-minute drive, and stores and restaurants are all very close. I thought the location would make-up for the filthy accommodations but I would like to warn potential customers that it just doesn't. Breakfast consisted of cereal, donuts, pastries, coffee, OJ, toast, and bananas. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0m0Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Even better as they can have quite low rates. Clean average older-type room. Mini-fridge is quite handy. BYOP: pillows were paper thin. As written by another guest, breakfast is just a starter and 'skippable'. Indoor pool was barely inviting compared to the ocean nearby... Easy max. 10 minutes drive to Historic St.Augustine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breakfastfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

-Cons: We should rename this hotel the Smoking Inn. The cleaning ladies and other guests will constantly smoke in front of the rooms and there is a big gap under the door so basically it smells like cigarettes inside our room on a consistent basis. There are cigarette buds all over the place; I though my toddler and I could smell sea breezes but no we got our smoking fix (even though we tried to place a towel at the bottom of our door).

The carpet is so disgusting that our feet became black under, never seen that before! The carpet is moldy and very wet probably from all the previous guests who came back from the pool or exited the shower to find carpet in front of the sink area. The fridge was dirty and we had to remove the ice build-up so we could close its door. The air conditioning machine smelled like someone peed in it.

Breakfast was disgusting, orange juice was really bad.

Room cleaning was inexistent, they just made the beds and gave new towels. I needed it to be vacuumed because of the sand from the beach but it was never done.

Pros: Near the beach, there are construction work near the hotel; it was a little tricky to cross to go to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delphine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rater
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We used a coupon from a discount book and got the room for $54.99 a night in the middle of summer! The motel staff was friendly. The room sparkled. The cleaning staff was so nice and didn't waste any time bringing us extra pillows when requested. Since we weren't in the room much, saving over $40 bucks a night made sence to us. We just walked across the street to the St. John Co. Pier for beach access. It was neat on Wed morning to see vendors set up in the park and Wed evening a free concert in the same spot. We paid the $1 to go out on the pier near sunset and was treated to DOLPHINS playing out in the ocean! We watched a fisherman pull in a baby shark too! This place has an indoor pool that is a nice break from sunshine of the beach. Regular cont. breakfast. Juice, donuts, cereal. It does the trick. You will NOT find a cigarette butt or piece of trash in the parking lot. The neighbor is safe. It was so good we came back the following week for a few more days, and we will be back next summer. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zntenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It is older and its age is showing, it could use some renovating (though they did have a brand new flat screen TV). Breakfast is skippable, the mattresses are very firm, the bedspreads stained and I suggest bringing your own pillows. The rest of the linens were clean, though the carpet could have been more thoroughly vacuumed. The rating was mostly for the location, right across from the beach. Not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Regency is located directly across the street from the St Augustine beach pier and volleyball area. From your room it is a 5 min. walk until your toes are in the sand. Short of being beachfront this is a great location. A jiffy store is right beside the hotel as is a bus stop for anyone taking the bus into town (avoiding the parking issues there). Quality wise it is typical Florida hotel fare with some older decorations and items in the rooms (though the TV was a newer large flat screen). We stayed in a 2 queen room and though the tub/toilet area was quite small there is also a counter area to get ready so combined the bathroom area is not too small. Would be cramped with 4 adults in the room though. Breakfast is pretty low scale with a toaster, some cereal and pastries. The whole place seemed clean and well run. If you are ok not having a lot of extra amenities and just need a decent place to stay at the beach this hotel should suffice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.6 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#49 of 78 in St. Augustine
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
674 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Property: Regency Inn & Suites
Address: 331 A1A Beach Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080 (Formerly the Wellesley Inn And Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Inn And Suites
Regency Saint Augustine
Regency Hotel Saint Augustine
Regency Inn & Suites St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing