We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great location and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place! Great location and nice rooms”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

I was surprised that I got this room for the price, I noticed this place last time I visited st. Augustine, it's really close to downtown, and quite at night! Yea! Close to the road but still...quite! The room looks better than the pics they have on the website, you can look at the pics here, they are more recent and accurate, it's about 3mins walk to downtown, really cool! And the breakfast is good too, better than the best western I stayed. Great place! Will consider it again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbyaisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    158
    84
    43
    37
See reviews for
122
185
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
511 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Comfortable and reasonably priced hotel centrally located right on San Marco Avenue which is the main strip in St Augustine. Since it is only a block away from the river, it is surrounded by numerous historical sites. For example, if you walk four blocks north, you'll be at the Mission Nombre de Dios and the Fountain of Youth. But if you decide to walk four blocks south instead, then you'll see the Castillo de San Marco on the river side and St George Street on your right hand side. Lastly, if you get hungry just walk across the street from the hotel and you'll be at the Le Pavillon, the best European restaurant in the city!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrEdnWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Give this hotel an "above average rating" -- 3.5 stars of 5. Less than half mile from downtown, Shops, restaurants, Flagler, Castillo de San Marcos all easy walks. At $89/ night it's reasonable. Free internet, standard free breakfast fare in nice dining area. Friendly front desk staff and very clean! Would stay here again.

$5/night added to bill for parking -

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My friend and I recently stayed here while sightseeing in St. Augustine. We were able to get 2 queen beds for $105 after tax. The young lady working the front desk was very nice and gave us a few tips on restaurants. The location of the hotel was perfect! We knocked out Anastasia Island (lighthouse, etc.) before we checked into the hotel. We checked in and walked about five minutes to downtown and St. George Street. Not many other people were walking the streets by the hotel, but it was dark and we weren't scared at all. After eating dinner downtown, we walked to the Ghosts and Gravestones Tour, which was located between the hotel and downtown. We didn't have to drive anywhere after we checked into our hotel. The room was nice. The air had to be set to 62 degrees in order for it to feel cool in the room. The beds were soft and comfortable. The shower had great pressure and the water stayed hot. The front desk clerk gave us an extra set of toiletries. Plenty of towels, plenty of space. I highly recommend this hotel if wanting a good location and comfortable, affordable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnt River
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My spouse and I stayed here for two days of sightseeing last week. The staff were very friendly at the hotel, the room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was great. Staff gave us good ideas for restaurants. Trolley tours are available just across the street. Parking was not an issue. Overall a great experience and if we ever go back to St. Augustine we will stay there again. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the pool or exercise room.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times before and after a year break, decided they were due for another chance because I do love the location. There were some positives. The renovation of the lobby brings the hotel a bit more up to date and gives the lobby a much cleaner look (great large screen TV in the lobby too) and the front desk service was excellent (a fellow that I believe was named "Brandon" and another lady later in the day named "Jasmine" were both top notch and made the stay more enjoyablel) and worth mentioning. On the negatives is that I stayed in one of my usual rooms, the non-smoking king suite, and it is definitely in need of an upgrade. Room 401 has a nail literally hammered into the carpet just outside of the bathroom and at night with bare feet, I could actually feel the nail as I stepped on it. Also, I found it unusual when I arrived at the fourth floor that housekeeping had a bunch of apparently used? towels piled up on the couch just outside the elevator and they were there for a while. It just didn't look like something you would expect to see. Positives include that the air conditioner in this room finally worked as I would hope (I had problems in this exact room on previous stays) and that the digital cable is very high quality picture. Negatives are that you have to pay for an upgrade if you want "fast" Internet (but slower is complimentary) and the hidden $5 parking charge continues. I understand the need for the lot to be regulated given how busy the area is for tourism but I believe that could be solved by putting the $5 right into the room rate and giving guests the same parking pass for their window that is already given. Still, I found that this hotel had moved back up a notch since my previous visit and I would probably stay here on my next visit to St. Augustine as the location cannot be beat if you like to go to the fort or to the nearby novelty store shopping district. Also, the two employees I dealt with at the front desk really went out of their way to give me good advice on local questions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a second floor room with a king-sized bed and the room was clean and comfortable. The location was great, just a short walk from downtown, and it included free breakfast. However, the breakfast wasn't fantastic, the walls were paper thin, and - like others - we had a bad experience with parking. Since there was no event that we know of (we were in town for a wedding), we were only charged $5 per night for parking. However, when we returned from downtown that night, there was no parking available and we were told to park in a nearby restaurant's parking lot at the risk of being towed. Overall, the hotel was nice but not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.8 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
0.3 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 42 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Downtown St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing