We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice stay.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We arrived early after checking out of our previous hotel. We received our parking pass and was told to come back after 2. Our room was clean and neat. We had a king bed and a sofa. This hotel is within walking distance of most of the Saint Augustine attractions. TV had direct TV and lots of channels. We did not eat the free breakfast, but stopped by to get a chocolate milk and they didn't have any. Pool looked small. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-travel-alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    160
    85
    43
    37
See reviews for
124
187
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for four nights last June. I am really surprised at the negative comments I am reading. Our stay was great, rooms and hotel overall was clean, breakfast was good, staff very nice. Great location, walking distance to alot of the attractions. The only negative I would say is it needs a bigger parking lot. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Avoid this place!!! We went in to check the beds and the manager complained that if we looked under the sheets that she would have to have the beds remade and she didn't want to have to do that. The night stand was sticky when we looked at the room and I mentioned this to the manager and she replied that she had no one who could clean it, we could take the room or not, it was up to us. We took the room as there were few other places for us to go that night and we went out. When we returned the night stand was still sticky, she had not sent anyone in to clean it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

I am very sorry you did not enjoy stay with us. We are making changes and we hope that you consider us for a future stay.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

St. Augustine is a great place to visit. This Comfort Suites Downtown is a place to avoid. When first entered our room I could tell right off it was a bad idea to stay here. Housekeeping must of missed this room. Our bed was not made. Found a screwdriver and some screws on the bathroom countertop. A ladies earring was laying next to the coffee pot. An open soda can was in the fridge. And one of the two mirrored glass closet doors was missing.

Imagine my surprise when I enter room 312 and find two remotes for the TV. One remote was to only turn on and off the TV. The second remote was to change channels and adjust the volume. As to the TV selections. This was DirecTV and they showed hundreds of channels. But trying channel after channel and getting a screen saying channel not subscribed. Almost three quarters of the channels on the TV listing did not work.

As to my room. I did go back downstairs to the front desk to see if I could change rooms only to be told they had a full house and ALL rooms were booked. So my choices were keep the room they gave me, which should have been listed as out of service, or sleep in my car. It was going to be below freezing this night so I made the best with this lousy room

Breakfast was a joke. It was 7:20 am and still most of the breakfast was not ready. The juice machine was off and the fridge with the boiled eggs, yogurt, butter and other dairy products was locked up. Spoke with the girl at the front desk and was told some of the staff had not arrived yet. She even had her coat and bag at the desk, just waiting for her relief to arrive so she could leave.

We have stayed at hundreds and hundreds of hotels over the past 30 plus years.
I am a Choice Privileges Member. We have stayed at many Comfort Suites hotels and will continue to stay at Comfort Suites hotels. Just not this one.

Did we enjoy this Comfort Suites Downtown hotel. How loudly can we say NO !!!

Room Tip: Parking is very limited. They charge $5 extra when you check in. When the hotel is booked, you may o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

I am very sorry you did not enjoy stay with us. We are making changes and we hope that you consider us for a future stay.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel could use a major update. The location was great, staff helpful and friendly, beds very comfy. But the shabbiness of the hotel took away from these good things. At least it wasn't too expensive!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53lynnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

No complaints with this place. It is super close to everything. 5 minute walk to St.george street. Room is comfortable. Receptionist who checked us in was incredibly sweet and professional. Breakfast is nice. This is not a 5 star, so we didn't expect perfection. But for 4 young adults on a budget, this place is perfect. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StacyJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We are choice Privleges members and this hotel is about to be the reason to cut up our card. The hotel over all is dirty. Our room was filthy. There was a pair of dirty men's underwear between the bed and night stand. The air conditioner unit was full of what appeared to be bug feces. And we were expected to breathe the air coming from it. The staff couldn't move us due to being booked. We couldn't wait to move to a sweet BnB close by. Our trip was almost ruined.

Room Tip: Go to different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are currently making changes and hope you consider giving us another try.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.5 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
#57 of 78 in St. Augustine
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 42 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full hotel renovation is now complete! Come enjoy our beautiful new rooms in our great location in the heart of downtown historic St. Augustine. Great summer rates are available. Walk to the many attractions St. Augustine offers, including Castillo de San Marcos. We're also a quick drive to Vilano Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Downtown St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing