We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but not really nice hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
“Good Location but not really nice hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

The location is good for the price , within walking distance of everything.. Free parking on site....5 minute walk to the Fort and St George Street and to the sight seeing train station.
But that all it is about this hotel.. The walls are unbelievably thin, to the point you can hear your next door neighbor, he had some "action" and unfortunately i had to listen everything, i had to walk out of the room until I considered he was done, after that he went into a deep sleep and i had to listen to him snoaring, The bed is very hard and uncomfortable.
This is my first and last time at Comfort Inn, I should have ponied up more money to stay at the Hilton.
The breakfast was as expected with the typical, was decent however im convinced that the orange juice was mixed with water.. .
The pool was extremely small, i didnt use it as it wasnt very inviting.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaniard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have made changes since 2010.
We look forward you you giving us another try.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    154
    83
    40
    32
See reviews for
114
177
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Normally I get to a hotel and have that slight let-down because the hotel pictures posted online are nicer than the rooms in real life. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Comfort Suites Downtown was actually nicer than it appeared online. Priced well and only a 5-10 minute walk from restaurants downtown, my girlfriend and I were extremely pleased with the hotel. Two run-ins handled great: -hot tub was broken - wasn't very hot, and the jets didn't work well. The gentleman at the front desk didn't know how to fix it, but when I inquired as to if we could be upgraded to a jacuzzi suite, he thought about it and switched our rooms for us (this was after we had already gone into the original room). He gave us keys to the jacuzzi suite down the hall and just had us leave the old keys in the first room. The upgrade was courteous, very well received, and didn't cost us anything. -late check out granted without question and we got a few more hours to hang out in the hotel. EXTREMELY pleased with this hotel and its staff. Thank you Comfort Suites Downtown St. Augustine!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

We stayed here for a quick trip and overnight getaway. Based on the reviews, we booked two rooms (we had family joining us). I wasn't expecting it to be as nice and as comfortable as it was! The beds were very nice, and the rooms were clean and quiet. The location was very convenient, across from the Old Town Trolley, and an easy walk to the Historic District and restaurants. There is a scooter/zip car rental shop right next to the hotel if you wish to scoot about.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wycanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

I am on my 4th day of a 4 day stay here in st Augustine. I stay at a different hotel/motel every time I come here. this is about my 10th trip. I like this motel very much, And will stay here again, in NOV. The price is good during the week, It is convenient to every thing, And I find it to be clean and comfortable. I got a room with a balcony, And I like it a lot. the balcony is small just big enough to sun on or enjoy the early morning Quiet. The only negative is the free breakfast -not good

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

This was our 7th long weekend in St Augustine. The location of this hotel was perfect for us. It is only a few blocks down from St George Street where all of the shops and restaurants are located. It is a nice little walk that most would find easy and enjoyable. If you have trouble walking, you may want to look for something right downtown. However, you will probably pay a whole lot more for the room.

The room was clean and had everything we needed. Some have complained about the AC/Heat and we did find it difficult to adjust when we did need a little heat. However, we were there during a cold week in February and most of the time did not need heat because we were getting the heat from others above and below!

The wifi worked well and was free with a code from the front desk. The breakfast was the average continental breakfast you would find in most chain hotels. I was disappointed that the breakfast was the same every morning we were there. It would be nice if they would alter the hot foods.

Check-in was smooth and early. The staff was friendly and helpful from the minute we made the reservation. We did have a problem finding a parking space one evening after dinner. However, there are a few empty parking lots that look like you could use them if you needed to.

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience. We will be staying here again on our next trip to St Augustine.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed the 30th and 31st (went to Orlando for New Years eve). Selected the hotel based on price and location after browsing tripadvisor reviews. At the $120 price level there was only this hotel and the legendary/infamous Monterey Inn. Picked the Comfort Suites because it had better reviews.

We got a suite with a king bed and a whirlpool (which is next to the bed; not in the bathroom).

What we liked best: very good location. quiet hotel. non-smoking hotel. very clean room. All carpet in the rooms and halls have been replaced and all rooms (at least the ones I looked at) had a fresh coat of paint. Free breakfast was nice for the price...Free. No charge for parking.

What we didn't like: They watered down the orange juice for breakfast on the 31st (do they really think people can't tell?!) (come on! watered down OJ in FLORIDA?!). Upon checking in we got the right keys but the wrong suite number written on the envelope. Parking in the evening could be a problem as we got the last available parking space at about 7:00 PM. None of these are big deals and shouldn't deter you from chosing this Hotel. We will stay there again.

Walked by the Monterey Inn and was very glad we didn't pick it. Parking looks horrible with parked cars almost on top of each other and the outside corridors with benches lend themselves to people just sitting down beneath your window to chat and drink all night long as mentioned by other Monterey reviewers. And the water view is not a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

The location is good for the price , within walking distance of everything..
Free parking on site....2 blocks from the Fort and St George Street...

Decent room-2 queen beds-sitting area with coffee table and desk...Nice updated modern bathroom...Having a microwave/fridge and coffee maker in the room is great..
Free continental breakfast~coffee/tea/juice--cereal--donuts--toast--waffle Iron....

If you're looking for something more plush and fancy, stay at a bed and breakfast but be prepared to pay alot more...

This place is great for location, a few convienences and the price....

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#21 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 42 San Marco Avenue, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Downtown St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing