We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location - could use some maintenance and room smelled bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great location - could use some maintenance and room smelled bad”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

the odor was not so bad that we needed to change rooms - smelled like smoker had been in it - and could use an upgrade in maintenance - but staff was nice and location is about perfect since a short walk to town, fort etc

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwbtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    161
    85
    43
    37
See reviews for
124
189
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PANAMA CITY BEACH
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

If you're traveling to St. Augustine to play around downtown, this is your place to stay. Property is nothing spectacular, but it's clean and priced well according to the season. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. This is my second stay at this location in the past 4 years...will stay here again next time around.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This hotel was pretty good; the location is excellent to walking to much of what the city has to offer, and was right across the street from a trolly stop. The pool was smaller and faced the parking lot, but we never did use it just because we were too tired by the end of each day. The fitness center was way too hot, and there wasn't any water in the water cooler in the fitness center. They had a laptop for guests use, but no paper in the printer. The fan in the restroom could wake the whole floor in my opinion!! The staff wasn't over enthusiastic, but they weren't rude either. The beds were very comfortable, but the walls are thin and if you are next to someone, you will hear them, and their TV. We got a good rate by booking with AAA - I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snshn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel was perfect for our weekend stay. Our king room was neat and clean, the staff was friendly, and the hotel is just two blocks from the city gates -- so the location was perfect for walking. The pool is quite small, and the breakfast area can be a bit crowded. It's also just a 5-7 mile drive to the beach. Many of the hotels in St. Augustine are old and not well kept, but this one was great for the value and location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlag77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I'm happy to report this hotel turned out to be a great place to stay during my recent trip to St. Augustine. It is super close to the Castillo de San Marcos and all the downtown historic sites, and even the walk to the Fountain of Youth (one of the more northernly-located attractions) was quite manageable. The room was larger than I was expecting, everything was clean, we didn't have any noise problems, and the staff was friendly. Free breakfast, free parking, and free wifi were also a plus. I thought it was a good value ($88/night for King) esp. since the location was so central. I'll certainly stay here again next time I'm in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genyi1681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

I hope this was our hotel. Unfortunately we don't offer free parking. There is a change.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

At about 11:30 Saturday night, kids entered the room next door and were excessively loud. We called the front desk and the man on duty could hear them thru the phone. He called and they stopped yelling, but we could still here them talking quite clearly along with the TV. Looking up, I could see light coming through from their room at the edge of the ceiling. Things quieted about midnight. Then, at about 6:15am, they were woken to leave and we had to deal with the noise again. Later, I checked and could clearly see gaps / cracks in the ceiling joint running the entire length of the wall(s). Pictures linked.

Other cons, were a hard bed (both had sore backs) and very small / hot swimming point with no shelter. Also, there was unpainted patches on the wall, so I guess some renovation is ongoing.

This trip was the 1 year anniversary for my girlfriend and I, so this was very disappointing. Not only did we have to deal with the noise, but felt like we had to be quiet & whisper in our own room.

We had a good room rate, friendly staff, and a good breakfast, but this experience would definitely make us question staying there again as well as other Comfort Suites. When I stay in a "Suites" hotel, I expect a better property and maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarraFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The location is good for the price , within walking distance of everything.. Free parking on site....5 minute walk to the Fort and St George Street and to the sight seeing train station.
But that all it is about this hotel.. The walls are unbelievably thin, to the point you can hear your next door neighbor, he had some "action" and unfortunately i had to listen everything, i had to walk out of the room until I considered he was done, after that he went into a deep sleep and i had to listen to him snoaring, The bed is very hard and uncomfortable.
This is my first and last time at Comfort Inn, I should have ponied up more money to stay at the Hilton.
The breakfast was as expected with the typical, was decent however im convinced that the orange juice was mixed with water.. .
The pool was extremely small, i didnt use it as it wasnt very inviting.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaniard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have made changes since 2010.
We look forward you you giving us another try.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
0.3 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 42 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full hotel renovation is now complete! Come enjoy our beautiful new rooms in our great location in the heart of downtown historic St. Augustine. Great summer rates are available, along with senior/AARP discounts. Walk to the many attractions St. Augustine offers, including Castillo de San Marcos. We're also a quick drive to Vilano Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Downtown St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing