We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Augustine FL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The location of this hotel gets a 4-star rating. Otherwise, not sure how it got a 4-star rating because the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. The hallway and rooms smell musty and the furniture is old and worn. The beds are old with padding added to give the appearance of plush, but not comfy. The carpet was so dirty it blackened my socks. We were never given clean glasses after the first day and the bathroom was not cleaned; only given clean towels and refreshed toiletries. The AC was so loud it clanked on and off all night, so no one got much sleep. The hotel claims to be wheelchair accessible, but found their equipment not working properly and with inspection certificate expired almost 3 years prior to our stay. The staff speaks politely, but management did not follow through with our reservation accessible needs even though we spoke directly/personally to management almost 5 weeks prior. Security is also nonexistent. The door to the hallway had a scanner to slide your room key for entry, but the door didn't even shut and the scanner didn't work. We were told the door would be locked at night which we found to be untrue. The deck off the room was not accessible in the accessible room. We also found the grassy area fenced in with the deck area had discarded garbage items. When we voiced our concerns about the nonworking equipment and accessibility issues, we were served with piece meal. Fix this but not that, but it all needs to work to function properly; and magically an inspection certificate appeared with a current inspection date. Also, the management with whom the arrangements were personally made with, never felt any obligation to speak with us or to apologize for their lack of follow through and consequently marred our memories of what was supposed to be a very special occasion/celebration. Even after sending a letter directly to the general manager stating all the problems/issues, they don't have the courtesy to respond. @ $249/night in an off-season, this facility is grossly overpriced and the interior needs a complete makeover. Comfort Suites or Hilton's Hampton Inn is 10 times nicer and 75% less in price! The only thing going for this facility is its location.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other rooms, but would not recommend the old, tired south wing we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler33468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmcroberts2, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

I appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. We are 100% A.D.A. compliant and strive to ensure all of our guests are taken care of. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. I apologize for our delay in getting back to you about your additional concerns. We will be in contact with you shortly. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

We recently stayed five nights at the hotel. It is an excellent location for seeing most of the historical sites of St. Augustine. A wide selection of restaurants, bars, points of interest and shopping were within easy walking distance.
The hotel room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and attentive; they helped make our stay enjoyable. Our car was parked in a secure, sheltered area right under the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

It's pleasing to know that our staff provided you with a great experience on your recent visit. Hopefully you will spread the word to your friends and family. We are celebrating our 450th anniversary of the founding of the city in 2015 and want to encourage visitors to come and enjoy the festivals and activities we have planned. We look forward to having you as a return guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

When we arrived to our room, my girlfriend found a pair of women's shoes in the corner of the room on the floor. We took them down and spoke with the Guest Service Manager, when he proceeded to state that the shoes were for the guest in room 229, not ours, 228. Upon checkout I expressed my dissatisfaction with the way he lied to us, as we had spoken to the guest in 229 (a man with no female shoes). I also stated that if the shoes were placed in the room by the hotel staff, it is highly unlikely that they would have been placed on the floor, in the corner where they would have had to be searched for. It was obvious that the cleaning staff missed them, and they were left in the room by the previous guest. The Service Manager stated that "he tries not to lie" when I confronted him about his lie at checkout. I told him that "I don't try not to lie, I just don't" and that I did not appreciate being lied to. I was in town for a wedding that weekend, and decided to stay close to the wedding, instead of free accommodations with my family a few miles away in Jacksonville, FL. The room was not clean, nor was the bathroom. The floor continuously shook for some reason, some times to the point the that toilet top would rattle loudly. The hot water was never hot, despite putting the thermostat all the way to the hot. The air filter in the vent was very dirty, and I was unsure of the last time that it was changed. When we arrived on Saturday, we did not receive turn-down service. We were out for the majority of Sunday and returned to the room around 4:30 PM to rest and prepare for our wedding, when we had to call to ask for the room to be cleaned.... That night, again, we did not receive turn-down service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Jamel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmcroberts2, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

I'm so sorry for the unfortunate experience you had at our hotel. Our team is held to very high standards of integrity and never want to be anything less than helpful. Your comments are being taken very seriously and in order better assist you, we would like the opportunity to speak with you. Please feel free to contact us at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

In the heart of downtown Old St. Augustine, between Bridge of Lions and Old Fort. Easy walking distance to the Spanish Quarter with its narrow, cobbled streets and historic Plaza. Five miunte walk to Harrys Bar & Grill, good place to eat.

Unique quaint hotel, comprised of 19 different colored Spanish colonial style buildings with cedar-shake and tile roofs and wooden balconies, set around an inner courtyard. On the former site of the Monson Motor Lodge and Restaurant. If you want a little lesson on it's history, google Monson Motor Lodge.

Clean cozy lobby and restaurant area, decorated with a Spanish motif and a beautifully fountain. Our room was on the first floor in a building facing Matanzas Day. Nice room, very clean as well as the central hallway leading to the rooms, very comfy bed. Nice friendly staff.

As Gold HHonor members, we were given coupons when we checked in for free breakfast, allowing us to order a nice hot breakfast from a menu.

Valet parking was $21.00 a day, no extra charge if you have them bring you car and re-park it again. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: With rooms in 19 different buildings, there are several options and different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

As a loyal Hilton Honors member, it is great to receive such a great review. Obviously you had the opportunity to enjoy the entire St. Augustine experience. We will be celebrating our 450th birthday of the founding of the city in 2015 which will give you the opportunity to experiience some great festivals and events. Hopefully you can visit again at that time. Please return to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Great location. Very well located in the heart of the old city. Great service. Excellent views of the water front. Food was to the Hilton expectations, service was over the top. I would highly recommend this location for it's location and value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Conrad Hilton has passed on a legacy of service and it is always our goal to provide the best service possible. I am happy we achieved our goal in your case. We are glad you enjoyed your St. Augustine experience and hope you return to help us celebrate out 450th anniversary with all it pageantry and celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The website for this hotel makes you believe that the hotel is located on the bay and that the rooms have bay views. Be cautious to note that the hotel is not on the bay but, rather, across the street, and many rooms do not have a view. Rooms are subject to availability and we were provided a room with an obstructed view (a wall of the restaurant was within 3 feet of our window where diners could see through our window into our room if the curtains were open).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This Hilton is unique, and that is to be expected considering the location. The charm and character will whisk you away to a place of peace and tranquility when you walk into the lobby. The entire hotel has a cozy feeling which is not usual to the Hilton experience; however this hotel has perfected it.

The hotel staff did an amazing job with every request, and Marcus at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the area, providing valuable information upon check-in. The room service here is absolutely wonderful, and I'd highly recommend the fruit and cheese tray. Every department works together to make this a well run establishment, and my only complaint was in having to leave too soon!

Room Tip: The rooms here are spaced apart, so each location is truly unique. We were bay front near the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7gremlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We certainly wish your stay could have been longer also. Thank you for coming and for all your kind compliments. It's always a pleasure when we have exceeded your expectations. Please return soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront

Address: 32 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £118 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine
Hilton Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hilton
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing