We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Expectations Low”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Keep Expectations Low”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

If this was a Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn, there would be no complaints. It was a clean room, good breakfast and proximate location. But throw in the Hilton brand, and the attendant increase in cost, and expectations change. There is nothing luxurious about this hotel, nor anything that makes it stand out. Essentially, in a pool of very few options, being fine takes on a different meaning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greglewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I am sorry that you felt that your stay with us was only average. Our goal is to always make every effort to see our guests leave with a since they have received the very best in service and accomodations. I apologize that we did not achieve this for your visit. I hope you will return and give us an opportunity to improve your impression of us. If you do, feel free to contact me directly to make your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    433
    134
    73
    55
See reviews for
385
898
23
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great accommodations within walking distance to most points of interest, shopping and restaurants. Clean and spacious room with complimentary bottled water, coffee, tea. Very helpful concierge, gave us good information. Good service overall. A/C in room could have been colder, but that's me - I like to sleep in a cold room. Would go back again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
I am pleased to know we were able to make your visit a memorable one. Also, I thank you for your kind comments on our staff and their service level. I take great pride in their dedication and ability and it is always good to have validation of their efforts. Please come back and visit again soon. We will look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We always book a bayfront room and they are well worth the money. I needed a leftover heated up and the wait staff took it right back and came back quickly with it, with a cloth napkin, fork and knife. This room is half the vacation when we go to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Being able to settle in to the St. Augustine experience is the greatest advantage we have as a hotel. That is what we are all about and your great review lets us know we have been able to make a memory for a great guest. Please return and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great location, close to everything. Room was nice enough in quaint buildings. When booking, make sure to remember all street parking is pay by pay meters and the hotel has valet parking that costs $21 a day. Why this is not complimentary, I don't know. $21 a day is just crazy for their own private under ground garage. On top of it, they offer breakfast... for $16 per person. This is only for your typical eggs, pancakes, coffee, etc. I am very disappointed that for the amount we paid to stay in the hotel, there were all these extra costs. What would have been a $400 booking cost, ended up being close to $550 because of these unexpected costs that truly weren't worth it. Will stay at an Inn or B&B next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGM-USTHD, General Manager at Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I apologize you were offended by the charge for parking. In the historic district, parking is at a premium, hence the meters and special parking garage. This is a necessary charge to recoupe the additional investment in an undergroung garage. We offer an extensive breakfast buffet including cooked to order omelet station, all included in the cost of your breakfast charge. Additionally you can order ala carte from the menu if you are a light eater. I am sorry you weren't aware of this option and I will see that we make sure our morning servers make this option clear to our guests. I was pleased to see you gave us a good rating on our service. Please return and visit again. I will see that you can have any option you wish for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Hotel, is in a great location & well worth choosing if you want to visit this lovely old port - the oldest in USA. Rooms & staff were to a good standard - the only irritant being that the valet parking is per day (12am to 12am) so if you are there for nights you pay for 3 days parking.
I guess that have to make their money someway.

Room Tip: stay in a room directly across from the river - in the very front row of rooms - you get your own ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volusia County FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel location is the best ! The staff from the time you pull up to the time you check out were accommodating, very helpful and very professional. Ashley and Roberto were very helpful in all aspects. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, IL, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a different type of Hilton where there are individual buildings. It is so quaint and the rooms with balconeys overlooking the bay are worth the extra $. Pay for the breakfast up front for a Bed and Breakfast feel at a great deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront

Property: Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Address: 32 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine
Hilton Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hilton
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing