We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in the heart of the historic area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in the heart of the historic area”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My wife and I took a short getaway vacation to visit the historic city of Saint Augustine, Florida. We selected this hotel based on its location in the historic area, previous reviews, and overall value. The hotel consists of numerous small buildings and was designed to blend in with the surrounding historic area. The designers did an excellent job.

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, and our overall experience was very good. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_From_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    447
    137
    75
    56
See reviews for
416
924
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

In Jan 2009 my newly married wife and I where checking out of the Hilton Hotel in Downtown St. Augustine. We had called the front desk to have an attendant help us with our items. One of those items was my wife's wedding dress. We had packed our bags and all our items near the front door of the hotel room. We did not assist the attendant in loading the cart as we didn’t want to interfere. The wedding dress was hanging, on a hanger, from the clothing hook on the luggage cart. The Bell Boy left before my wife could return to the room with the dress bag. The attendant took the cart where are cars were parked, which at the moment was in an onsite underground parking structure that the hotel provides. As the attendant was pushing the cart to the cars the bottom portion of the wedding dress had began to roll into the wheel structure of the cart. It did not stop tangling into the wheel structure until the dress had wrapped tightly enough to stop the wheel therefore making the cart impossible to push. It was at this point that I had notice the issue the attendant was having with the cart. The attendant tried to remove the dress from the wheel structure by grabbing a potion of the dress, making a fist and violently tearing the dress. At this point I realized what was happening and stopped the attendant from causing more damage. I had him remove the luggage from the cart as my father-in-law held the dress. I then un-wheeled the fabric out of the cart, stopping any future damage to the dress. After the dress was untangled from the cart the attendant rolled the damaged potion of the dress into a ball and stuffed underneath the remaining portion of the dress in an attempt to hide the damage. At this point we had brought the incident to the attention to the manager on duty. The manager wrote up a first incident report which lacked several details about the event. We requested a second report indicating in more detail regarding the event and the damages. Pictures where taken of the dress and we where informed that a manger would be contacting us regarding repairing the dress.

The Hotel offered a refund for the stay, $217 as a suitable offer for the damages...TO MY WIFE WEDDING DRESS. There claim is that since THEIR insurance won't cover it, they are not responsible for covering the cost of the damages.

They also asked my wife to leave the other room we booked because they double booked that room by mistake...as she was getting ready for the wedding. They forced her to leave.

If not for my wife's planning, this hotel would have ruined our wedding day along with her wedding dress.

To this day the issue is still not resolved

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank saayers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

The many rave reviews of this hotel is what prompted us to stay here to celebrate our anniversary. However, I can say we were extremely disappointed with this hotel's staff and the room that we stayed in.

At arrival, we found the hotel staff to be very disorganized. We arrived only a few minutes before four and were told our room was still unavailable. There were several unhappy guests waiting at the front which was distracting to the romantic ambiance of the hotel. There was no clear place to park a larger vehicle and no valet staff available at the time. We had to leave our luggage in our vehicle until the room was ready. Once we were able to go to our room, I found the room to be quite old, the bathroom was somewhat unclean, and the room contained marked up walls and damaged furniture. I can understand some wear and tear in hotels, but I also expect them to be maintained which this room clearly was not. We paid more for a view of the bay which was blocked by a parked RV. There were no other available rooms for us to change to so that we could try and enjoy the view that we paid for.

We tried to use the concierge to book a tour for us and recommend an upscale restaurant to celebrate our special occasion. The tour booked was not the tour we requested, and the restaurant recommendation was a burger place.

Upon checkout, we encountered incompetent staff. We had a quick question about the bill and the breakfast we had sat for at the hotel the morning of checkout. The receptionist clearly did not understand the question, proceeded to hand us the bill, and told us to call if we had further questions about chargers made after checkout.

While the location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic, we would choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeeKeex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We couldn't have picked a better location for walking around and seeing the sites. The hotel itself is a beautiful building, and the rooms were large and very clean. Try to get a room on the second floor, so you can see the street view below. Though it's in the middle of everything, we were surprised that it wasn't noisy at all. The hotel's restaurant, Aviles, was excellent for both dinner and the breakfast buffet. Typical Hilton cost, but breakfast was especially worth it.

The only small negative I could think of was that housekeeping doesn't really clean the room during your stay. Not that big of a deal, as the room was really clean upon arrival. But we did notice that the bed was remade on top of whatever was there (i.e. - the tv remote and my husband's socks).

Also, be prepared for the $18/ per night parking charge.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpp_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We had 4 families drive from all over Florida to meet here for two days to have our family Christmas. From the beginning the staff was very helpful and friendly. Out of the 3 rooms we had reserved only one was ready but this was at 2:30. The town was packed and we are certain all of our rooms were previously filled that morning. And as we have seen with so many other hotels, they are not staffing sufficiently and there is only 1 or two people handling 20 or more rooms. Our 2nd two rooms were not ready until well past the check in time, but in our case we hardly noticed since we were all in my room having fun catching up with one another as each new car arrived. The folks that park the cars are great to talk to and really work to be helpful. The rooms were very clean, but I should mention that they are worn. I did have a roach in my tub, doors knicked up pretty good, the toilet paper holder was broken, and the wall paper is coming off here and there, but none of this got in our way and was not disturbing. The beds were very comfy. We checked for bed bugs, which is apparently something we should all do in every place, and every room was clean. The location is fantastic and the price we paid was exceptional ($140). We di dnot have the experience of late room cleanings after our day of arrival and found overly attentive people who offered us turn down chocolates, waters and whatever we needed. We had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpape_titusville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando,FL
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I am a frequent visitor to St. Augustine but had never stayed at the Hitlon (usually stay at the beach). Me and my 2 daughters (ages 11 and 15) came in to stay Christmas night and the next day. Check in was quick and very courteous (mandatory valet parking at $18 a day, price you pay for the location, I guess. We didn't need to use the car either day) and we had a bayfront room with a balcony. If your looking for an upscale hotel in downtown St. Augustine, I can't imagine doing any better than this. All staff, from the front desk to the housekeeping, were very courteous and efficient. Watched the horse drawn carriages depart from across the street and listened to them clop by our window, against a backdrop of beautifully lit palm trees and sailboats along the bayfront. We needed a getaway this year and the Hilton delivered.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2009

This place is in the best location. On one side of the hotel is the water or bayfront as they call it. The other side of the hotel is the historic shops and stuff. Does not look like a hotel though. Be ready for the parking fees - but the convienfence is well worth it. We were there during the Christmas time and the area was all lit up with lights and it looked great. Lots of places to go and things to do. We had a fun time. We used the train to get around. It cost about $20 dollars per person but it was good for the two days we were there and they let you get off when you want and then you just get back on the next train when it comes by. Great way too see the historic sites.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell1you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 78 in St. Augustine
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront

Property: Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Address: 32 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine
Hilton Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hilton
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing