We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I went to St. Augustine so we can see the Nite of Lights and we usually stay in a Bed and Breakfast when we visit St. Augustine, but this time we decided on the Best Western Spanish Quarter. In the Historic District, all of the properties are probably around 50 years old and have had renovations more than once. Although our rooms were not large, they were adequate for us. The bedding was new, and everything was clean. The staff were very accommodating and I will not hesitate to stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgfernan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
What a great review! Thank you for coming and for telling us about your stay! You're correct: Many of the St. Augustine hotels are older properties. Some have been remodeled, others have not.
We have done a lot of work on our little hotel and are continuing that effort this spring. Most of the hotel has been remodeled. In the last year, we have given the walls new texture and paint, we've replaced the carpet, furniture, mattresses, TVs and linens. The guest room doors have been given a paint scheme that makes them look like old fashioned wood doors!
We certainly hope to have you come back again and we'll not hesitate to give you a great stay!
By the way, we love your profile pic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    293
    125
    46
    28
See reviews for
214
318
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Way over-priced for small room and tiny bathroom. Breakfast area is tiny with only 4 tables. Small selection of breakfast foods. Toted as being recently remodeled but bathroom had old cracked tile and peeling wallpaper. Adequate housekeeping for busy season not provided so we had no room service for the 2 nights and full day we stayed there - had to ask for clean towels. I love Best Western and always stay at their hotels wherever I go - but this was an unpleasant experience and will not stay there again if ever I am in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us and letting us know about your stay. We try to provide the best service available and learn from every guest's response.
If you're referring to housekeeping as room service, then I apologize we weren't able to get your rooms cleaned as early as you would like. Our staff is generally cleaning rooms after 2:30, which is typical for most hotels.
As far as the value, we do have higher rates during peak demand. There are other hotels similar to ours that charged similar rates or higher.
We hope that you will come back and give us another try. We do our best with our 50 year old building and have done a lot of remodeling. We have more to come, but we are much better than we were!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Spent Christmas enjoying the Old City in St. Augustine, and this location was ideal. Right next to the Visitor Center and the trolley tours, and most of the sights to see are within walking distance. The room was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was very good. The restaurant right next door - Barnicle Bill's where the locals go, is very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for coming and letting us know about your stay!
You are correct. We are right next to all the downtown sights. Almost everything is in walking distance from our front door. The Ripley's Red Train and Old Town Trolley pickup directly across from us at the city's parking garage and they are great ways to get around and enjoy the rest of the area and provide a narrated historical perspective on the old town.
We look forward to hearing from you again soon with a repeat visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our first trip to this area. We live in Tampa FL. We went to see saint Augustine during Dec 24 to 27 2013.

The hotel has been remodeled. You still have the basic smaller room lay out with a narrow path between the foot of the beds and the dresser. We had two queen beds.I think this size room should have only one bed so that you have an open area to stand. There are only two of us and we had to wait for one another to get by this sma ll path way. The room was clean , the maid service great, the front desk staff were super nice and helpfull with everything. We used our car for storage of empty suitcases ect.

Room Tip: Its best to be on the first floor. We were in room 101 near the desk. the only problem we had is tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaResidentTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you took the time to tell us about your stay!
We agree the rooms are small. Unfortunately, they're all about the same size. A room with a King size bed does feel more accommodating and spacious and the rooms with two queens do feel a bit snug. But, we've done a lot to try to make them better than they were before and we're glad you recognized it!
Come back again soon and see what else we do for the remodel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great location, very clean hotel! Very accommodating and friendly staff. Decent breakfast that holds you over for lunch. The rooms are a little bit tight for a family of 4, other than that loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mildrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself!
Although the rooms are smaller than more modern hotels, we do the best we can with what we have!
Sounds like you had a good time and we appreciate you telling us how we did! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My family stayed at the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn during the holidays and the original reason I booked it was due to its amazing location. It also has 2 queen beds as opposed to some of the other local hotels with 2 double beds. When we arrived to check in, the service we received was quite simply excellent. I rarely stay in a 2 star hotel, but the service was on par with any 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms were recently completely renovated and even though they say they are small, they really aren't. The location is the best in St Augustine, directly across the street from Ripley's and 2 blocks from the fort. The breakfast on the weekends is great, biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, and waffles. They offer free to the room delivery of all continental breakfast items. Really a nice touch.

The only negative I have about this hotel is the bathroom. The shower's water pressure was so bad that my wife and kids tried to fill up cups in the shower in order to rinse the soap off, but it even took a really long time to fill up a small plastic cup. I don't mind the size of the bathroom even though it is small, but the shower experience was literally the worst I have ever had.

If you are visiting St. Augustine and location is the most important thing for you, then I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The bottom floor gives you easy access in and out quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moondogge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Great to hear from you! We love your review and telling us about your stay! It was such helpful feedback!
We do offer an upgraded breakfast on weekends and on holidays. The complimentary room service is a great option when breakfast gets crowded.
We are nearly complete with our overall renovation. The bathrooms is the last step. When you come back, we expect that everything will be done! And we hope that your next review for us will be a five out five!
Have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Perfect location. Very clean, well equipped rooms, with good size fridge and microwave, and friendly staff. Very adequate breakfast. More cooked grub on weekends-we had nice omelets. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Hotel is situated right across the road from the little train,and easy walking distance to the sights.We heard no noise at night, and the hotel was easy to find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Coralie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate hearing from our guests! You are correct on all counts. We try to make everyone's stay as best possible. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, breakfast is included and is also available as complimentary room service!
You were here on a weekend stay, and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our upgraded weekend breakfast!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing