We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“history tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

good location, walking distance to historic sites. near the main drag on the trolly line if you don't care to walk. quiet, clean, rooms, a bit small, taken up by the 2 queen beds. breakfsat could be improved with fresh and hot items.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank alfredb102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for coming and staying with us! We love hearing from our guests and welcome all feedback.
We certainly are close enough to walk to everything in the heart of the old city. The trolleys stop right across the street from us so you can enjoy a narrated ride around.
Regarding breakfast, we offer the Best Western standards during the week, but on the weekends we provide a full hot breakfast with cheese omelets, sausage patties and biscuits and gravy!
Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is located right in the middle of the historic district. You can walk down to the old store, old jail and fountain of youth or you can walk the opposite way and go to the fort and the historic downtown shopping district, gates, old house, etc.

The beds are so comfortable as well as the pillows. The shower is great. Lots of water pressure. The towels could be fluffier.

You also get a fridge and a microwave and flat screen tv.

The only downside to this hotel is the price. It is a little more expensive than Best Westerns but we are glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: If you don't like hearing rolling suitcases above you than request a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinmama13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We're so glad you chose us for your stay in St. Augustine! And we're happier to hear how much you enjoyed it!
We are so close to all that St. Augustine has to offer that most guests walk from the hotel and don't move their vehicles once they arrive!
We give a better value for similar rates. Breakfast is included and on the weekends, we include hot items! Sausage patties, biscuits and gravy! And we have complimentary room service for the continental breakfast seven days a week!
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Motel is close to historic St. George Street, Castillo de San Marcos fort, northern city gate, Matanzas Bay, and Old Town Trolley stop. It is short drive to Fountain of Youth and Mission in Name of God. Rooms are clean and quiet. Complimentary breakfast a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks for coming and staying with us and telling us about your stay!
You are correct! We are centrally located without being overpriced. There are other downtown hotels that are in the center of it all that have a higher price and offer similar amenities. We're only two blocks from them but charge less and give you free breakfast! Plus it's available as complimentary room service? Why not take the free offer and avoid the crowd?
We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I went to St. Augustine so we can see the Nite of Lights and we usually stay in a Bed and Breakfast when we visit St. Augustine, but this time we decided on the Best Western Spanish Quarter. In the Historic District, all of the properties are probably around 50 years old and have had renovations more than once. Although our rooms were not large, they were adequate for us. The bedding was new, and everything was clean. The staff were very accommodating and I will not hesitate to stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgfernan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

What a great review! Thank you for coming and for telling us about your stay! You're correct: Many of the St. Augustine hotels are older properties. Some have been remodeled, others have not.
We have done a lot of work on our little hotel and are continuing that effort this spring. Most of the hotel has been remodeled. In the last year, we have given the walls new texture and paint, we've replaced the carpet, furniture, mattresses, TVs and linens. The guest room doors have been given a paint scheme that makes them look like old fashioned wood doors!
We certainly hope to have you come back again and we'll not hesitate to give you a great stay!
By the way, we love your profile pic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Way over-priced for small room and tiny bathroom. Breakfast area is tiny with only 4 tables. Small selection of breakfast foods. Toted as being recently remodeled but bathroom had old cracked tile and peeling wallpaper. Adequate housekeeping for busy season not provided so we had no room service for the 2 nights and full day we stayed there - had to ask for clean towels. I love Best Western and always stay at their hotels wherever I go - but this was an unpleasant experience and will not stay there again if ever I am in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us and letting us know about your stay. We try to provide the best service available and learn from every guest's response.
If you're referring to housekeeping as room service, then I apologize we weren't able to get your rooms cleaned as early as you would like. Our staff is generally cleaning rooms after 2:30, which is typical for most hotels.
As far as the value, we do have higher rates during peak demand. There are other hotels similar to ours that charged similar rates or higher.
We hope that you will come back and give us another try. We do our best with our 50 year old building and have done a lot of remodeling. We have more to come, but we are much better than we were!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Spent Christmas enjoying the Old City in St. Augustine, and this location was ideal. Right next to the Visitor Center and the trolley tours, and most of the sights to see are within walking distance. The room was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was very good. The restaurant right next door - Barnicle Bill's where the locals go, is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for coming and letting us know about your stay!
You are correct. We are right next to all the downtown sights. Almost everything is in walking distance from our front door. The Ripley's Red Train and Old Town Trolley pickup directly across from us at the city's parking garage and they are great ways to get around and enjoy the rest of the area and provide a narrated historical perspective on the old town.
We look forward to hearing from you again soon with a repeat visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our first trip to this area. We live in Tampa FL. We went to see saint Augustine during Dec 24 to 27 2013.

The hotel has been remodeled. You still have the basic smaller room lay out with a narrow path between the foot of the beds and the dresser. We had two queen beds.I think this size room should have only one bed so that you have an open area to stand. There are only two of us and we had to wait for one another to get by this sma ll path way. The room was clean , the maid service great, the front desk staff were super nice and helpfull with everything. We used our car for storage of empty suitcases ect.

Room Tip: Its best to be on the first floor. We were in room 101 near the desk. the only problem we had is tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaResidentTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for the review! We're glad you took the time to tell us about your stay!
We agree the rooms are small. Unfortunately, they're all about the same size. A room with a King size bed does feel more accommodating and spacious and the rooms with two queens do feel a bit snug. But, we've done a lot to try to make them better than they were before and we're glad you recognized it!
Come back again soon and see what else we do for the remodel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Co...
#58 of 78 in St. Augustine
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 78 in St. Augustine
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn

Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £89 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing