We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The price you pay for this hotel isn't worth it. The rooms are mediocre and the bathrooms are too small for a family. Changing while getting out of the shower was a task. Sooo small. The beds were kind of hard but it was decent. We didn't have a refrigerator and the room seemed run down. The WIFI was a joke; it hardly worked. The pool was nasty every time we got in. My husband had to skim the bugs out of the pool and another guest did it the second day. The only good thing was its location. It's about 1/2 a block from Ripley's and about two blocks from St George St. Great location just not a great hotel for the price. You have to pay to park as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit with us. My staff and I strive to make each guest experience a great one, not a "just o.k." one. I would like to invite you back again and give us another chance to provide you with a superior customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The breakfast was good and staff very friendly. Location was right on the edge of many places we wanted to visit. Would stay there again. I have recommended this hotel to my daughter who is traveling to St. Augustine later this year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Denyse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for taking time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our expanded continental breakfast. It's great fuel at the beginning of the day for a full day of St. Augustine sightseeing. Thank you for your recommendation to your daughter. I hope she enjoys her visit to St. Augustine as much as you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for the Weezer concert. Great location, great staff. Internet signal was a bit weak, but no big deal since we spent the day shopping and taking in the many sights St. Augustine has to offer. You get a discount at Sakura (sushi restaurant) with your key card form Best Western, use it you will not be disappointed. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Hope you had a great time at the show. I talked to a few guests that said it was awesome. I hope you get to visit us again real soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel was great and the staff were really nice. Great location and nice clear room. The only issue we had are the toilets are tiny even for a short person like me. Other then that the hotel was perfect for our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank YINYANGJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words!!! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed a nice clean room with friendly service. Please come back soon for another visit to our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you're familiar with St. Augustine then you know what the parking can be like (awful!). This hotel is within walking distance of most of the old town, the fort, the tours, etc. The only problems we had were with the shower curtain (wouldn't stay closed - water all over the floor - and the parking. If you're retired come and stay, but make it during the week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Algis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to apologize for the issue with the shower curtain. I hope your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel location was excellent for touring old town St. Augustine, FL. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was limited and a fee was charged. The Pool is located next to the dumpster where birds were hanging about. Birds feathers were in the pool so I felt uncomfortable swimming in it. Room was too small for amount of furniture in it. Bathroom title and wall area was in disrepair.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our property. I am glad you found our location(across from Ripley's) to be excellent. We think so too!!! I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the old city.

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Prior to making my final selection to stay in St Augustine I did some research and settled on the Best Western for 2 reasons:

1. It had the best review/rate combination
2. The worst reviews come from people expecting too much or from circumstances beyond the hotel's control

Realize that this is a tourist hotel and not a luxury resort and go from there, but the staff do their best with what they are provided.

I requested a room with a pool view based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor, but came to the conclusion upon my arrival that it doesn't matter what side your room is on as long as you park on the pool side. Sherri at the front desk was absolutely phenomenal and was able to accommodate my request. She was enthusiastic and knowledgeable of the surrounding areas and attractions. I placed a small special request at the time of booking and was thoroughly surprised as they exceeded my expectations. (Thank you!)

The room was clean and up-to-date The bathroom is small, but adequate - as an older property I didn't expect a modern sized bathroom. Perhaps the only suggestion I would have is that during the next renovation is to merge the sink area with the bathroom to make it slightly less claustrophobic.

The breakfast area is relatively small, but it seemed relatively quiet in the mornings. During the busy season I would definitely recommend requesting the option room service since I can see how it would be cramped.

The location is most convenient to the fort and Ripley's, but well within a 15 minute walk of the other end of the historic district and Flagler College.

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor, side doesn't matter. Park pool side. Hotel is located past the corner, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I would also like to thank you for your special request. We strive to honor all guest requests when possible, and if there is a reason we cannot fulfill a request, we try to contact the guest prior to arrival.

Thank you for mentioning Sheri. She is a very valuable member of our team. Sheri loves people, and wants everybody that stays with us to enjoy the full St. Augustine experience. Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Sincerely,

Bob Kenyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn

Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £70 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing