We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”
Review of Centro

Centro
Ranked #217 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice atmosphere and bar. However, be prepared to spend $$$$...drinks are very overpriced.
Ordered a vodka and water for $12.00. It was a name brand vodka (but not made of gold). I have never spent $12 on a drink like that!! What are they thinking. Save your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tenny714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    49
    32
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenback, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Although, there were only two other couples in the place, it still took over 40 minutes to be waited on. The staff would come near and just look at us then go joke with each other as if there wasn't a care in the world. the so called grouper dinners were terrible and I doubt it was grouper. All the wine was WAY over priced. I can't see this place remaining in business for long!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice bar but restaurant gets mixed reviews”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Centro was eagerly awaited and has been open a few months now - but continues to get mixed reviews. It's almost as if they have two different staffs/two different chefs! The menu offers a nice selection of tapas and entrees. Our party of four started with two shared tapas: a mozzarella and eggplant tower and a tortilla de patata. Both were tasty but nothing special. The night's special was a NY strip - which was good but slightly overcooked; the filet mignon looked nothing like a filet mignon and was overcooked; on the other hand, the lamb shank and the blue fin tuna were excellent. So two out of two. The wine by the glass is very pricey - and pretty ordinary for those prices. So, mixed review - half very good, half not so good. Our waiter Giorgio was very good. The piano bar looked fun and was more lively; piano man was entertaining, albeit a tad loud for a small restaurant. We were so hoping for one more fine dining option in St. Augustine, but alas Centro - unless it improves - is not it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grand Experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We met Chris outside of Centro, when he shared with us the drink specials and nightly meal specials. He was so friendly and helpful, we felt that we needed to come back, even though we already had dinner plans for the night. We returned the following night and found the beers reasonably priced, the live piano music great (Beatles greatest hits, anyone?) and service by Nivone great! Chris even came by and checked on us, recognizing us from the night before. When my husband accidentally spilled his beer, the staff rushed to clean it up and replaced it for free. Everyone was friendly, from the hostess to the entire wait staff to the the musician. Check this restaurant out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLCP126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will not be a repeat visit!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We live in St. Augustine and frequent many of the restaurants. We tried this new restaurant on the premises of the old wax museum. The quality of the food ingredients was poor at best, the dishes were not presented in an order that one expects from a restaurant trying to be more upscale than others in town. Our entree was served before our salad with a crab cake because that was ready first. The skirt steak had a terrible taste and when the crab cake on the salad was served it was clear that it was a frozen item and not fresh with a mushy consistency. We thought maybe desert would provide something good but that failed the freshness test as well serving a frozen boxed chocolate piece of cake with can sprayed whipped cream not fresh cream as stated on the menu. There are many better restaurants in town at this price level so this is not worth a second trip eventhough at first site the bar area looks inviting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centro also viewed

 

Been to Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing