We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth of Being Expected”
Review of The Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cozy Inn
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Night was our arrival expectation, so darkness surrounded all. The difference was the lamp was on in the window of our plain old fashioned motel type room, with curtains open just enough to show the warmth of somewhere inviting to end our four hours drive. Just a straight row of ground level numbered doorways with angled individual parking right in front of each door, nothing fancy, just bright and clean, exuding safety and care! Just a short turn into the driveway and two steps onto the office porch and personally addressed by name instructions, our keys and entrance just as we had been previously informed. No fuss, but,. oh so comfortingly simple and secure.

The setting was like a Christmas card and this was July. The kind of cookie cutter, fresh row of cottages or bungaloes that make you think of the little frame homes placed on a model railroad table or the clean, plain Monopoly homes placed on a board, yet when you closed your door and drew your curtains, you were where you wanted to be - accessible to all the downtown draws, walking paths and nearness to restaurants while just a turn off a travelled street, well lit, Etc.

Best of all, with more variety of rooms and settings, both within this surrounded complex and across the street in their more bed and breakfast type accommodations, the PRICE WAS RIGHT...less than most other hotsy-totsy, big named hotels and motels.

Hands on owner occupied management and the most pleasant staff made our next visit's choice of stay in Saint Augustine just as warm and easy as was the next morning's smile and greeting of the maintenance man staff looking person who inquired just how we were; we adored the place, Etc.; we said we loved the Cozy Inn as we continued over to the Denny's nearby for breakfast. He was the owner. See you again, friend, next time we are in town!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I am so grateful to have met you. I am equally as grateful to you for writing this wonderful review. I think I have enjoyed your writing and your style of sharing information more than I have in many a book I have read. You tell the story of our Cozy Inn in such a wonderful and inviting way. We do try so hard to make sure our guests are happy and safe and comfortable - and you appreciated all of the little things we do. You noticed everything. I must thank you, sincerely, for your thoughts and words and I so very much look forward to your return! See you again my friend! And Always....Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Cozy Inn on a weekend trip to St. Augustine. The property is easy to find on the main road, somewhat north of the congested downtown area; a short 5-10 minute drive to most of the attractions, restaurants and shops. The Inn itself does not offer dining or other amenities but the rooms are first rate.

My queen room (#12) was small but nicely decorated and immaculate. The bed was super comfortable with 4 large pillows and a firm mattress which did not sag or squeak. All the bedding and carpet looked and smelled new. There was a small dinette table with 2 chairs. I had to squeeze past it to get to the alcove closet. Fortunately I was only staying one night and not planning to use the dresser which was so close to the bed that it would have been difficult to open the drawers. The A/C unit was efficient and quiet. The bathroom was all tiled in white with a roomy shower, ample supplies of clean towels, soap and shampoo. The shower floor was composed of smaller tiles which gave good traction. I would have liked to see a small ledge to hold personal items and a grab bar for safety. All it had was a soap dish. The room also had a microwave, mini fridge stocked with ice cubes and a coffee maker. A lovely experience from check in to check out. Parking is tight though each room has its own numbered parking spot.

My friend's "room" turned out to be a suite (#34 Magnolia) complete with a full kitchen, spacious living room with a comfy sofa, lovely chrome and glass coffee table and flat screen TV. It prompts you to say "Wow!" as you walk through the front door. The bedroom had a king size bed, armoir with TV and chest of drawers. As in my room all the bedding and carpet looked and smelled new. The spacious clean bathroom had a larger shower and more space for personal items. The bedroom also had a walk in closet. We would definitely choose the the Cozy Inn again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the suite or town home if your party has more than 1 person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive comments about both a standard room and one of our larger suites! It was great having you stay with us! We are so pleased that you found our location good and our rooms clean and comfortable. We only wish you could have stayed longer. We are thrilled that you will chose us again and recommend us to others! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts - we take these reviews and comments very seriously and appreciate the time it took to write this review! We hope to see you soon - meanwhile - Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we where looking for a place to stay to celebrate my birthday this was top of the list on trip advisor we did intend to push the boat out a bit but decided not to ignore the trip advisor community so we booked 2 nights. During check in a gentleman entered the place and asked where we where from (northern english accent gets them every time) and had we been to St Augustine before, we had but a long time ago explained the birthday and the we where off to the room. It wasn't large but more than adequate bed TV small fridge and a microwave the best thing was it was spotless cleanest place I have seen for a long time. When we came back from the beach they had left a card and a bottle of the local winery's best red. That was just a great gesture one I wont forget. They have rooms over the road which I think are for people staying longer and want an efficiency type place. We will stay again when we next go to St Augustine

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank columbiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for choosing The Cozy Inn - especially as a place to stay to celebrate your Birthday! We appreciate your letting us know too - so we can help celebrate in some small way! We also appreciate your taking the time to write such positive thoughts. We are happy that you met with such open friendliness - we pride ourselves on being clean and comfortable and on our desire to help our guests enjoy their stay and see all the sights! Saying that you will come back to us again is the best comment we could hear - please come back soon - and we wish you Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were concerned as we arrived early, Christina advised us that our room and townhouse wereready, and that we could go directly to them. It not only smelled clean but it was spotless! The other members of our family stayed in the townhouse as they had 2 dogs. The townhouse was just as clean, had pots,pans, and dishes and was beautifully decorated. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. The location was perfect, especially for this weekend, whereby their were so many tourist. We were able to leave our cars and walk downtown. St. Augustine is our favorite getaway, and now we found our favorite hotel. We will be back with or without the dogs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Savekwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you sincerely for spending your Fourth of July Weekend with us! We love celebrations and I hope you noticed our decorations :) We are thrilled that Christina and our Staff were able to get you to your rooms early and that you found them spotless! We really like it when our rooms are described that way - it really gives us all a boost! We are so happy you found us to be your perfect getaway - so now you have to come back ....soon! Thank you again - Take Care and.....
Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Cozy Inn in June 2014 stictly based on their Trip Advisor ratings. Our family of four stayed in one of the suites (can't remember the name, but I think it was unit 31). The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a full kitchen which was fully stocked (pans, plates, and all needed utensils). It was truly like a small apartment. For the price we paid for a suite at the Cozy Inn, we would have only gotten a "regular" hotel room at one of the nearby chain properties. I would definitely recommend the property and would stay their again if I ever visit St. Augustine in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so happy that you stayed with us as a family and found the suite to be all you needed and wanted! And the comment about the great value you experienced with us and shared in your review is greatly appreciated. We have to be different than the big chain motels and hotels - and we think we just might have the secret sauce ;) We so appreciate your taking the time to write - and would love to see you back soon! Always......Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are a small east coast family who did the first week of summer at Disney World. On our drive back home from Florida, we decided to stop by Saint Augustine. I'd been there many years ago and had enjoyed its charm. But this was a last-minute decision and we knew that visiting the town would require at least an overnight stay. We went on Google and when we searched for Saint Augustine accommodations, The Cozy Inn was among the first results. The reviews were good and the prices seemed right.

Our experience was very much the same. Not only were we pleasantly surprised that there was a room available at the last minute, but also when we arrived, the staff was super friendly. There was also the most adorable dog standing guard in the hotel office. The reception to our arrival was true to the hotel name: cozy.

We stayed in one of the motel units adjacent to the office, so it was easy to come back and forth to the office with all the various touristy questions we had, such as places to eat and sights to see. We arrived a little bit before check in time, and our room was still being cleaned, but the staff allowed us to drop off our luggage. We startled the cleaner, who was working on the bathroom and was sweet as pie about the drop-in.

There is a lot to see and do within walking distance but we decided to go on one of the tram tours to get the complete experience. We had a wonderful time seeing the sights but I actually spent the day looking forward to going back to our room. The Cozy Inn is that comfortable and that welcoming.

Room Tip: The motel unit we stayed in adjoining the office is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayAur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are truly happy that you found us - and that you found us true to our name - COZY! Our Staff works very hard to be sure you - our guest - are happy, comfortable and that you get all the information you need to have a wonderful time in St. Augustine. And as you noticed....our Staff includes a very cute and protective dog! Thank you for the great information you shared and for recognizing our Cozy Inn for its welcoming atmosphere and comfort. We know after a long day of sightseeing or driving it's great to have a "home away from home" to come back to. So please come back and see us soon! And thank you again for your thoughts! Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in one of the motel units (queen bed) and it was very clean. The property itself is not far from the historic district. It was a plus to have a refrigerator and microwave in the unit. The staff were very friendly, providing a hair dryer, wine glasses and a bottle opener when we asked. We spent one evening on the patio outside the office and relaxed with some wine after a day of sightseeing. They even called me to let me know I left something behind. They worked around our schedule to clean the room. There are also townhouses across the street which have king beds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

It is SO nice that you sat on the patio and enjoyed a glass of wine after a long day! We love it when our guests find the little porches, patios and decks. We are very happy that you found the room clean and to have all you needed. Thank you for commenting on our Staff - they are really great people and really do work to ensure that you are comfortable and appreciated! We hope you will return soon - and thank you again for sharing your positive comments!
Always..............Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,397 reviews
1.6 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
1.7 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.6 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Inn

Address: 202 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
The Cozy Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing