We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cozy Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our group chose to use The Cozy Inn while in town for an engagement party, and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The staff was very accommodating to our group arriving at different times. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Located about 15 minutes (by foot) from the historic district and many other attractions, the inn is very affordable and was a great experience. Our group will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgg678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your thoughts and comments in this review! We very much appreciate your choosing The Cozy Inn for your celebration weekend - we enjoyed being part of that! We all thank you for your positive comments about our Staff, our cleanliness and comfort - that's exactly what we aim for. We look forward to seeing you again - and again - Thank You and your group for choosing our Inn! Always......Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We arrived in St. Augustine after a long drive and arrived at the Cozy Inn during a rain storm. We had made reservations ahead of time and didn't know what to expect. The room was very clean, cozy (hence the name of the motel), close to the historic center, and the staff helpful. The room was very tiny, so if you're planning on spending some time in the room, go elsewhere, but if it's just a place to crash while exploring St. Augustine, this place is perfect!

Room Tip: Go for the suites that are across the street from the standard rooms. They are larger and better fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chefbobbydesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We very much appreciate your review and such positive comments about our Staff and our cleanliness! We pride ourselves with both and it sounds like this was perfect for your stay. We have our standard (small rooms) available for just as you said - the traveler who wants a clean and comfortable place to rest as they are seeing all the sights. They are great for a single or couple. Our Townhouses and Suites do accommodate the traveler who would like more space (full bedroom and living room) or who is staying for longer than a couple of days. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again! Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The place is a small family own motel and it fit our budget.. It is very clean and we received personal service. The staff is very friendly and willing to help and answer all your questions. We came to St Augustine to celebrate our anniversary and when we walk in the room the staff had a bottle of wine waiting for us and a personal note of congratulations for our anniversary. The motel is located at walking distance from the main attractions and a wonderful beach and at the same time is a quiet place to come to and rest. Their name suits them right, this is a cozy place to stay. I give them 5 stars and I do recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Solaris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

What can we say but THANK YOU! Saying we are a "Cozy" place to stay, rating us 5 Stars and stating that you recommend us is THE BEST! You have made our day! Thank you for spending your Anniversary with us! We love Celebrations and were happy to add to the festivities :)
Thank you also for your wonderful comments about our cleanliness and the helpfulness and friendliness of our Staff - they are wonderful and understand how important you are to us! Take Care - Come Back Soon and Always.....Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Cozy Inn has townhomes for those who travel with children or additional family members. They have full kitchens stocked with plates, silverware, pans, down to salt and pepper. With grocery stores around the corner this helps with saving costs from eating out. No worries the townhomes are comparably priced to the hotels within the area. Again, very nice place to stay and worth it.

Room Tip: Pending how many in your party whether a room or townhome. The townhomes with the porches are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We appreciate those high ratings in Service, Location and Rooms! We are happy you enjoyed the Townhouse. It does work for a couple with small children. We try to accommodate all types of travelers and have our standard rooms too for those who just want a clean and comfortable place to rest while seeing our city. We do all we can to keep our costs to our guests realistic and reasonable and so glad you noticed that too! We hope to see you again soon - and we wish you Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the Honeymoon Suite almost 2 weeks ago. I checked with Tripadvisor and this gem was praised above all others. What a wonderful experience we had, first with the manager, who went out of her way to help us, and then to relax in their beautiful and cozy suite after driving all day. My husband is the Vice-President of the Better Business Bureau in another state. We will definitely contact the BBB in St Augustine to sing their praises! We want everyone to feel confident when booking with this highly reputable family operated business! TOP NOTCH! Hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: I think any room here would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello there! We very much enjoyed speaking with you! Thank you so much for writing this review - we love it! We are so happy that you had such a great experience and truly felt we did all we could to help you in any way we could. Thank you for your positive comments about the BBB and about our family owned business. Reviews on Trip Advisory are so incredibly helpful to us as we compete with the larger chains. We have to try harder - and thank you for seeing that we do! We look forward to your return - and hopefully soon! Thank you again and .......
Safe and Happy Travels back to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Night was our arrival expectation, so darkness surrounded all. The difference was the lamp was on in the window of our plain old fashioned motel type room, with curtains open just enough to show the warmth of somewhere inviting to end our four hours drive. Just a straight row of ground level numbered doorways with angled individual parking right in front of each door, nothing fancy, just bright and clean, exuding safety and care! Just a short turn into the driveway and two steps onto the office porch and personally addressed by name instructions, our keys and entrance just as we had been previously informed. No fuss, but,. oh so comfortingly simple and secure.

The setting was like a Christmas card and this was July. The kind of cookie cutter, fresh row of cottages or bungaloes that make you think of the little frame homes placed on a model railroad table or the clean, plain Monopoly homes placed on a board, yet when you closed your door and drew your curtains, you were where you wanted to be - accessible to all the downtown draws, walking paths and nearness to restaurants while just a turn off a travelled street, well lit, Etc.

Best of all, with more variety of rooms and settings, both within this surrounded complex and across the street in their more bed and breakfast type accommodations, the PRICE WAS RIGHT...less than most other hotsy-totsy, big named hotels and motels.

Hands on owner occupied management and the most pleasant staff made our next visit's choice of stay in Saint Augustine just as warm and easy as was the next morning's smile and greeting of the maintenance man staff looking person who inquired just how we were; we adored the place, Etc.; we said we loved the Cozy Inn as we continued over to the Denny's nearby for breakfast. He was the owner. See you again, friend, next time we are in town!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I am so grateful to have met you. I am equally as grateful to you for writing this wonderful review. I think I have enjoyed your writing and your style of sharing information more than I have in many a book I have read. You tell the story of our Cozy Inn in such a wonderful and inviting way. We do try so hard to make sure our guests are happy and safe and comfortable - and you appreciated all of the little things we do. You noticed everything. I must thank you, sincerely, for your thoughts and words and I so very much look forward to your return! See you again my friend! And Always....Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Cozy Inn on a weekend trip to St. Augustine. The property is easy to find on the main road, somewhat north of the congested downtown area; a short 5-10 minute drive to most of the attractions, restaurants and shops. The Inn itself does not offer dining or other amenities but the rooms are first rate.

My queen room (#12) was small but nicely decorated and immaculate. The bed was super comfortable with 4 large pillows and a firm mattress which did not sag or squeak. All the bedding and carpet looked and smelled new. There was a small dinette table with 2 chairs. I had to squeeze past it to get to the alcove closet. Fortunately I was only staying one night and not planning to use the dresser which was so close to the bed that it would have been difficult to open the drawers. The A/C unit was efficient and quiet. The bathroom was all tiled in white with a roomy shower, ample supplies of clean towels, soap and shampoo. The shower floor was composed of smaller tiles which gave good traction. I would have liked to see a small ledge to hold personal items and a grab bar for safety. All it had was a soap dish. The room also had a microwave, mini fridge stocked with ice cubes and a coffee maker. A lovely experience from check in to check out. Parking is tight though each room has its own numbered parking spot.

My friend's "room" turned out to be a suite (#34 Magnolia) complete with a full kitchen, spacious living room with a comfy sofa, lovely chrome and glass coffee table and flat screen TV. It prompts you to say "Wow!" as you walk through the front door. The bedroom had a king size bed, armoir with TV and chest of drawers. As in my room all the bedding and carpet looked and smelled new. The spacious clean bathroom had a larger shower and more space for personal items. The bedroom also had a walk in closet. We would definitely choose the the Cozy Inn again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the suite or town home if your party has more than 1 person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive comments about both a standard room and one of our larger suites! It was great having you stay with us! We are so pleased that you found our location good and our rooms clean and comfortable. We only wish you could have stayed longer. We are thrilled that you will chose us again and recommend us to others! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts - we take these reviews and comments very seriously and appreciate the time it took to write this review! We hope to see you soon - meanwhile - Safe and Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#8 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
1.6 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.6 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Inn

Address: 202 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#1 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £71 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
The Cozy Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing