We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely locally owned hotel”
Review of The Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cozy Inn
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely locally owned hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We loved this hotel. It was within walking distance of the trolleys and close to the Historic District. The management was wonderful and the price was very reasonable. The only complaint I have is that the curtains were not dark enough. The room was very bright in the morning and it was hard to sleep past about 8. However, that is minor and we would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willownator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are thrilled that you loved our Cozy Inn and that you will stay here again - and that you will recommend it! Our guests are our greatest publicists - and we are so grateful for you! We are glad that you found our location to be good for you and that our Staff took such good care of you. Our Staff is amazing and we so appreciate them! They appreciate feedback - especially the wonderful kind :) We are looking into the room you stayed in. Believe it or not - we ordered new curtains over a month ago and are waiting for them - we want to make sure your room is one we planned for - so thank you for the great feedback! Thank you again - and we hope to see you soon. Safe and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    184
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
183
636
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Cozy Inn was a charm, and we are glad we found it! Stayed in standard room 17. We first pulled into a house-looking structure, which is on the opposite side of the road from the office and standard rooms. After finding the office, we were surprised to find that standard rooms --a queen size bed-- were only $77 plus tax. Much better quality for your dollar than the Days Inn ($72), Best Western ($90), or Holiday Inn ($119) nearby. Love this family owned business, please stay here and support them rather than the big chains. The worker in the office was very nice. She explained that the Cozy Inn takes great care to be cleaner than the chains; whereas a large hotel may give their housekeepers 30 minutes to clean a room, she explained that the Cozy Inn does not have a time limit per room, and that each one is checked twice. We believe it! Once we got into the room, it was impeccably clean! There was even a sani-seal on the toilet. Seemed freshly painted, and not a thing seemed old in the whole place. Flat screen TV with TONS of DirectTV channels -- well over 100. Also a mini fridge, microwave, and free wifi to boot. Only one parking space per room, which was fine for us -- apparently more parking is available on the street. Far enough away from the highway that we did not hear a thing. We met the owner in the morning, as well as her dog. Very cute.

Upon trying to find something wrong or that could possibly be improved with this lovely inn, the only thing we could think of is that each room is provided with a sampoo-conditioner, rather than two separate bottles of one shampoo and one conditioner. The person I was with had very long hair and finds the combination shampoo-conditioners to be less effective than separate toiletries. I share this thought only to show how perfect this place is -- we had to be super picky to find any room for improvement!

Tip: For the quietest rooms, pick one farther away from the road!

Room Tip: Take rooms farther from the road! We loved standard room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EvanMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cozy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
First - we are so grateful to your for taking the time to write such a wonderful, positive and detailed review. We can see from the number of reviews you have written that you are an experienced traveler and then take the time to share your comments and thoughts. We cannot tell you how much this means to us. As you are glad you found us - so are we glad that you founds us and that we met all your needs and expectations. Our Staff and Manager are the best and work to make sure you - our guest - has all they need and feel valued and appreciated. You have made us feel valued and appreciated too. Ruffus (cute dog) is also on Staff and appreciated your recognition :) We wish you the best - and please come back soon. Safe and Happy Travels - Always...........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked this hotel for a friend and me to stay at for couple of days before we had to go to a conference. I looked at the photos and the reviews and thought that it couldn't be that bad for the price It turns out that it was great. It is not in the downtown area and if you're okay with walking a couple of blocks from downtown and the restaurants then it's perfect. The rooms were very, very clean and the staff was really nice. Since it was the spring the rooms were very quiet. We did not have any problems sleeping. I do plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are thrilled that you found us and then once you stayed with us - found us to be just what you needed! We are happy that the location was good for you and that you found the rooms to be very clean and that our Staff was nice and friendly and took good care of you! We love it when our guest says they will stay with us again - what more could we want - so please plan another stay with us soon! Thank you again! Safe and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just like the reviews stated. West was small but clean, quiet, cool a/c, convenient location, and people were very nice. Price reasonable as well. It was just us two and it was perfect for our one night stay. The shower did drain very slow for some reason but that was our only complaint. They did just put in a tempur-pedic bed as well. Very soft!! Would come back!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SwimGeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cozy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - we are very happy that you found our location perfect for you, that you found us clean and comfortable and that our Staff took good care of you! It sounds like you found us to be all that you needed and we appreciate knowing that. We have actually checked the drain in your room and have done some maintenance - so thank you for letting us know. Just like our homes - maintenance is ongoing... right :) ? Thank you again for your positive and helpful comments and we very much hope to see you again soon!
Safe and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Dora, FL
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have shared reviews for quite a while - some good, some bad. Allow me to file this review by check:
Location: very near the center of things in St. Augustine - CHECK!
Parking: on-site and secure - CHECK!
Cost: very, very, very reasonable! - CHECK!
Room: perfectly cozy, like the name says, with suites and townhomes available across the street - CHECK!
Bed: brand new Tempurpedic mattress and lightly scented bedding - CHECK!
Bathroom: squeeky clean, FOUR bars of soap, two shampoos, four sets of THICK towels - CHECK!
Dust, mold, mildew, dirt, whatever: Nonexistant! - CHECK!
Staff: delightful, discreet, knowledgable - CHECK!
Perqs: quiet A/C, great references to great restaurants/bars, Direct TV - CHECK!
(Can this possibly be the PERFECT inn?) - DOUBLE CHECK!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaCheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
WOW! YIPEE! A Perfect Inn! We love it and THANK YOU So Very Much! We all love your "checks" and each of us went down the list and can see clearly where each of us have made a contribution to your satisfaction and happiness! You have made our day - and you are such a strong motivation to us to continue working as hard as we do. It's so great to feel appreciated and with over 50 reviews behind you - we feel validated in our efforts to assist our guests and make you feel valued! Thank you so much for this wonderfully written review - you have our heartfelt thanks. We hope you visit again soon!
Safe and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I am late in writing all the reviews from our trip in May. We were quite disappointed with our motel. It was a small, clean room and thats about all we can say about that. We were given minimal help in navigating the city. We chose this hotel because it was advertised as quiet (not really) and close to town. Now we are walkers and no, this is not what we call close to town. The town itself is great to walk around in, and when you have to walk for blocks and blocks down a busy street just to get to the main streets, we consider that very misleading. After reading some recent reviews I was wondering if we were talking of the same place! This is not the experience we had at all!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisadawnstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello there. We are naturally very upset about your review and your stated experience. We are very small and family owned and reviews such as this truly affect us. We have written to you to get more information and feedback - but have not yet heard from you. You have my personal email should you need it. I would very much like to apologize for your experience. As you mentioned - I also wondered if you were talking about our Inn. I have spoken with our Staff and we are at a loss as to why you weren't offered help in navigating our city. We are so clear in our desire to help - and we fell short in your case - again - our sincere apologies. Please always ask if you need something - wherever you are - and I'm sure you will be pleased with how people really want to help. I'm confused about your comment about our location being misleading. We have always been where we are - and although we are in the city - we have never advertised that we are downtown. From all of our feedback in these reviews and otherwise - some or our guests love being outside the hustle and bustle of the historic area - and enjoy a break to relax. Many love the walk to town. Others take the Trolley or Cab or Pedi cab. There are places downtown - certainly - if that is what you need - of course with different price points. Again, we are happy you found us clean and comfortable but it appears you needed something right in town. We wish you the best in your future travels and hope that you always find what you need.
Safe and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We did not want to be in the middle of town at the height of the season, found Cozy Inn on trip advisor. It was everything we read about, the hosts quickly showed us where our party was meeting for dinner and the best way to get to the fishing docks the next morning. When asked where to find a fishing equipment store, they suggested 2 and looked online to find some coupons! Wow!! Caught our limit in very large red snapper and caught B-line snappers, the boat we chartered was the "Endless Summer", highly recommend Cozy Inn and Endless Summer charter boat.

Room Tip: Room 38 had 2 beds upstairs, full kitchen, very quiet, beds were amazing, and soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at The Cozy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi there! We had a great time meeting you and were very happy to help with your fishing needs! You were so ready to meet your party and then to fish that you made us feel so excited for you! We are happy that the fishing was good and that you had a great time - and thrilled that you found your accommodations all that you expected and needed! Thank you for the strong recommendations - and we hope to see you again soon! Safe and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.7 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 78 in St. Augustine
916 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Inn

Property: The Cozy Inn
Address: 202 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#1 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
The Cozy Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing