We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative”
Review of First Colony

First Colony
Ranked #117 of 187 things to do in St. Augustine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The First Colony exhibit located in the Government House was quite interesting. There were all kinds of displays which showcased the remains from the Native Americans through the Spanish, the English, the French and the Americans. We learned what they ate, how they survived, the tools they used and what their houses looked like. I especially liked the interactive computer screen in a small recreated hut which showed a map of the area of the original settlement and had certain characters describing what their jobs were and how they led their lives. I had gone expecting a bigger display and was told it took perhaps 45 minutes to an hour to see everything, but I wasn't in there 30 minutes. However, it might vary. The gentlemen at the museum store was a long time resident of the city and was very informed and helpful, suggesting other sites to see and helping me with the map. Altogether an enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice museum ”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Over all nice museum, but I would skip it. Hit other museums that were more interesting. My kids were very board with this museum. If you are a museum buff you will enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Lyjrmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“This should be in the top 5 attractions!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Fascinating museum, very well done. Small enough to tour in less than an hour, and they did a great job of creating some hands on displays that could keep the kids interested. I rate a museum by how much I learn while there. I knew next to nothing about the Spanish colonists who built Saint Augustine, long before the Pilgrims colonized the North. In less than an hour I learned a whole lot!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Inside the re purposed old post office sits a most informative set of displays dealing with the multiple cultures that blend to be part of this oldest of US cities

Helpful?
Thank Rsnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Definite Must See!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This could have been a real disappointment but much to our amazement, it was not. This is so well preserved and presented, all families should see this and learn about this wonderful explorer. We should remain forever young after having a cup of water from the Fountain of Youth! Also, a fairly nice gift shop. Be forewarned, you might have to ask the pheasants to move out of your way before going into the shop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bokunhandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Colony also viewed

 

Been to First Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing