We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Southern Oaks Inn(St. Augustine)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn(Saint Augustine Beach)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine(St. Augustine)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic(St. Augustine)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$253
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bayfront Inn(St. Augustine)
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
1,248
109
31
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,248
109
31
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourmarie antoinetteb bking georgebed and breakfastprincess margaretprivate porchview of the bayour honeymoonjacuzzi tubfrench toastwhite roomchocolate covered strawberrieswithin walking distanceview of the watercocktail hourbridge of lions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,227 - 1,232 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We received the best service ever, the rooms were excellent equiped and just love the view, if you ever go to visit the St. Augustine area, The Bayfront Marin is the place to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barretos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review--it has made our day!!! We all look forward to seeing you again soon!. --Mike and Sandy and the BMH Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Truly incredible bed & breakfast with no complaints. Excellent & courteous staff who assisted in any need we had! Wonderful location to be just a couple blocks outside of the historic central but close enough to walk anywhere we went. Really couldn't be more thankful!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorlmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2011

We are so glad that you had a wonderful honeymoon! We look forward to seeing you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the BMH Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Have you ever been to a B&B where the manager moves her car so you can park your own vehicle in a more convenient spot? Or where the owner goes home to get a coffee pot so you can have it in your room because you are ready for your morning cup even earlier than the coffee is ready for the guests? Or when the manager admires your dog (who you think of as your child) then proceeds to offer you the available room of YOUR choice? No? Well, neither had we until we stayed at the Bayfront Marin House B&B. Our room was very clean, lovely, overlooked the water and had its own private porch. Breakfast selections and portions were abundant. The B&B is located within walking distance to town. A thumbs up from my husband and me and a paw up from Abby. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickelleSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

What a wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. And we're happy to accommodate requests--after all, we know how important vacations are and we want to make sure that all of our guests enjoy theirs! We look forward to seeing the three of you again soon!--Mike and Sandy (and the whole BMH staff)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I am 6 1/2 months pregnant. I work full time and go to school part time. My fiance and I felt like we haven't seen each other in months. So, I decided we needed to get away for the weekend. The Bayfront Marin House was the perfect choice. We stayed in the King George Room and truly felt like royalty. The staff was so welcoming, helpful, and truly made you feel special. They took care of us so well! The room was gorgeous! The bed had us sleeping like babies (even my big pregnant self!). The location was so romantic and the courtyard was something unique to the Bayfront Marin. From what we could tell, no other b&b in town could offer more than a porch. The towels and robes were so soft we wanted to take them home. And the breakfast! The food was delicious! Fresh fruit, juices, coffee and a hot homemade entree.. I could go on and on about this place, honestly, and nothing I could type here would do it justice. Just check it out for yourself! You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

We are so glad that you had a relaxing stay with us!! Thank you so much for the wonderful review...best of luck to you both with the new baby and come back and see us again soon (and make sure you bring pictures of your new little one)!! --Mike and Sandy and the Whole BMH Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Having read many of the previous reviews either we picked the wrong time to visit or we're missing something.
Location is excellent with a great view of the bay just across a small road. We saw dolphins chasing fish every morning and coming right to the harbour wall jumping out of the water, a fantastic sight. Also easy walking distance from the old town area and relatively quiet at night.
Our room was the main suite (Marie Antoinette) right at the front of the property and again great views over the bay. We agree the rooms were kept to a good standard for an old property and clean however the bed wasn't comfortable, the shower room was tiny and although there is a jacuzzi in the main room there are signs telling you not to use bath salts or bubble bath which seems to create the impression its for show rather than to use and we didn't.
This suite is advertised as having its own "private" balcony and it does have a separate door taking you out to the front facing balcony with swing and chair however this can also be accessed from the side of the property. Although there are small signs telling other guests passing the door of the suite that it is for private use of the M A suite and asking that they respect that privacy the fact is that some don't so you can as happened with us walk out onto your "private" balcony to find other guests sitting on your furniture. I would suggest a short discreet rope at least may act as a deterrent but there was no such physical barrier.
Breakfasts needed to be specifically ordered the day before (i.e. exactly what you wanted to eat and drink and what time you wanted it) and after all the hype we had read we found the food to be very ordinary. There is no doubt that sitting out on the patio area eating it was a pleasant experience and the staff serving breakfast were pleasant and helpful.
Not all staff were so helpful as the one supervising the complimentary evening drinks and snacks was less so. When my wife found the coffee pot had run out she curtly suggested my wife put the kettle on. As there was no water in the kettle my wife had to ask her again could she fill it and then on finding no coffee make a third request for the staff member to help. I also experienced this less than helpful "I shouldn't be here" attitude from this person.
Whist we enjoyed our stay in St. Augustine, we felt let down by the Bayfront Marin. We had very much been looking forward to this part of our trip not least because of the reviews of the B&B which promised so much but in the end disappointed .I believe it had changed hands between the time of reservation and booking however that was apparently a couple of months before and can't comment on the new owners as never met them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasperparklodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2011

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us! We try to give all of our guests a wonderful experience...we are sorry that we couldn't make your stay perfect. You stayed in November--and we have made many improvements to the property since that time (we bought the Inn in September, so all of the 5-star reviews you've seen since then are ours!). One of those changes is that we have screened our private porches with large plants to prevent outside entry. That makes it very cozy, and definitely private. And all of our mattresses are new--including the one in the MA. But again, we're both very sorry that your stay wasn't perfect...next time, we hope you'll ask to see one of us. Mike is at the inn every day (Sandy works off-site during the week, but is there on weekends). We just wish we could have talked to you personally to try to fix the things that disappointed you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews