We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast in a wonderful location. The staff was very friendly and helpful....happy hour offered in the evening with a wonderful sangria! Breakfast was good - although I appreciated the omelet on the second day more so than the banana pancake on the first day.....it would be nice if there was a standard 'egg' option for those trying to watch our calories. I loved the 'reserve your own time and location options' although the $20 additional fee for breakfast in bed seemed a little steep. Of course, they have such amazing landscaping breakfast outside was better!

We will definitely be back. The owner was super nice and very accommodating.....they were preparing for two weddings that weekend and it looked like it was going to be a lovely affair. There was also a small wedding, just the bride and groom, while we were there and again the staff was very helpful and accommodating.

There was some construction going on along the bay front which would have been nice to know ahead of time.

Room Tip: We splurged for the room with a "private" balcony on the second floor. Private means it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

THANK YOU so much for the nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we're glad to hear that you're planning a return trip...that is the best compliment we can get!! For your next visit--please know that you can always order scrambled eggs at any time if you'd like a different protein for your breakfast (and of course we always have fruit, cereal, and oatmeal if you'd prefer a lighter option). Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience--and we look forward to seeing you again!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just recently stayed at the Bayfront Marin House (October 1-3, 2013), and it was a wonderful experience. Our room was beautifully decorated, with a beautiful view of the bay from our own private balcony. The inn itself is pristine, clean, well maintained, and extremely centrally located (walking distance to almost everything!). We loved the cocktail hour each day (wine, sangria, and snacks)! To top off the experience, our breakfast was fantastic! The staff was accommodating and friendly, and we will certainly be back for another stay.

Room Tip: Happy Hour from 5-7 is a must at the Bayfront Marin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

THANK YOU so much for the five star review...we love to hear that we hit the mark in planning a great getaway for our guests!! We're so happy that you enjoyed everything, and we completely agree with you about our happy hour...we think it's the best in town (and of course it's free!) We very much appreciate your review, and we will see you on your next trip (we'll save a glass of sangria for you!)--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed 5 days in this B&B and had a brilliant time. The Inn itself is in a great position for walking to all the tourist attractions. We stayed in the Forrester Suite and it was perfect, a very comfy bed, large bathroom with whirlpool bath & tropical shower. It has great views of the bay from the 1st floor decking and porch swings. Every day there is a delicious home made breakfast available and from 5pm - 7pm there is a happy hour (well 2 hours) with home made nibbles and wine and beer and cocktails. There is free parking available which is a great bonus. The staff are brilliant ( and I mean ALL the staff) This inn is definitely a great place to stay for anyone visiting St Augustine.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor decking have great views and don't miss the happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calimerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

THANK YOU so much for the five star review--we love to see all those stars!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay....and we're particularly happy that you mentioned that *all* of our staff are top notch--we're so proud of our whole team, and they will be happy to see that they were appreciated. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review--and we'll see you on your next trip to St. Augustine (we'll save you a seat for our "happy TWO hour"!!) --Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast Inn and we were both so completely wowed by our visit. We had been to St. Augustine before and had stayed at a different B&B that was nice, but definitely was no contest compared to our wonderful stay at Bayfront. We were visiting this trip to celebrate our Babymoon trip and get some rest and relaxation before our new bundle of joy comes in December.

The staff was superb and no detail was left out. From the very beginning of our experience calling to ask about rooms, rates, and amenities, everyone was so nice and truly loves their job. Being pregnant (and in my second trimester) I loved the fact that the rooms have their own thermostats so you can adjust the temp to your liking vs. fighting with the other patrons over what a comfortable temp is...this was great! They were able to accommodate us also with a complimentary in-room mini fridge for us to keep snacks and medications. We stayed in the Coquina Suite which is part of the old house, and it was so beautiful and spacious. We felt like we had our own apartment and the value was so great for the price! The best part of the room was the 2-person jacuzzi tub and separate sitting area which was so nice for the extra space. It was also nice that each room has it's own private entrance so everyone doesn't hear you coming and going from your room. We didn't bring our dog this trip but I also like the fact that they are very accommodating of dogs (in certain rooms). We met many people that were staying there on their trip with their dog and it's nice to have the option for another trip.

The absolute best part of our stay at Bayfront was the amazingly delicious breakfast. My husband and I both loved how you got a card to fill out the day before with what they would be serving along with many options of add-on's and accompaniments. The first day we stayed over the breakfast was a mouthwatering french bread french toast with all the sides including daily fresh fruit and yogurt parfait, breads, pastries, and selections of coffee, tea, juice, and more. The second day breakfast was a choice of quiche along with all the sides and options. Every day we were stuffed beyond capacity!

In addition to the extraordinary breakfast menus, they host a happy hour every day from 5pm-7pm with so many yummy appetizers, beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic), and at least 1-2 dessert options. I hear on Wednesdays they have a special homemade ice cream night, which unfortunately we missed because we only stayed Monday and Tuesday, but we will definitely go back for this!

Overall, the stay was awesome and we can only say wonderful things, and we will definitely go back again and stay at the Bayfront Marin House Bed and Breakfast!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coquina Suite and loved it...we didn't have a view, and we joked that our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluelagoongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

It was so much fun to help you relax as you prepare for your new arrival in December! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself, and that you felt we gave you five star service (that's always our goal, and it's awesome to hear that we achieved that!) THANK YOU so much for your detailed review--we work hard on the details, and it makes us smile to know that our guests appreciate them! We look forward to seeing you (and maybe your pup) again soon...and we can't wait to see baby pics in December!! --Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We just completed a 10 day stay at Bayfront Marin. Originally, we were disappointed that we could not stay in the B&B itself because it was full so we booked the Beach Cottage which is located about 5 to 6 minutes from the B&B on Valero Beach. Our accomodations were wonderful, comfortable and the staff bent over backwards to make us comfortable, ensure our cottage was clean and the owner is very involved and accomodating. First of all, the morning breakfasts are a treat and delicious! The evening "happy hour" was the best offering we have experienced in any B&B. The variety of drinks (wine, beer, sangria, etc) offered along with the hors d'oeuvres were delicious as well. The location of the B&B is perfect. You are close enough to walk around the city sites and yet it is quiet and tranquil with a view of the water and boat. And, we met so many folks who were return guests...just as will be. Thank you to the owners and staff at Bayfront Marin B&B.

Room Tip: If you want to explore the city of St Augustine and a view at the same time, ask for room 1. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blythe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!! And we're glad to add you to our growing family of return guests--we really are flattered when people choose to spend multiple getaways with us. We hope you can come back and hang with us again soon--we'll save you a seat at happy hour!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was the destination my wife and I choose for our honeymoon. It was the first time we had been to a B&B. The owners were wonderful and the food was spectacular. Would highly recommend. The location was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. I can not say enough good things about the Marin House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for choosing us as the location for your honeymoon--we're so glad that you did! (And we're glad that you both decided to try a bed and breakfast for the first time--they are really the best way to stay!) Thank you also for taking the time to write a review--we really appreciate it. Best wishes for a wonderful life together!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole BMH Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Loved staying at this B & B!! Everything about it was amazing!! Loved our room and the view of the bay. The staff was so friendly and Emery went out of his way to help us!! The food was awesome. After touring the city all day you come back to a special happy hour treat and drinks. I must say this was a great experience. I highly recommend Bayfront Marin House.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

We love to hear it when people love their stay!! We're so glad that you enjoyed your getaway in St. Augustine. Thanks for mentioning Emery--we think he's awesome, too! We really appreciate your wonderful review--hope you can come back and see us again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: £188 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing