We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are not enough words to describe how WONDERFUL our stay was! This is a must-see/stay/enjoy!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are not enough words to describe how WONDERFUL our stay was! This is a must-see/stay/enjoy!!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I wish I could give the bayfront marin house more than 5 stars! I live in Daytona Beach (not far from Saint Augustine) and I have made the trip there several times before. For my Birthday weekend I decided to stay at a bed & Breakfast since my boyfriend has never been to one. We wanted to travel with our dog so we began to look for places that were pet friendly. The Bayfront Marin house was not only pet friendly, but have more than one room to choose from, ample outdoor seating, and lovely accommodations with a list of pet friendly restaurants, attractions, and sightseeing! ( we found this to be very helpful) When we arrived, we were greeted warmly at the door and the nice woman who checked us in even moved her own car to get us a space RIGHT in front of our room, she went out of her way to make it convenient for us! Our room (The Francisco Marin) was GORGEOUS , clean, bright, and we did not want to leave. There was not one thing about our room that could have been done more to satisfaction. This was undoubtedly the best nights sleep I think I have ever had; SO COMFORTABLE! In the morning, it was raining ( we chose to eat outside on our card that we filled out the day before) and they moved us to the inside before we could even ask ( very thoughtful) The breakfast was even better than expected. Various teas to choose from , delicious hot pastries, savory omelet with fresh bagels...even the fruit bowl was impressive - normally with a fruit bowl you get the same 2-3 fruits but they gave us not only those but blackberries and MANGO! You can really see that nothing is spared to make your stay luxurious. Someone (I believe he was an owner) came to our table to greet us and ask us how our stay was. ( I also think I must have drank 4-5 glasses of Orange juice, and they happily kept bringing it out to me!) My boyfriend said he never thought a Bed and Breakfast would be so wonderful and even I as someone who has been to several was blown away with how pleasant my stay was. While we were leaving I was taking several pictures and an employee offered to take one of all of us (dog included) these little touches really mean so much since we did not ask her to do so and she did not have to offer. I would recommend this venue to anyone who is visiting St. Aug or someone (like me) who has been there several times and may even live close enough to visit and go home. Staying even one night at this B&B is well worth it and will turn your trip into a unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: All rooms seem so beautiful it is hard to choose. We chose The Francisco Marin because it was pet fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber_Heaphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Well, you have just made our morning!!! What a lovely review--thank you so much for the kind words!! We are so glad that you and your boyfriend (and your four legged friend!) were happy during your stay. Thank you too for noticing so many of the details--like the fresh orange juice and mangoes and blackberries at breakfast (note to future guests--we buy all of our fruit locally, and hand pick the items that are the sweetest and ripest, so the fruit will vary by season. But we cut it fresh every morning, so it's as juicy and sweet as possible!)

Finally, thank you for mentioning our amazing team. We have the very best staff--they really aren't happy until all of our guests are happy as well. We hope to see you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    100
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
151
907
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the cottage on the beach. It was beautiful. Very clean, beautiful views. The only thing separating us from the ocean was a small marsh. Excellent views, small kitchenette, small guest room for a child or one person. My only complaint was it had a Queen bed, and I felt the room was large enough to accomodate a King size. The bathroom was large and luxurious. I would definetely stay again. Beautiful private patio.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Vilano Beach! It is such a peaceful and relaxing location--and so close to town. For other readers, however, please note that while this property has dining privileges at the Bayfront Marin House, it is actually a separate property--Beachcomber Cottages on Vilano, and it's located about 2 miles outside of the historic district on Vilano Beach (we informed TripAdvisor that the review should be on that property's site). Guests at this site can eat at the Bayfront Marin House for both breakfast and happy hour, and can use the Marin's parking during their stay as well. Thank you for writing such a nice review--and we hope that you'll come back and visit St. Augustine soon! -- Mike and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed for a one night break and we enjoy every stay at the Bayfront Marin more each time we visit.
We stayed in the newly refurbished Hopkins Cottage and it was fantastic, we couldn't believe the new shower room and the bedroom decor was super.
Breakfast was first class as usual and the charming and helpful staff just add to the pleasure of our visits as does the attention to detail by Mike and Sandi, they are superb hosts.
Already looking forward to our next trip and we might try their beachfront property which looks out of this world.
Barbara and Nigel

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 395Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
It's always nice to see (and hear from) guests who have stayed with us many times--we truly do consider you our family! We're so glad you got to see the new Hopkins Cottage--we're really excited with the way that it turned out, and it's so much fun for us to be able to show it off! We're looking forward to your next trip too--and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful four day stay at the bay front Marin House bed and breakfast. The room was elegant and the included breakfasts were were beyond amazing. The closeness to historic downtown made for great sight seeing, shopping and meals.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for writing such a nice review, and for mentioning the breakfasts (Mary does a little happy dance whenever we post a review with a comment on her cooking!) We hope we'll be able to see you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was perfect! The room, the food, and the gracious staff were absolutely perfect. Stay in the Marie Antoinette Room and you will not be disappointed. It overlooks the intracoastal waterway and St Augustine Lighthouse.

Room Tip: The Marie Antoinette is the room to pick. Its on the 2nd floor with a private balcony and porch swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for the "awesome" review!! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. And you're certainly right--the Marie Antoinette is a beautiful room, and it has the best water views (and since the new seawall has been finished, it's more lovely than ever to look out over the water). We hope to see you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

There's so much to say about Bayfront. The room was beautiful and the view absolutely stunning. St. Augustine surprisingly has so much to offer and this place is in the perfect location. The food was excellent. What really sets this place apart: the people. The staff and owner; Mike, were fun to talk to and accommodating. Brian and Emory were personable and provided excellent direction of what restaurants and tours were must sees. After a fun and eventful day on the town the happy hour was just want was needed. They made it so we wanted to be back to spend the entire two hours back at Bayfront. The homemade sangria was great as were the appetizers. We have found a home away from home and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We're so happy that you loved both our town and our inn! And we LOVE to hear that you are planning a return trip--it is the best compliment ever. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review and to mention some of our staff members---we think we have the very best team in town,, and we love sharing positive comments with them. We'll see you again soon--we'll have a glass of sangria waiting!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have never stayed at such an amazing place before for such a great value! Hands down best service (better than at any hotel), best food, and most relaxing accommodations! After doing a lot of research of St. Augustine Bed & Breakfasts and hotels I finally settled on the Bayfront Marin House after reading the glowing reviews here and looking at each of their rooms on their website (all the pictures were beyond accurate). My Boyfriend and I were looking for a relaxing place to spend a couple of days away from the chaos down south (where we live) and this Bed & Breakfast was everything we were searching for!

The room we chose was Stephanie's Hideaway and it was tucked into the corner of the house on the second floor so you could actually walk out onto the second floor deck and relax on their very comfy lounge chairs that overlook the bay. The room was furnished very nicely with vintage looking pieces mixed with newer more updated features. There was a small sitting area in front of the large window opposite the bed with two chairs and a table, an armoire tucked just beside that, and a Jacuzzi tub for two in the opposite corner. There was also a separate bathroom with a walk-in shower with two showerheads. The room is not particularly large but not very small either. I'd say its just perfect for two people. The Bed was very comfy, the sheets had a high thread count (very soft) and they had built in dimmers for each light on either side of the bed so your partner and you could adjust the lighting as need be (very thoughtful).

A couple of maintenance issues with the room that we neglected to mention because we didn't find them to be huge problems for either of us (we're low maintenance) was the water temperature from both the Jacuzzi and the showerheads. There seems to be an issue with keeping hot water for long (most likely because we're probably splitting it with someone else in another room). We utilized the Jacuzzi twice while we were there and the shower twice and both times the hot water only lasted for maybe 5 minutes at the most. While with the Jacuzzi we would just turn it off and wait a few minutes before turning it back on again for more hot water with the shower it was kind of hard to do when you're in the middle of bathing yourself. Just a small note to pass along to the owners. It definitely did not deter us from using either of these two fabulous features in the room!

I'll move onto the part most people probably want to hear about-the food. We took advantage of both the cocktail hours we were there for and they did not disappoint! The white sangria in particular was my favorite and you can pick out your hor d'oeurves and take them anywhere on the property you'd like to snack on them. The peach cobbler we had on the first day was amazing, maybe one of the best desserts I've eaten. That Happy Hour really is the perfect afternoon snack before dinner. Now onto breakfast! We selected to have breakfast in bed (an extra charge but well worth it to have them bring breakfast up to your room on trays) and as you may or may not already know you have to fill out breakfast cards the night before. I really think it's a great idea to have these cards because from a guests standpoint I get to pick out everything I want including how much of each food item I want-which is kind of exciting when you're on vacation and your plan is to pig out anyways. The entrée of course is already pre-picked but it wasn't a disappointment either morning! The grits that came with the sausage and cheese omelet were so creamy, and the banana pancakes the second morning were very good! We both enjoyed breakfast greatly!

Overall, the staff were all very friendly, the property was well kept, the grounds were beautiful with a lot of nice sitting areas, the room was updated wonderfully, and the food was just delicious! We cannot wait to come back here again! Such a relaxing, laid-back atmosphere!

Room Tip: Get a room with a Jacuzzi tub on the second floor to avoid any noises from above or outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Wow!! Your review has just made our day!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and so thankful that you took the time to mention so many details! Mary is doing a little dance regarding your comments on her food--she really is happiest when she's feeding happy people! We're glad you liked the room too, and noticed so many details--like the dimmer switches and the sheets. We're going to have to check on that hot water issue right away...we actually have 2 hot water systems (a tank and a tankless) to make sure that doesn't happen. Thank you for being so understanding about the water--we really do try to make everything perfect, but it does take constant upkeep! We're glad that you chose us for your getaway--and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to St. Augustine!! (Thanks again for the wonderful review!) --Mike and Sandy adn the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Property: Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing