We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Romantic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So Romantic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent our Florida honeymoon here in the Marie Antoinette room with the second floor balcony and hot tub. Beautiful view. Get the deluxe breakfast in bed! The happy hour has lots of choices of beer and wine with apps all complimentary. Wonderful service! Grounds are beautifully kept. We are going back to Bayfront Marin for our 2 year anniversary! I can't wait!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! And thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon--it's a big deal to us to be chosen for such an important getaway! We look forward to seeing you on your anniversary!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    97
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
146
879
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here before and each time it just gets better and better! The location and view cannot be beat. It's close enough to everything downtown, but still quiet and restful. Mike and his staff are always friendly and eager to help with all of our needs and the happy hours and breakfasts are incredible. One of the best parts is, if you have something for breakfast that you've never had before and you just love it...if you ask Mary, you might just get the recipe!
Can't wait for our next stay at the Bayfront!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ABace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much--what a wonderful thing to say! We do keep trying to improve the experience for our guests, and it's so nice to hear when someone appreciates our efforts! And we do love sharing recipes--although sometimes it's hard to get Mary to slow down for a minute and actually write one down! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay...thanks for the wonderful review!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Picking a B&B in St. Augustine can be as challenging as finding Waldo with how many of them exist in this area but I was fortunate enough to do a lot of research and decide on the Bayfront Marin.
First off, the location is great. If you're not much of a walker it may feel a little far from the most popular areas, but with the view of the bay and the offerings, it's well worth it.
Upon arrival we checked in right away and that process was quick and painless. You can pull up to a loading spot out front or outback if you find somewhere (but beware its not spacious back there) and unload and then they give you a parking pass to park your car about a block and a half away in a lot.
This trip was a mother/daughter trip so I chose rm 17 as it had the most "non romantic trip" sort of layout. This room was on the 1st floor and is right on the street that runs behind the building so there's no view, but room access was at least very easy. The room itself was nice and clean and the bed and pillows were so comfortable! One negative I will point out is the walls are pretty thin in this rm and you could hear people in other rooms, footsteps above you and horse drawn carriages passing outside. Because these things are not nonstop, it didn't really bother me much but someone who may be sensitive to that sort of thing may be bothered by it.
The offerings were one of my favorite things as the breakfast was great (you get to choose the time you eat and if you want to eat outside or inside) and they also have a daily happy hour from 5p-7p with small bites, wine, beer and sangria.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and that can make all the difference in the world.
If you are the kind of person that wants to stay at a B&B but are not a fan of feeling like you're staying in someone's house, then this is the place for you as it is laid out like a motel but with a B&B feel so the rooms are spread apart enough to feel like you have plenty of privacy.
Overall, I cannot say enough great things and if I had it all to do again I would only change our room to be on the top floor and with a view of the beautiful bay. Besides that, this place and the amazing late April weather made this a perfect little getaway and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
You're right--there are a LOT of bed and breakfasts in St. Augustine! We're so glad that you chose us! Thank you so much for your very nice words about your stay--we'll definitely pass on your comments about our staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences--and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Our 20th Wedding Anniversary could not have been better. We stayed 4 nights and the location, room and experience were fabulous. The food is great. The wine, beer, and delicious sangria at Happy Hour was awesome not to mention all of the appetizers. You have your choice of eating in the gazebo, courtyard, dining room or your room. The grounds are lovely with all of the beautiful flowers and lush greenery. They have a large hammock in a prime location that is extremely comfortable. With all of that said, the best thing about this B&B is the Owners and Staff. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. They cater to your every need. They arranged a couples massage in our room and with the jacuzzi in the room, it could not have been a more romantic way to spend our Anniversary. We are already planning another trip to St Augustine and will definitely stay at the Bayfront Marin House!
Thank you to Mike, Sandy and the entire staff for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaryandLeita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank YOU so much for writing such a wonderful review! It absolutely makes our day to hear that our guests had a great time--especially for an event as important as a 20th anniversary! (As we told you, we just celebrated our 20th last year). Thank you also for mentioning Sandy's flowers...this spring has been pretty dry, and she's been fighting to keep the flowers looking lush--so it's great when someone notices her efforts! We'll be sure to share your review with everyone here--it will make everyone happy!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Ma, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I went for our anniversary. I can't say enough good things about this B&B. I only wish we stayed longer than one night! I would most definately go back. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary cocktail hour was wonderful, as was the made to order breakfast. It is in a convenient location, and had a great view of the harbor and Bridge of Lyons. I would highly reccommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We're so glad that we could help to make your anniversary celebration special! Thank you so much for writing such a nice review--we really appreciate it. We hope you can come back again soon--maybe for a few more days next time!! Happy anniversary again!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We reserved three separate rooms at the Inn for the weekend to celebrate our parents 50th wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have chosen a nicer spot! The location was spectacular, with bay views from almost everywhere on the property (with many different areas to socialize or just lounge around outside), gorgeous landscaping and flower gardens, and all within a very short walk downtown to all the shops, restaurants and bars! All the staff we encountered were great and made us feel very welcome (and even helped arrange free transportation to a restaurant on the other end of town). The rooms we stayed in were all decorated beautifully and were very unique from one another (however the Governor White room has not yet been remodeled, and the bathroom area is VERY small). As for Happy Hour each day... amazing, and not to be missed! The red and white sangrias are top notch, along with a variety of homemade appetizers. The breakfasts were delicious as well, serving one hot entrée each morning, along with as many other treats you choose to go along with it, served to you either in your room, the dining room, the gazebo, the patio or on the deck!! This B&B does appear to be a popular spot for wedding parties, but they are very accommodating and we didn't have any issues. We will definitely go back on our next trip to St. Augustine!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Princess Margaret room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
It was so nice to be a part of your family's celebration, and we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for writing such a nice review, and for your kind words about our team. We really do have the best in town--it's nice when our guests appreciate the efforts of our staff. We hope you all can come back and see us again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent a weekend at this place with my fiancé and we were very pleased. To start with, its location is one of the most beautiful places in town. The rooms were very nice and clean, with a spectacular view of the Bay. We really enjoyed the Jacuzzi in the bedroom; it was a great treat and made the stay so romantic! The breakfast was very good and the happy hour was so much fun, as we got to meet the other guest and exchanged experiences of our stay in town! The friendly staff went out of their way to meet our needs in every way possible. A special thanks to the Innkeepers and housekeepers during our stay. Although we were so close to downtown, once we arrived at the Inn, exhausted after all the walking and shopping, it was calm and quiet. I can only say that it was beyond our expectations and we are looking forward to going back there and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Speaking of wonderful, we think you're wonderful yourself for writing such a nice review! We very much appreciate it, and especially love the fact that you've mentioned our fantastic staff members. We think we have the best team in town, and they really make the difference. We look forward to your next stay with us--thank you again!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Property: Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing