We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaving the Bayfront Marin House was very hard to do!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Los angeles
1 review
“Leaving the Bayfront Marin House was very hard to do!”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

There's something magical about Bayfront Marin House, whose pace and slow deliberate way of life is as calming and consistent as the rolling winds
that form the oceans that surround; where the visible water front view
, and the amazing, helpful staff makes my stay more then just a weekend
get away. I stayed at the Forrester Suite, a beautiful Victorian room
on the second floor with a huge jacuzzi and a large porch right outside.
The staff helped arrange dinner reservations and give thoughtful tips
about strolling around the old town. They went out of their way to make
sure all my needs were met and more! And each night I returned to evening desserts being served with a glass of wine and sat in the gazebo overlooking the bay while the sun set.Leaving the Bayfront Marin House was very hard to do!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamanderson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    102
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
157
936
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We spent a long time researching to find the best Bed and Breakfast in St.
Augustine for our honeymoon week, and I am sure we found it! The Bayfront Marin House was everything we were hoping it would be, and more! Our honeymoon getaway was spent in the Coquina Suite and it was perfect...big jacuzzi tub, electric fireplace, pillow bed, romantic setting... We went during the week to save money, and used the extra to splurge on packages and romantic evenings.
The innkeeper set up a honeymoon package for us with champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries, roses, rose petals spread around the room, candles and tickets for a carriage ride and a sunset cruise. We so enjoyed the champagne and chocolate strawberries the first night that we ordered it again for our last night! We also enjoyed the deluxe breakfast in bed with mimosas to toast our first morning as husband and wife. While we were there found out that they perform weddings in their gazebo, which was a beautiful setting. Had we known, we would have skipped the courthouse and had our ceremony at the Marin House.
We spoke with the owner about maybe renewing our vows there next year and staying for our anniversary!
Rayni Smith

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raindrop44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome,Ga
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Me and my wife stayed ther on out Honeymoon. The room was quaint and cozy, the breakfasts are out of this world. Absolutely could not have chose a better place to stay. We'll be back for any and all Anniversarys. And the staff was most helplful.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldoaktree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We loved our week at the Inn. The breakfasts were filling and tasty and the bicycles were a blast to go on right before the sunset as a relaxing activity. The other guests were very personable and would socialize with us when we sat outside. The owners/staff went out of their way to help me set up our secret engagement horse ride. Would highly recommend and return!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totallrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Positives: Great location; clean, neat, beautiful room; waitstaff was excellent, especially Mary in the Dining Room; breakfast was good.

Negatives: parking is a few blocks away; the happy hour should have at least some cheese and crackers; loud noise from the air conditioning; the owner needs an attitude adjustment.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We really enjoyed staying at the Bayfront Marin House. My husband and I have never stayed at a B&B before, and we weren't sure what to expect.

Since I was used to staying at hotels, I was afraid it would not feel private enough. But I thought it was perfect. It's kind of a large B&B, with at least 16 rooms from what I could see. Each room had its own intrance and bathroom, and breakfast was served at indiviual tables of two or three. So we didn't feel obligated to mingle with the other guests if we didn't want to, but there was a dessert/cocktail hour where you could meet other guests if you want to.

We stayed in the Governor White room, right at the top of the stairs. The room was bright with several windows, one of those electric fireplace/heaters (not real fire), beautiful furniture (armoir, chair, chest of drawers, bed tables, tall bed (so soft and comfy!) with step stool), and hardwood floors/tile. There is a small seating area and coffee table right when you walk in the door, but the couch is pretty small, and we thought that area was too warm to sit comfortably in, so we just ended up dropping stuff on the table and lounging around in our room (but there was only one chair in the room itself). The tub with jets was plenty big enough for two, and very relaxing! The bathroom had a separate shower. The room was extremely clean, no complaints. And it was stocked with plenty of extra towels, extra pillows and an extra blanket. Oh and by the way, the room does have cable TV. We loved it and were so sad to leave!

The breakfasts every morning were served in either the dining room, courtyard, or gazebo. You fill out a card the day before checking off when you want to eat and your food selections, and they have your table set with your card on it when it's time to eat. The food was good! There is one hot item each day, and other items like bagel, muffin/pastry, fresh cut fruit, yogurt, croissant, coffee, tea, juice, milk, etc and you can order every single thing if you want to (we did one day, just to see what we liked). We had a breakfast casserole one day and a hungarian omelette the other day. They were both very good (don't be nervous about the hungarian omelette, the description didn't sound very good, but it was delicious. Even my hubby who is picky about "froo froo" food loved it). I'm sure there are other B&Bs with better breakfast, but it was more than satisfactory.

The staff was very friendly, but not "chummy" like it sounds like some B&Bs are. I thought they were professional, helpful, and they do a great job.

About the location, it was right on Matanzas Bay, which is a beautiful sight. We love St. Augustine, and we visit several times a year, since we're nearby in Jacksonville. There is a ton of historical locations to explore, and every time we go, we find more things to do, and we always wish we had more time and leave with a list of things to do next time. Splurge for a private carriage ride, it's worth it!

Our very favorite thing was the relaxation of our visit (the bed, the jacuzzi tub, the beauty and comfortable pace of the location). Our least favorite thing was the parking, which wasn't really that bad. We didn't park in their lots, they were too far a way. Since we were there after 5pm on Sat through Mon, morning, we ended up staying in a metered space and we just woke up at 8 on Monday and put some change in the meter. But if you're staying there M through Sat during business hours, you'd have to park on a free street spot (hard to find), pay to park either at a meter (which isn't practical for all day), a paid lot, or one of their lots which are a few blocks away. But once you find a good spot, you really won't need your car.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redjetta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

The Bayfront Marin was a delightful place to stay in.

We are a family of 4 and stayed in the Lyndsey room. The furnishings were sumptuous antiques, although not really popular with the kids.

It was lovely to have brownies and port in the afternoon downstairs. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but better than the typical American breakfasts we came across.

The position was perfect- right opposite the water and in walking distance from the town. Off street parking.

  • Liked — position, antique furnishings, overall first rate
  • Disliked — street parking
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazganymede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 78 in St. Augustine
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Property: Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing