We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably Exquisite; Service at it's best; Unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Ellenwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Exquisite; Service at it's best; Unforgettable!”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I totally surprised my wife with three days at this enchanted Bed and Breakfast. No special occasion. A “just because I love her” trip. So I wanted everything to be perfect. The folks at The Bayfront Marin House made sure that everything was just perfect. It was an enchanted stay that brought my wife and I even closer to each other after 32 ½ years of marriage. The antique furniture and the jacuzzi was only topped by their Sweetheart package. The Carriage ride was the Pièce de résistance. We reluctantly left but even more in love than I thought possible. We will return to be pampered by our friends at the Bayfront Marin House.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPJIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    100
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
152
907
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

If you're traveling to St. Augustine, FL then this is the place you want to stay. We checked out every B&B in town online before our trip. None could compare when we were in town and walking around. The Bayfront Marin House sits right across the street from the bay. You can sit on the porch and swing while watching the boats, the lighthouse, the drawbridge and, of course, people watching. It sits in a quieter area of town right beside another beautiful B&B, The Westcott. We had looked at many online and after arriving and seeing their locations, we were glad we chose The Bayfront Marin. We stayed in room 8, The Forrester Suite and it was very nice. We liked having the jacuzzi in the bathroom where it belongs! The bathroom was nice and had a separate room for the shower and toilet. The bedroom was nice and comfortable and you could look out the windows over the bay. The bed was also comfortable and that was a nice surprise as many times they are not! We also were shown room 2, Marie Antoinette. It's a beautiful room as well, with somewhat private porch with swing and couch to sit and overlook the bay. Breakfast was served where you choose and the time of your choice. We chose the gazebo because it was much cooler than the courtyard. The breakfasts were very delicious and the staff is so friendly and helpful. They really try to help you with anything you need. If we ever go back to St. Augustine, there is no other place we will stay. I have not stayed in a nicer B&B and I have stayed in several. Right now, it is VERY HOT in St. Augustine so beware. Also, they have been doing construction at the bridge and they are cleaning that up and the lions are in storage right now. Also, there are some excellent restaurants to try. The Raintree restaurant is wonderful and they will come and pick you up at the B&B and take you back. The trolleys are okay, they are not factual. They don't have all of their information right. The Oldest House is great and they have their facts right! You must see Flagler College - it's really beautiful and informative. Everyone in town is very nice. We also LOVED eating at Mango Mango's, its across the Bridge of Lyons at St. Augustine Beach. Very good - try the Yucca Fries! I hope you will go and have a good time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentonmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This was our first attempt at a Bed and Breakfast............it won't be our last. The Bayfront Marin was a wonderful place to forget about all the stresses in life and just relax. We spent our 25th wedding anniversary here and it is a day that we shall cherish for the rest of our life, thanks to the staff and setting of this wonderful B & B! We were fortunate enough to book the Marie Antoinette suite and it lived up to its boasting of "best view" of the Inn. We enjoyed the private 2nd floor porch with swing and loveseat soooo much. We were always treated to an awesome sea breeze to cool us off! The room was great also. We took advantage of the 2 person jacuzzi right in the room. The Sangria that host Mary whips up for the daily "Happy Hour" is to die for! The breakfast was also very good. We will be back, that is for sure. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstondk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Travelers: 2 adults, 3 Seniors

GOOD:
* Beautiful view of the Bay
* Easy Bay breeze nearly all day and night
* Lovely room décor
* Very clean
* Friendly and helpful front office staff
* Located close to Ripley’s tour train station
* Walking distance to many sights and attractions
* Free wine, beer, and snacks during their daily happy hour
* Delicious breakfast
* After asking in advance, we received a $20 per room discount for advanced booking of multiple rooms for multiple nights

BAD:
* The night before our arrival we were notified that one of the three rooms that we had booked months in advance was no longer available and that we needed to choose a new room of those remaining available.
* Our “new” room, “The Burgess Cottage”, has a very large and noisy ice machine on the outside wall directly against were the bed’s headboard rests. It was nearly impossible to sleep.
* The Bayfront Marin House was undergoing maintenance during our stay. Replacing stairs, repairing railings, painting, etc. We were not warned about this maintenance until our arrival at which time it was too late to find alternate lodging.
* Our stay with The Bayfront Marin House coincided with their filming of an internet commercial. The film crew took issue with our being on the property at certain times. We would have appreciated being forewarned of this filming.
* The bed in The Burgess Cottage, despite its sturdy appearance, is not recommended for amorous couples interested in doing anything more than sleeping. The creaking and banging of this bed is quite possibly the only thing louder than the ice machine.

JUST ODD:
* We had only one choice for breakfast each day and were required to complete “Breakfast Cards” and turn them in by 7pm the night before. We had to pick where we were to dine and how many of each side item we would like, right down to the butter squares. While not bad, it just was different from other B&B with which we have stayed and seemed odd. Since Florida weather is often unpredictable making outdoor dining a risk, we chose to dine indoors each day in their rather small dining area located in the front office. Even with the completed breakfast cards, the unfortunate servers still confused our orders in our group of five making breakfast time much more hectic than I’d like BC (Before Coffee).
* The beds are all extremely high off of the floor. Not an issue for many, but if you have knee, hip, or back problems, this may be a problem. Our vertically challenged (short) elderly parents had to request additional step stools.
* At no point did we meet the owners. Only the staff. The owners were on premises, but did not speak with us even when we had concerns regarding our stay at The Bayfront Marin House.
* Despite the unexpected last minute room changes, dancing around the film crew, the loud ice machine, avoiding the building maintenance projects, and creaky beds made for little more than sleeping… we received no offer of compensation whatsoever. When we asked, we were told that the original $20 advanced booking multi-room discount that we had asked for was the only compensation they would offer.


OUR SUMMARY:
The Bayfront Marin House is a well-located, clean, cozy, B&B in a beautiful setting, but there were just too many inconveniences for us to warrant a return stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My wife and I visited the Bayfront Marin for our fourth wedding anniversary and we loved the place. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was quaint with an in room hot tub which was a nice touch. Couldn't say enough about the breakfasts that were served as well. If we travel to St. Augustine again we will not be staying anywhere else but the Bayfront Marin.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My husband and I recently stayed and got married at the Bayfront Marin House. We were not disappointed in any way by our experience there. The room was not overly large, but was lovely, the staff was cheerful and very helpful through all of our preparations and the breakfast service was amazing. Speaking of service, we needed our toilet serviced and someone came to fix it within 10 minutes. The wedding was beautiful, our fellow guests were a lot of fun, free parking downtown and the location can't be beat - right on the water and seconds away from the bridge. Definitely an easy decision to stay at the Marin House.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erindanilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We had the most fantastic time. The Bayfront Marin Bed and Breakfast was clean, quaint, quiet, and nicely decorated. The staff was great and very nice. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour was also very good. We would recommend this wonderful place to anyone and everyone. The only small complaint we have is we stayed two nights. The second night was a friday and it was quite a bit more then Thursday night. We would deffinately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbird1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Property: Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing