We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for getting off of & onto 95 easily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2009

For under $100/night you get a continental breakfast buffet, workout room, HBO & very accommodating staff.
If you want to be close to where sites of the city are, this isn't the place.
However, for $18 PP a shuttle bus will pick you up, give you a 1 hr 20 min tour (terrific tour!) & you can get off & on at over 20 different stops all day & they will take you back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J4BFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is one of the nicest motels of its type and class that we have ever stayed in. Our room and bath were super clean. (This is supremely important to us.) Service was attentive and courteous. The breakfast bar was closely attended and kept fresh and clean. The pool area was sparkling. There was easy access to the freeway and a relatively quick and easy drive into the historic district -- about 15 minutes -- where we had no trouble finding the public parking ramp near the visitors center.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

This Hotel was great. We stayed 3 nights and i never heard a door close or people talking when i was in the room. The breakfast was good hot items and most cold items that you would want. Hotub and pool was great. The location is very good it is right off the highway and not to far from activities , many stores and food near. Parking was no problem. They also have smoking rooms and its getting harder to find them in nice hotels. I will come back for sure if in the area again

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and had an excellent stay. The hotel is situated close to the interstate amid other chain hotels and outlet malls. Visitors to historic St. Augustine should be aware that it is 8 miles there from the hotel. Rather than fork out the extra money for a B & B downtown, we endured the drive in. There are several restaurants nearby including a Denny's, (which we would not recommend). The hotel's breakfast room is spacious and serves an excellent hot buffet breakfast. Rooms are spacious, clean and well-appointed. In our view - a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gord1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

The first sign of trouble was on their marquee. “Hot Tub and In Room Movies” We weren’t looking for that sort of hotel, but we had a reservation and decided to give it a try. When we entered the lobby, there was an odd musty smell. The smell was worse in the room. My wife and son have bad allergies and both were having trouble breathing. We went back downstairs and checked out without staying the night. We got a room at the Hampton Inn next door. While the décor and finishes were not a nice as the Wingate, at least we could breathe.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank pretzel660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Taking the cue from other reviews we spent a night here.
Our GPS unit went a little wacky because it is tucked behind
another business (Dennys) and the road configuration is a bit
strange on that corner---especially at night.
Place is new and therefore super clean. Breakfast was really good---even has the waffle maker. Staff were helpful at every turn.
Our only "complaint" was that the beds were a bit subpar. No big deal but even our teenagers brought it up over breakfast.

The only other place that we would probably book upon a return is the Hampton Inn & Suites Oceanside Resorts---which I think is ranked at the top on this site.
We drove out to Vilano Beach (just across from old town) and the hotel is just adjacent to the beach in a perfect setting. Especially if its off-season---because then you get great rates and the whole wild Atlantic Ocean at your bedside. Nothing like a 2 mile walk in the warm surf while the kids are still despartly clutching their pillows for more zzzz-time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

This is a brand new hotel on I-95 outside St. Augustine, Florida. We have a daughter attending Flagler College in the city and are in town a couple of times a year. This last stay was for Family Weekend at the college.

On our previous visits to St. Augustine we have stayed at two different hotels, one on the interstate (twice) and once on the Beach. All three of those stays were unsatisfactory due to dampness/mustiness in the rooms due to the ancient through-the-wall ac units never receiving any preventive maintenance and subsequently draining condensate water INSIDE the rooms onto the carpet. The hotel we tried twice on the interstate is highly rated on many reviewing sites which is unbelievable. In addition to the mustiness problem the rooms there had carpets so dirty the bottoms of your bare feet would get black.

By contrast the Wingate was absolutely spotless. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Front desk staff was excellent. My only comment on checking out was that the towels weren't as soft and fluffy as they could be.

Comlimentary breakfast was a FULL breakfast, not just cereal and waffles, in a spacious dining area. For those wanting even more, there is a Denny's right next door.

Although this hotel rate is about 50% higher than the bargain places, it is well worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thetowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites St. Augustine
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
#45 of 79 in St. Augustine
657 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
5.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine

Address: 2465 State Road 16, St. Augustine, FL 32092-0701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#14 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £73 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Wingate St Augustine
Wingate Saint Augustine
Wingate By Wyndham St Augustine St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing