We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 44 Spanish Street Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
44 Spanish Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed here for our short and sweet honeymoon. It was a wonderful place to stay and we enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night. The breakfasts Linda made were amazing. The location was perfect, very close to downtown and the college so once we parked we didn't think about our car until the day we left. The rooms were very quaint, but not hokey like most other B&B's and the bathroom was amazing!! A large jacuzzi tub is the perfect thing to come back to after a long day of walking. When we come back to St. Augustine, and we will, we will be staying here again - without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megw825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    57
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
299
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

First the good: Great breakfast and owner "Linda" was friendly. BnB was very close to St. George Street (downtown). Now the bad: The rooms and layout was more like a hotel. The doors of the rooms are glass and even with the blinds over them lets in way too much light. The plantation blinds over the windows were no help in keeping out the light so if you like to sleep in the dark; forget it. The worst: No common areas to sit and relax AND the ultimate sin of the BnB world: Make it yourself coffee and store bought Sam's club cookies...yuk.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adminpuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

This is the second time we've stayed at 44 Spanish Street in the Rosewood room. It's amazing! Rooms are clean and beautiful. Warm & welcoming atmosphere. Linda's breakfasts are amazing! She makes you feel welcome and more like a friend than a guest!

It's a lot nicer to be treated like a person than like a number as at larger hotels.

If you want a relaxing vacation ... stay with Linda at 44 Spanish Street.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

44 Spanish Street is a very beautiful & clean establishment in the historical district of St. Augustine! Linda's an amazing cook and prepared the best breakfasts I've ever had which after 70 years I've had quite a few! Highly suggest you stay at her establishment!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

My wife and I stayed with another couple recently and took the two front rooms on the second floor. The south room has a better bathtub/whirlpool. The front balcony is nice, but everything could use a powerwash and fresh paint--We noticed that was true of many of the competitors in the area as well. The owner couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The breakfast room in the back was in better shape than the house itself. The food was good--not too fancy, not a lot of variety each day, but different from day to day. It was all very clean. The beds were a bit lumpy and creaky. Rooms were not huge. The location is very convenient-the street is very narrow and the house overlooks the parking lot of the large Columbia restaurant--the 5:30 AM backup alarm on the garbage truck daily is a given. Be sure, wherever you stay, to dine at Collage restaurant, just around the corner. I would also recommend the EcoTour kayak trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaBillandPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Hospitality was second to known. The room was cozy and quaint. We stayed on the first floor in the Willow Room. The Hot Tub was fun and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious. Location perfect and convenient.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2sBesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inver Grove Heights
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

We absolutely loved staying at 44 Spanish Street and wished we would have stayed in Saint Augustine longer than two days. The location was perfect - walking distance to pretty much everything we wanted to see. The decor was wonderful, not your typical pink/blue of other B&Bs. We were the Palm North room - great location with front and side views. Loved the terrace on the front. Linda was fabulous innkeeper - very friendly and helpful by going over a map with us and tips on what to see and where to eat. The breakfasts were great. Cannot think of anything negative to say - it was all wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 44 Spanish Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 44 Spanish Street Inn

Property: 44 Spanish Street Inn
Address: 44 Spanish St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 44 Spanish Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
44 Spanish Street Inn is quaint, unassuming early 1900's building in an unbeatable location within the historic downtown St. Augustine attractions, shopping and entertainment district. The inn boasts 9 comfortable guest rooms, all with private baths; most of which include jetted tubs. A hearty complimentary breakfast is served each morning in our charming breakfast cottage and vintage bricked rear courtyard. As a guest of the inn, you'll find the atmosphere of to be casual, welcoming and accommodating. Our sole focus is simple; ensure you get the most out of your St. Augustine experience. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 44 Spanish Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
44 Spanish Street Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing