We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat yourself to dessert, just do it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chocolate Turtle - CLOSED

The Chocolate Turtle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: All dessert are made from scratch in our upstairs kitchen, locally roasted coffee, craft beers & select wines. Also open for the morning crowd with a delightful array of scones, muffins and more! And now introducing our breakfast & lunch paninis!Look on our website for a full description.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to dessert, just do it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Want something sweet and indulgent that pretty much tastes like perfection? Buy anything here. Literally anything. We tried five different desserts from the Chocolate Turtle and I only have good things to say about every single one. I can't even begin to pick a favorite, that's how good each one was.

The snicker's cheesecake: Light, smooth, rich and creamy cheesecake with a perfect crust and a snciker's topping that is to die for.

Flourless Mocha Torte: It's like fudge and brownie cheesecake crust got together and made magic.

Vanilla Pecan Bar: Imagine pecan pie with a layer of something akin to a vanilla mousse on top. Light and yet still decadent.

Tiramisu Torte: Perfect balance of the classic tiramisu flavors.

And of course, the titular Chocolate Turtle: I could not stop gushing about how jealous I was of their caramel. It's perfect. Smooth, buttery, sticky but not chewy, wrapped in a gorgeous ganache with crushed pecans and a cookie crust to help hold it all together.

See? Nothing bad. So treat yourself, just do it. It is well worth walking another mile to burn it off. =)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Echolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    88
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is the first time in US when I ate a delicious chocolate cake. Unlike all others, this one was extremely tasty and not too much sweet as it usually happen. Coffee also was nice. I wish you open a branch in Sarasota :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vadym K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocTurtle, Owner at The Chocolate Turtle, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind remarks. Our goal is to be the best we can be and to deliver a top notch product every time. Hope we see you again when you come over from Sarasota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I went here for dessert with my boyfriend yesterday and was very excited by the excellent variety of desserts. It was very hard to choose! After debating for a while I decided to go with the Snickers cheesecake. It was delicious!! The store itself is very cute and has a small seating area. We sat by a large window and played checkers in some comfy chairs. I had a really nice time stopping by here and would love to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheHungryMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desert lovers delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

It's a desert, delicious coffee ,tea and wine place settled in one of St Augustine old houses. Try it you'll love it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Desert,coffee,wine oh my”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have gone every morning of our vacation. The mocha & caramel frappes are amazing. The next morning I had a caramel latte with almond milk. The best I have ever drank. I enjoyed the latte with a fresh croissant and strawberry preserves. I needed a little more pick me up later in the afternoon so I had one shot of expresso with a piece of the white chocolate raspberry cake.

Helpful?
3 Thank Wannabeglobetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chocolate Turtle also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing