We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Half Hour Tour”

The Oldest House Museum Complex
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
US$40.74*
and up
Discover St Augustine: Attractions Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #57 of 187 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The St. Augustine Historical Society owns and operates The Oldest House Museum Complex. Our onsite attractions include a guided historical tour of the oldest house, a history museum, gardens, colonial kitchen, and a map gallery.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Half Hour Tour”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Best known as "The Oldest House" is open 9am to 5pm,. The last our at 4:30. The tour takes 30 minutes. It is so interesting I have been to this tour a few times. The house was occupied by the British, Spanish, and Americans. Guides are terrific. They take you through the whole house, plus the beautiful gardens. Eugenia Price wrote a novel about Maria who occupied this house, which is for sale in their gift shop, after the tour. The house has been restored, and is maintained by the St. Augustine Historical Society. The characters, and Maria are real people who occupied this house, and the writing of this novel was researched by the author based on letters written by the occupants in the seventeenth centuries. Many twists and turns happened to Maria. The story about Maria and the tour are fascinating!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bev4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    63
    30
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A trip through the centuries”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is a cool visit. I found that the history of the families that lived here was compelling. It was like taking a trio through the centuries that the house has been here and the changes the house had been through, as well as, the city of St. Augustine. We had the privilege of our tour guide's passion for the subject, so our touring was captivating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ErinRW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Olh house, boring guide”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The house and grounds were very nice and very interesting. I found the outdoor kitchen the most fascinating The old dude tour guide will put you to sleep if youre not careful, he may be a robot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Definately time well spent”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a necessary stop if you're in St Augustine. In a city known as the oldest continuously inhabited city in America, this house is the oldest. Even if you're not interested in history, it's amazing to be in such an old house. The tour guide knew the information very well and presented it clearly. The history of the house spanned the years from the 1700 through the 1800's, but the restorators managed to present the different ages throughout the house quite remarkably. We were also shown a well which was located near the original, the large courtyard where crops were grown and animals kept and the kitchen which was a small building near the far wall of the compound. There was also a museum which was really entertaining with hands on displays. I would definately go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“tacky”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Although the tour guide was informative, I was not impressed in the house. The landscape seemed dirty and unkept. The tour starts off with the first original modest owners then becomes a card playing bar with a secret stairs leading up to the bedroom. Kinda scary and we were wondering what this was implying? Tacky...I would not waste my time. There's so much other things to see in old town st. augustine

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chula123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oldest House Museum Complex also viewed

 

Been to The Oldest House Museum Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing