We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding meal at The Tasting Room”

Michael's Tasting Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Tasting Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 610 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. George Street
Description: Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stumbled upon The Tasting Room while spending a mom-daughter weekend in St Augustine Florida. The decor is really cool!
We were sorry we weren't bigger eaters as the menu choices all looked great. We had the charcuterie and cheese platter while sampling two different wine flights: Spanish whites and champagnes. Next we had mussels in a coconut curry with a delicious Tempranillo. Last was a swordfish with black rice and mango salsa. Still working on the Tempranillo!
We passed on the dessert but not because they didn't sound wonderful...
I would dine there every week if I was local!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mvd1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thank you so very much for your lovely recommendation of Michael's Tasting Room. We're so thrilled to read of your and your mother's experience with us and to learn of the various selections the two of you chose to enjoy. It would be our absolute pleasure to serve you when again in St. Augustine. Our chefs make routine changes to the menu to reflect what is freshest and in season-- so there is always something new to enjoy.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 500 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Being a tourist destination, there's a lot of crap food in Saint Augustine. This place, however, is incredible. The menu changes monthly due to their seasonal, local ingredients. It was my first time having mussels and french fries, something I always look for on menus now. The ambiance is great too, we ate in the courtyard while live music played. We loved it so much we're having a destination wedding in Saint Augustine with our reception dinner at the Tasting Room, how much better of a review can you get?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Goodness--thank you so, so very much for your incredibly kind, thoughtful recommendation of Michael's Tasting Room. We are delighted to read of your initial experience with us--and to learn that you found the mussels and fries to be as tasty as we do. Thank you for choosing to celebrate an exceptionally special occasion with us--it's a true honor we take very seriously.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Desiring tapas and good Spanish wine, my wife and I ended up at The Tasting Room. Franchot, our server, recommended a tasty red that well accompanied the equally delicious dishes we sampled. Two thumbs up.

2  Thank barret_delsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your time spent with us at Michael's Tasting Room. We're thrilled to read that both you and your wife enjoyed an array of tapas and wine pairings and appreciate your acknowledgement of our staff. Do visit us soon as it would be our absolute pleasure to serve you again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you want quality, extraordinarily prepared food, this is the only place in the city offering the best for heavy duty foodies and people who want to experience creatively prepared food . The restaurant frequently updates their menu in keeping with the seasons and what's available from local purveyors. They continue to have a variety of small plates (tapas) as well as entrees. They recently put in place a "chef's table" with a fix price menu with or without wine pairings. this is a multi course extravaganza and Chef Michael goes out of his way to provide unusual and beautifully composed creations even catering to your peccadilloes or allergies while making sure you have a really exceptional dining experience. The table seats 10, so groups of friends would make for a fun evening. But you can book it for 2 or more and sit down with other food lovers looking for a new adventure. This is our go to place in St. Augustine for a romantic dinner for 2 or fun with friends. It is also a wonderful choice for celebrations. We recommend it highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Our heartfelt thanks for your overwhelmingly kind, detailed review of Michael's Tasting Room. We are so pleased to read that we rank so highly among your dining experiences in St. Augustine and very much appreciate your opinion on our Chef's Table Experience. Thank you for choosing to spend many evenings with us--it is our hope to serve you for many more to come.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Tasting Room also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Michael's Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing