We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening!”

Michael's Tasting Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Tasting Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. George Street
Description: Michael's Tasting Room offers a unique casual fine dining experience with a celebrated chef, dedicated staff, and passion for exquisite flavors and world-class wines. Michael's Tasting Room has received numerous honors and accolades. Most recently, the Wine Spectator awarded Michael's Tasting Rooms wine list it's Award of Excellence for the ninth year in a row. Chef Michael has also been recognized as Best Chef of St.Augustine from several the city's publications, The restaurant was featured on The Food Network with Chef Emeril Lagasse during Florida's 500th anniversary.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Had a bachelorette party in the private room. Great ambience, service and food! A little bit pricey but worth the consistently high standards. Have been there many times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 799VictoriaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this review, 1 February 2015
Many, many thanks for your wonderful feedback following your evening spent with us at Michael's Tasting Room. We're honored to have been able to celebrate such a special evening with you and your party and so appreciate your acknowledgment of our ambiance, service and menu offerings. Thank you for your continued patronage--we'll certainly look forward to serving you for many years to come.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    74
    34
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tapas for two”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed the atmosphere maybe a little dimly light for my older eyes but very romantic. We enjoyed several small plate tapas all were good except the Moroccan Quinoa Paella. It is a veggie paella and was extremely salty. We sent the dish back to the kitchen to have it remade. Our server was very gracious and even brought us a complimentary glass of wine because of the over salted dish. Overall we enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this review, 1 February 2015
Thank you very much for your recommendation of Michael's Tasting Room following your evening spent with us. We so appreciate your feedback and are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy a number of tapas and were accommodated by our staff when one was not to your liking. Do visit us again soon as our chefs make routine changes to the menu to reflect what is freshest and in season.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice setting for...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

...a wine tasting but tiny pours, no seconds, scant (but delicious) finger food offered. Perhaps my slightly negative take was because server was a bit gruff.

We've eaten dinner there and that experience was perfect, five stars. Heard the ownership just changed and that the cooking can be expected to be even better!

Fully recommend, however overall based on kitchen and ambiance, prefer La Pentola which is nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroSpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this review, 1 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to recommend Michael's Tasting Room following your multiple dining experiences with us. Do visit us again soon as our chefs make routine changes to the menu to reflect what is freshest and in season.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant. The service was ok. The waiter informed us the special was some beef tip thing. Other than that, service was prompt and courteous.

Overall the food was good. Excellent wine list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Czman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this review, 1 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to recommend Michael's Tasting Room following your evening spent with us. We appreciate your high remarks for our dining options and wine selections and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still good....”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have been to the Tasting Room several times. The original draw was that it was a tapas place (only fitting in a city that takes pride in its Spanish heritage). And it was a fine tapas restaurant, with a good variety of hot and cold tapas and an excellent (mostly Spanish) wine list. Last week's Saturday visit found the sofas and acoustic music gone, more tables moved in and a restaurant menu. This still a good establishment and the food wine and service were first rate. We will, likely, go back, though perhaps without the same zeal since we really enjoyed the graze-around tapas atmosphere. Maybe the change was popularity driven--perhaps to accommodate more tables and more efficient turnover--not a bad development for a good establishment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IronHorse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTastingRoom, Manager at Michael's Tasting Room, responded to this review, 1 February 2015
Thank you so very much for your thoughtfully written recommendation of Michael's Tasting Room. We sincerely appreciate any and all feedback from our guests and are delighted to read that you have dined with us several times. We invite you to dine with us again soon as our chefs make routine changes to the menu to reflect what is freshest and in season.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Tasting Room also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Michael's Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing